- > $ Cooler Master Notepal U3 Refroidisseur pour ordinateur portable jusqu’à 19 "3 Ventilateurs 8 cm argent interchangeable | AirFreez Offre Exclusive -50%
- Le marché mondial des systèmes de purification d'air 2019-2025 Panasonic, Alen, LG, Whirlpool, Midea, Sharp, Airocide, Airfree, Honeywell – Analyse globale du secteur | AirFreez Offre Exclusive -50%
- Refroidisseur d’air brico depot | echangeur air vapeur
- Purificateurs d'air et stérilisateurs AirFree | AirFreez Offre Exclusive -50%
- Obtenez votre Apple iPad Air | AirFreez Offre Exclusive -50%
Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé ce que le restaurant, l’épicerie, le grand magasin ou la banque que vous achetez ou fréquentez pendant votre séjour à Sarasota, en Floride? Peut-être pas, mais si vous en avez, voici quelques noms par nom et numéro de maison (la liste sera continuellement étendue et mise à jour). Pour rechercher une activité ou une rue en particulier, frapper le "Ctrl"touche (zone en bas à gauche du clavier) et la lettre"fa"clé en même temps. Une grande partie de l'information va au centre historique du comté de Sarasota et aux archives du Sarasota Herald-Tribune et du Sarasota Journal.
Photo de couverture: Sarasota restaurants du passé.
Ci-dessous: les signes du passé Sarasota.
1287 – Le Bijou Café Restaurant (du début au milieu des années 80) était une station-service Texaco des années 20-30 – 30 au milieu des années 60. Entre les deux, c’était un studio d’art entre le milieu et la fin des années 70.
1296 – Le restaurant Umbrellas 1296 était le magasin de meubles et de vêtements pour enfants Stork Club du Sherwin, d’environ 1953 à environ 1958. À la fin de 1958, il devint le bureau des collections de la ville jusqu’en 1967 environ. En 1970, il était magasin d'antiquités de The Conversation Piece jusqu'en 1976. Il est ensuite devenu restauration gastronomique jusqu'à la fin des années 80 et le restaurant Roz pendant une grande partie de cette période. En 1990, il s'agissait du Limerick Junction Pub & Club, puis du Maximo's Pub and Restaurant et du Roast Restaurant, entre autres. Construit en 1925, l’histoire ancienne du bâtiment se trouve ici (crédit Sarasota History Alive): Le musée I.R. Brûlures et H.H. Bâtiment Bell
1331 (c'était 310 W. 7th St. avant 1953) – La bibliothèque publique Selby (depuis 1998) a été construite dans l’ancien siège d’un ancien magasin de service Goodyear (fin 1952-1996). Le bâtiment a été démoli en octobre 1996 pour construire la bibliothèque, tandis que Goodyear a emménagé dans un tout nouveau bâtiment situé au 401 Lemon Avenue. quelques semaines plus tard. Avant Goodyear dans les premières années, une épicerie Table Supply était présente à cet endroit.
1426 – C'était l'emplacement du restaurant Plaza (ci-dessous) d'août 1928 à août 1974 (il a été renommé restaurant Plaza De Continental au début de 1974). Au début du mois de janvier 1977, il a rouvert ses portes sous le nom de M. Roberts Beefeater Restaurant, mais il a été remplacé par le Brokerage House Restaurant de l'automne de cette année-là jusqu'en 1979. Il est ensuite devenu le Merlin's Restaurant jusqu'au début du mois. 90 ans et a été démoli quelques années plus tard en 1997 pour faire place à de nouveaux développements.
1544 – C'était le restaurant espagnol de Raul de 1968 à 1997. Il a ensuite été Oswald Trippe et compagnie d'assurance.
1558 – Construite dans les années 40, cette ancienne résidence de deux étages est devenue le Alley Cat Café de décembre 1993 à juin 2003, date de sa fermeture. Le bâtiment a été démoli en 2004.
2031 – Tint Pros a été magasin de sandwich et plongeur autonome pendant plus de 25 ans, à commencer par le Sandwich Shop de Betty Lee en 1971. Plus tard, il est devenu le sandwich de Don Quizote (du milieu à la fin des années 70), les sandwichs de Rudolph. (fin de l’année 70), Yum Yum Tree (années tardives de 70 à 80 ans), Subs, Sandwiches & Such (du milieu au milieu des années 80) le magasin secondaire de Em & Nan du milieu à la fin des années 80 au milieu jusqu'à la fin des années 90. Plus tard, il a été transformé en magasin de peinture Scott.
2571 – C'était le Stardust Skate Center du début des années 80 jusqu'à sa fermeture en 2018. Il s'appelait à l'origine Starlight Skating Centre et était répertorié au 2535 12th Street.
2530 – Hap's Cycle Sales s'appelait ici Puckett's Cycles and Service à partir d'avril 1963 (transféré de 1467 4th Street) jusqu'au passage à Hap's en juin 1965.
3251 (unité 10) – Pizza Hut (du milieu à la fin des années 80) dans le centre commercial Northeast Plaza
une fois qu'ils étaient les ingénieurs de T.V. de Kensington Park de la fin des années 70 au milieu des années 80.
3251 (160) – Dans le centre commercial Northeast Plaza, Fat Daddio's Pizza (à partir de 2017) était la pizzeria Honey Crust de la première moitié du milieu des années 80 jusqu'en 2010. Entre les deux, il s'agissait de la Pizzeria & Pasta House de Rico's à partir de 2010 jusqu'en 2017. Les vêtements pour femmes Honey Bees étaient là avant Honey Crust.
3251 (220) – L'ancien Big Lots (de 1993 au début de 2019 avant de passer au Town & Country Plaza) du centre commercial Northeast Plaza était un magasin Sears Surplus du milieu des années 80 à 1993.
3301 – Le supermarché Winn Dixie occupait cette position dans le centre commercial Northeast Plaza de juin 1983 à avril 2018. Il était initialement situé dans l'unité 200 à partir d'avril 1963 (sous le nom de Kwik Chek) en juin 1983.
3482 – Le restaurant péruvien de Maemi (à partir de la fin de 2012) au Tallywood Center était l'underground du pape Joe de 1985 au début des années 2000. Il est ensuite devenu le Springwater Café en 2003, puis du Péruvian Grill II.
3564 – Wet Pets SRQ (à partir de la fin de 2016) était un restaurant Pizza Hut de 1979 au milieu des années 2000.
3572 – Hungie Howie était un restaurant KFC de mai 1977 au milieu des années 90.
3590 – Realty Services était un magasin 7-Eleven du milieu des années 70 au début des années 90.
Via Bahia Vista
2045 – L'actuel Blue Moon Grill (à partir de juin 2018) et l'ancien Roadside Rib Shack (2006-2018) étaient un restaurant du Kentucky Fried Chicken de 1962 à 1984 (l'adresse était indiquée sous le numéro 2031 Bahia Vista de 1962 à 1968). Pour le reste des années 80, il s’agissait du centre de divertissement Yvonne Fashions, de Just For Fun et de Game House de Cosmo en 1989 jusqu’à la fin des années 90. Avant Road Side Rib Shack, dans les années 00, il s’agissait de la cuisine casher de Leon, celle de Bahama John, puis celle de Jamaica Me Rib.
2253 – Reconstruit dans un quartier résidentiel au début des années 2000, il s'agissait de l'épicerie de Taylor du milieu des années 50 au début des années 70. Après un bref passage sous le nom de Breeze In Market, il est devenu une épicerie Quick Stop du début des années 70 au milieu des années 80.
2750 – Sarasota Orthopaedic Associates était un hôpital médical de février 1967 à 5731 Bee Ridge Rd. En 1995. Photo: hôpital des médecins en 1980.
3330 – Il s’agissait de la maison Pinecraft Eat n ° 1955-1971. Plus tard, il était à 3434 Bahia Vista.
3350 – Big Olaf Creamery était une épicerie IGA basée à Pinecraft depuis 1955 au moins, jusqu’à ce qu’il devienne Ygo by Citron en 1967. Après avoir été renommé Citgo et Pinecraft Citgo par Hurst, il est devenu à partir de mai 1977, Troyer & Citrus & Produce. bien dans les années 90.
3434 – Le restaurant Yoder était connu sous le nom de Blue Gate Restaurant entre 1975 et le milieu des années 80. Peu de temps avant Blue Gate dans la première moitié des années 70, il s’appelait Pinecraft Eat & # 39; n House (anciennement 3330 Bahia Vista). Avant de devenir un restaurant, un marchand de cercueils (Plank Enterprises) occupait ce poste entre la fin des années 60 et le début des années 70. Photo: Restaurant Blue Gate en 1978 et 1977.
3637 – Circle A Food Place était une épicerie Circle K du milieu des années 1980 à la fin des années 2000. Auparavant, il s’agissait de l’épicerie Three Suns entre le milieu et la fin des années 60 et d’un magasin général à la fin des années 60 et au milieu des années. 39; 80.
3713 – Le restaurant Der Dutchman a abrité le Giant Burger de Yoder de 1974 à 1976, avant de devenir cuisine néerlandaise de 1976 à 1978 et le restaurant Wagon Wheel de 1978 à 1985. Il est devenu Der Dutchman en 1985 (le bâtiment d'origine a été démoli pour beaucoup de places de parking et un bâtiment beaucoup plus grand a été construit à côté en 1999) jusqu’à ce qu’il devienne l'héritage des Pays-Bas en 2002. Il est revenu à Der Dutchman en 2012.
3737 (11) – Les courtepointes d'Alma Sue étaient le dîner populaire des années 1950 de 1994 à 2002. Il est ensuite devenu Kreamy Kustard Frozen Delights. Ci-dessous: Le dîner à la cinquantaine
1800 – Sunset Chevrolet (à partir de 1979) était Altman Chevrolet de 1965 (transférée de Central Avenue) à 1979. Ci-dessous: Altman Chevrolet
1902 – La Pizzeria & Pasta House de Rico (depuis 1998) a été Bagel Inn de janvier 1978 à 1998.
Chemin Bay Shore
3701 – Sarasota Jungle Gardens est une attraction touristique populaire à Sarasota depuis 1939. Ci-dessous: panneau vers les jardins de la jungle de Sarasota dans le nord de Tamiami Trail dans les années 70.
Beach Road (Siesta Key)
431 – Les condos existent maintenant sur le site du restaurant Blue Gentian du milieu des années 50 à la fin des années 50 et jusqu'en 1970, date à laquelle le nom a été changé pour The Inn Between Restaurant jusqu'à la moitié du ans et 90; 90. Puis c'est devenu le Beach Café.
Bee Ridge Road
2010 – Avant d'être démoli en 1998 pour faire place à Walgreens, un restaurant KFC était présent de la fin de 1974 au milieu des années 90. Photo: Kentucky Fried Chicken juste avant son ouverture en 1974.
2020 –Également démoli en 1998, il abrita le restaurant Pizza Shanty de 1975 à 1986 environ. Auparavant, d’octobre 1955 à 1975, il s’agissait du restaurant Don & Eunice et a ensuite été un American Sun Out de la fin des années 80 au milieu des années 90. Photo: Pizza Shanty vue par la fenêtre d'une voiture.
2030 – Contenant maintenant plus de fonctions (jurisprudence, médecine sportive, orthopédie), il s’agissait généralement de Dixie Lee Liquors (voir ci-dessous) de 1987 à 1997. Il a également été utilisé comme centre de règlement temporaire pour Neiman-Marcus en 1998.
2042 – Les cabinets médicaux et juridiques occupent maintenant le siège qui était autrefois le Power Motors de Bohannon de 1961 à 1988. Depuis lors, il est devenu le clavier d'Al Havener de la fin de 1988 à la fin des années 90.
2043 – Le service de radiateurs de Sarasota fonctionne dans la même localité depuis novembre 1955. Photo: Service de radiateur Sarasota montré à 63 ans au même poste (1955 et 2018).
2049 – Avant de devenir Jiffy Lube tel qu’il fonctionne aujourd’hui, il s’agissait du Short Stop Lube & Oil de 1987 jusqu’en 1989 environ.
2058 – La Red Barn Bar (depuis 1968) était auparavant Dewitt Motor Sales de 1958 à 1960 avant de déménager au 2820 Bee Ridge Rd, puis de Marlow Motor Sales (de 1960 à 1962), de la pépinière Calvert (1963-1964). , Southside Motors (1965) et Julian's Red Barn Tavern d’environ 1966 à 1968.
2108 – Les pianos Pritchards (à partir d’octobre 1967) étaient connus sous le nom de Hammond Studios jusqu’au milieu des années 80. Avant cela. il s’agissait de Edwards Equipment et d’un bureau pour Burger Queen de 1961 à 1963 et Mae Fabrics de 1963 à 1967.
2111 – The Eye Associates (également Kantor Eye Associates depuis 1992) était un centre de remise en forme européen pour health spa (1973-1981), puis un centre de fitness entièrement américain à Sarasota de 1981 à 1989 environ. Ci-dessous: le centre de remise en forme américain All-American Sarasota en 1981, flanqué de la statue "Atlas" laissée par l'European Health Spa.
2201 – Speedy Mart (Citgo) a été le service Texaco de Grant de 1957 à 1972 et celui de Jim de 1972 à 1983. Il est ensuite devenu Ready Stores dans la station Payless d’avril 1988 et s’est installé à Citgo depuis 1994. a ensuite travaillé sous le nom de Sarasota Citgo pendant les années 00.
2223 – Iverson's Furniture (à partir de décembre 1959 et a appelé la Bee Ridge Thrift House d’Iverson à ses débuts jusqu’en juillet 1966) était autrefois Taylor Furniture de décembre 1956 à octobre 1959.
2243 – La vidéo de la Renaissance (du début des années 90 à septembre 2018) est ce que Betty fabrique avec What Not Shop, ainsi que Central Bait & Tackle et le magasin de nouveauté Life A # Party au fil des ans. 39; 80.
2245 (A) – L'ancien Pop Craft (ouvert en 2012) était autrefois un kiosque Read All Over Newsstand des débuts des années 90 à 90. Avant cela, c’était Crescent Printing et plus tard, c’était le matelas Pittsburgh.
2300 (103) – Total Tennis at The Colonnade (à partir de 2012) était la boutique de cadeaux Persnickety Cat du milieu des années 80 à 2012.
2407 – Macks Burgers & Shakes (à partir de 2013) était une station-service d'Amoco (Bee Ridge Amoco) d'environ 1956 jusqu'au début des années 50. La station a été reconstruite dans les premières années & 70.
2738 – Fred Astaire Dance Studio (depuis octobre 1978) était la maison de Brookside Grocery (voir ci-dessous à partir de 1957) au moins depuis la fin des années 40 jusqu'en 1974. Le magasin a ensuite été démoli et reconstruit en tant que matériel Drury à la fin de 1974.
2773 – Tacos – To Go sur Frankie's Plaza était la Frankie's Pizza (maison du sous-titre "Big Frankie") de 1973 à la première moitié des années 50. Plus tard, il est devenu Aioli Grill Italian Express en 2005, Viva Sarasota Café et San Diego Tacos To Go.
2800 – Swift Shell était le Sunoco de John Hawk de 1962 au milieu des années 70 (construit en 1960 sous le nom de Bergreen Sunoco). Il a continué sous différents noms jusqu'à ce qu'il passe de Sunoco à Mobil en 1984, dans les années 90, pour devenir Mobil Quick Lube (voir ci-dessous). Plus tard, elle est devenue une station BP au début des années (comme de nombreuses autres stations de Sarasota), puis Save-On vers 2010 avant de devenir une station-service Shell.
2819 (C) – Le toilettage Plush Pup Pet Grooming opère ici sur cette place à partir de trois à quatre unités depuis la construction du bâtiment en 1976.
2820 – Les ventes automobiles de Scotti ont été des ventes de moteurs DeWitt pendant plus de 50 ans, d’avril 1960 jusqu’à leur transfert sur le 3416 S. Osprey Avenue. au milieu de l'année 2010. Au milieu, c'était Asanka Cars,
2833 – Le Roni's Café (à partir de 2016) était un restaurant Chicken Unlimited de juin 1973 à 1984. Le restaurant Buttery a été ouvert en 1985 pendant plus de dix ans. Il est ensuite devenu le restaurant familial Dina à la fin des années. # 39; 90. Pegusas Greek Restaurant et Fiona Too étaient ici au milieu des années 2000 et 2016.
3090 – Ce était un dépanneur 7-Eleven de 1968 à la fermeture de 50 ans plus tard en 2018.
3156 – Toutes les pièces d'appareils électroménagers de Sarasota (à partir de 1993 environ) appartenaient à Palmer Realty de Floride de 1979 à 1983, date à laquelle elle est devenue le magasin de livraison de Joyce. En 1985, c’était le soin de la piscine, qui semblait avoir déménagé deux ans plus tard. Après quelques années d’annonces vacantes, il s’agissait de Good As New Clothing de 1989 à 1993.
3160 – Faisant maintenant partie de Value Pawn and Jewelry, ce film a commencé sous le nom de Huff's Music World en mars 1979, après avoir déménagé au 2819 Bee Ridge Road. Il est devenu Thoroughbred Music au début de 1981, puis Pool Care de 1987 à 2013.
3164 – Il fait également partie de Value Pawn and Jewelry et fait partie de la pizza Salumeria de 1979. Il est ensuite devenu le Café Campestre de juillet 1983 à environ 1999.
3170 – Ace Hardware a été ouvert en novembre 1965 sous le nom de Bee Ridge Hardware & Lumber. En 1974, il était connu sous le nom de matériel Ace Bee Ridge.
3190 – Sunoco (à partir du début des années 2010 après avoir été converti à partir de Speedway) occupe le poste qui a débuté en tant que station-service Super-Test Oil Co. en juin 1965. Il était alors Poor Ole Mac en 1978 et Starvin & Marvin depuis 1980. jusqu’à la conversion en Speedway au milieu des années 90.
3530 – Gettel Nissan (depuis 1998) était Campbell Motors de 1981 au début des années 90. Puis ce fut la Nissan-Jeep de Sarasota.
3571 – Starbucks (depuis 2001) était une station-service Texaco depuis plus de 35 ans.
3610 – L'ancien Mojave Tan (entre la fin des années 90 et la fin des années 00) du centre commercial Village Plaza était le deuxième siège du restaurant Denner Dogs dans les premières années de l'année. 80. Peu de temps après, il est devenu le restaurant Pit Stop, puis le pub de la taverne Loomer de 1983 à 1989. Dans les années 90, c'était Little Manatees.
3670 – Party City était une pharmacie Walgreens depuis mars 1973, date à laquelle elle s’est déplacée vers un nouvel emplacement de l’autre côté de la rue au milieu des années 90. Plus tard, il est devenu Big Party Gift Shop, puis IParty.
3690 – Le supermarché Publix est situé dans le centre commercial Village Plaza depuis 1973. Le magasin a été reconstruit en 2011.
3701 – Le restaurant Denny (depuis 1994) était le restaurant Cypress Inn (1976-1993). Au milieu, il y avait un restaurant Pete Leg Pete.
3740 – En 2011, une banque a été construite au siège de Wag's Restaurant du milieu des années 80 au début du milieu des années 90 et de Mel's Diner à partir du milieu des années 90. jusqu'en 2008.
3748A – AutoZone a été un magasin de vidéo à succès de 1988 à 2000, date à laquelle il est devenu Hollywood Video jusqu'au milieu des années 50.
3748B – HomeGoods se trouve dans cette position depuis le début des années 00. À l’origine, il était inscrit à 3750 Bee Ridge (le même que la marchandise de service).
3750 – Big Lots (vers 2003) était un grand magasin Woolco (de 1974 au début de 1983). Il est ensuite devenu un magasin House Works (de 1983 à 1987) et un magasin de marchandisage (de 1988 à 2002). En bas: le parking est complet à Woolco sur Bee Ridge Rd. En mars 1974 pour l'ouverture.
3762 –Crunch Fitness (à partir de 2012) du Village Plaza était un magasin de meubles de Rhodes de la fin de 1984 au début de janvier 1994. Il est ensuite devenu une salle de sport dorée jusqu'en 2012.
3780 – KFC (depuis 1995 et remodelé en 2016) était la Clearwater National Bank à partir de septembre 1980. Il a ensuite été remplacé par Pioneer Federal Savings en 1982, Naples Federal Savings en 1985 et Banc Florida en 1990.
3828 – McDonald's est ici depuis juillet 1977 et a été reconstruit au milieu des années 2000.
3900 – La propriété résidentielle occupe maintenant la zone qui était le site du théâtre Bee Ridge Drive-In du 16 avril 1969 à sa fermeture en 1981. "The Bullitt" de Steve McQueen était la principale attraction de la soirée d'ouverture .
3953 – Sunoco (à partir du début des années 2010) près du coin des chemins Bee Ridge et Sawyer a commencé à abriter la station-service Paul's Pure de 1962 à 1965 environ. Après avoir été utilisé pour la vente de voitures, il est devenu le mini-marché et le Bay Station de Poor Old Mac entre 1968 et 1982. Il est ensuite devenu une station d’huile Globe jusqu’à ce qu’il devienne Starvin. Marvin vers 1986. Vers le milieu des années 90, il s’agissait d’une station de Speedway et d’un dépanneur jusqu’à sa conversion en Sunoco.
4000 – Goldmark Auto Group était la station-service de Olsen ouverte en mai 1960. Depuis, il est devenu Bee Ridge Esso (devenu Enco) de 1962 au début des années 70. Ce fut plus tard McCloud Enco / Exxon (début des années 70 à la fin des années 70), Alec's Exxon (fin des années 70-70 – 80) et Bee Ridge Phillips 66 (1980-1983). Depuis lors, il a principalement été utilisé pour la vente de voitures et de camions de différents noms, à commencer par les ventes de voitures pour la ville et la campagne de 1983 à environ 1989.
4020 – C'était un restaurant Wendy de 1986 au début de 2017.
4050 – Public Storage (à partir de 2015) était une quincaillerie Scotty de 1968 à 2003, puis plus tard Bee Ridge Self Storage. Photo: Les ventes de matériel de Scotty se clôturent en 2003.
4084 – Le Southern Steer Butcher (à partir de 2017) était le Sarasota Bicycle Center de la fin des années 80 à 2016. Auparavant, il s'agissait de Handy Dandy Grocery (fin des années 50 – & 60; 60), Lil & Magasin général (du milieu des années 60 au début des années 70) et Bee Ridge Meats (du début des années 70 au milieu des années 80).
4086 – La pharmacie Bee Ridge était un magasin secondaire de Bee Ridge d’environ 1983 aux années 2000. Depuis le milieu des années 70, les biftecks et les hoagies de Fabiano, les steaks et les hoagies de Verna et le magasin secondaire Seagraves depuis environ deux ou trois ans chacun.
4116 – Le Cracker Jack's Pub (du milieu à la fin des années 90) était un restaurant Kentucky Fried Chicken des années 1980 à 1995.
4118 – Signs In One Day était le Loft Bar & Lounge d’Octobre 1964 à 1977. Il a été remplacé par le Fireside Lounge en 1979, puis par le Just For Fun (jeux vidéo) en 1982. Ultérieurement, il a été ABC Liquors de De juillet 1984 à 1998, avant de déménager dans la rue puis de devenir la Frisky Business Pet Daycare.
4131 – Le Sunoco (à partir du milieu des années 50) était le pétrole de l'Est entre 1972 et 1986, date à laquelle il est devenu le Joy Food Store. De 1988 à 2001, il s’agissait d’un dépanneur Coastal Mart.
4214 – Pinch A Penny Pool-Patio-Spa (depuis 1985) était un meuble national de 1982 à 1984.
4230 – Situé dans le Southeast Shopping Plaza, Winn Dixie Supermarket (depuis 2014) était un supermarché Kwik Chek (renommé Winn Dixie dans les années 70) de la fin de 1965 à la fin des années 90. Il est ensuite devenu un supermarché Kash N ° Karry en 2001 avant d’être converti en Sweetbay en 2005 jusqu’à devenir Winn Dixie (à nouveau) en 2014.
4282 – Le magasin de peinture Sherwin Williams situé dans le Southeast Shopping Plaza était le Rose Auto Stores de 1979 à 1999 environ, date à laquelle il est devenu Duron Paints.
4286 – L'ancien Universal Travel (de 1999 à début 2010) du Southeast Shopping Plaza était le Plaza Barber Shop de 1966 à 1983. Il est ensuite devenu Steve's Jewelry de 1985 à 1993 et le magasin de disques Rock & # 39; N & # 39; Rouler Rick de la fin de 1994 à la fermeture en septembre 1998 ..
4290 – Dino's Pizza (géré de la fin de 1978 à août 2019) dans le Southeast Shopping Plaza était le restaurant Southern States au début des années 70 et le restaurant Monaco (ouvert en juillet 1976).
4292 – Le restaurant Peach (à partir de mars 2001) de la Southeast Shopping Plaza était la télévision américaine et la location d’appareils électroménagers de 1983 à 1996 environ. C'était avant Anchor Office Supplies de 1971 au début des années 80, quand il est devenu The Downtown Store Office Supplies.
4294 – Aaron (depuis 2009) du Southeast Shopping Plaza était Eckerd Drugs de décembre 1965 jusqu'à ce qu'il déménage en 2000 dans un nouvel endroit de l'autre côté de la rue. Au milieu, Anthony's Clothing.
4301 – CVS Pharmacy (depuis 2000, converti par Eckerd Drugs en 2004) a été construit dans l’ancien logis d’un restaurant Pizza Hut (du milieu des années 70 à la fin des années 1990 et démoli en 2000). . Un restaurant Tee Pee Drive-In était ici au début des années 70 (ouvert en 1973).
4346 – Situé dans le Southeast Shopping Plaza, le Burger King a atteint les 40 dans cette position en 2019.
4400 – Firehouse Subs (depuis janvier 2004) était le siège de Coast Federal Savings & Loan (devenue Coast Bank) de septembre 1980 à sa conversion en SunBank de 1993 à 1995.
4401 – Batteries Plus (du milieu à la fin des années 90) était un magasin 7-Eleven de la fin des années 70 au milieu des années 90.
4404 – L & # 39; ex Save-A-Lot (2003-2018) à Palm Plaza était un supermarché Grand Union (1982-1984), qui a ensuite été transformé en supermarché Kash N Karry (de 1984 au début des années 2000) lorsque Grand Union a fermé ses portes. magasins en Floride.
4417 – La pharmacie Medical Arts Pharmacy était un dépanneur 7-Eleven de février 1962 jusqu'à ce qu'elle devienne un magasin U-Totem en 1968 et un magasin d'alimentation Quickie en 1977. Elle est ensuite devenue la première banque d'épargne présidentielle à la mi-fin des années. 80 (passant de 4419 Bee Ridge en 1984) jusqu'à la transition vers State Street Bank dans les premières années 1990.
4419 – L’impression classique (depuis 1987) était l’impression Fasprint de JR de 1984.
4428 – Anthony's Pizza, de 1982 à 1988, était l’ancienne pharmacie Kabs. Elle est depuis devenue Chicago Street Eatery pendant quelques années, puis la pizzeria à l’origan de 1992 à 1996 environ. Pour le reste des années 90, c’était le New York de M. Vic Pizza, puis de Bella Pizzeria, dans les années 50. À partir de là, dans les années 00, il s’agissait de Bistro-Bistro, Thyme For Dinner (ouvert en 2006), Veggie Magic et Vibe Cuisine.
4434 –Le Rent-A-Center (à partir du milieu des années 50) de Palm Plaza était le célèbre glacier à l'ancienne de Larry, de décembre 1983 à 1987. Depuis, il est devenu Big Olaf Creamery de 1988 à 1993 et Funtastics. Gymnastique de 1995 à 2000.
4436 – Le restaurant Mi Pueblo (depuis 1999) du Palm Plaza était le restaurant de Shanghai de 1985 à 1996. Il s'agissait d'un restaurant Wings N Weenies.
4444 – Le Dollar General (à partir du milieu des années 80) de Palm Plaza était un magasin de rabais Eagle Army-Navy de la fin de 1965 au milieu des années 80.
4456 – L’ancien Woodcraft (2008 à 2010) du Palm Plaza était un magasin de vidéos de 1991 à 1999 environ.
4458 – L’ancien buffet oriental (1999 début 2018) du Palm Plaza était le cinéma Pictures and Pitchers et le cinéma de mars 1983 à décembre 1984. Il était également le restaurant de Mme Appleton d’août 1986 à 1996 et Maggie Le buffet de décembre 1996 à 1998.
4460 – Avant d’être reconstruit dans plusieurs magasins de Palm Plaza, il s’agissait d’un supermarché Food Fair (transformé en Pantry Pride en 1969) de la fin de 1965 au début de 1979. C’était plus tard Carpet Remnant World au début de l’année. 80.
4462 – L'ancienne Payless Shoe Source (gérée du milieu des années 90 à juin 2019) de Palm Plaza était Crossland Savings Bank au milieu des années 80. Il a ensuite migré vers Meritor Savings du milieu à la fin des années 80 au milieu des années 90.
4511 – PPG Paints (anciennement Porter Paints jusqu'à ce qu'il soit renommé en 2015) est opérationnel depuis sa construction en 1982.
4563 – Le Sushi Café de Goichi (depuis 2008) sur la place Ridge Center était une pizza du petit César de juillet 1983 aux environs de 1998. Parmi ceux-ci, il y avait CBQ Grill et Galaxy Pizza & Wings.
4599 – Little Caesar's Pizza (à partir de la fin de 2009) situé au Ridge Center Plaza était le restaurant Taco Casa, de 1991 à 1994 environ. Il a commencé sous le nom de Flowers de CJ de 1983 à 1987, puis est devenu Little Waters Spa jusqu’en 1990 environ.
5804 – Le supermarché Publix opère ici au Centergate Plaza depuis 1988.
5828 – C’était le restaurant chinois Shangri-La au Centergate Plaza depuis 1988.
5864 – Panera Bread (depuis 2008) à Centergate Plaza était Woody B-B-Q (ouvert en 1993). Auparavant, c'était Pepper's Bar and Grill, de 1988 à 1992 environ.
5876 – Plus tard, intégré dans d’autres magasins de Centergate Plaza, ce fut Turtles Music d’environ 1988 à 1993.
Benjamin Franklin Drive
233 – Le Holiday Inn Sarasota – Lido Beach est opérationnel depuis juin 1970.
Boulevard des arts
1001 – Il s'agissait de la bibliothèque publique de Selby de 1976 à son transfert sur la 1331 1st Street en 1998. Depuis, elle est devenue GWIZ (Gulfcoast Wonder and Imagination Zone) de 2000 à 2013. La démolition du bâtiment a commencé en mai 2019.
903 – Palmer Easy Stop Citgo était un dépanneur Quick Stop de 1984 à 2014 (voir ci-dessous depuis 2006).
999 (H) – Fresco's Italian Restaurant & Pizza (à partir de début 2018) était le Vandy's Steak & Hoagie Shop de 1994 à la fin des années 1990. Plus tard, il est devenu Hoagie Heaven et Cattlemen Cafe, Grill & Pizzeria.
3930 – La Bank of America (depuis le début des années 00) a été la première première banque fédérale depuis juillet 1984. Elle est ensuite devenue la Barnett Bank en 1987 et la NationsBank à la fin de l’année 90.
3941 – La Burlington Coat Factory (à partir d’octobre 2001) était un grand magasin Kmart de 1982 à 2000.
4000 – Le Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant (à partir de 2016) a été Sugar & Spice Family Restaurant de 1997 à la fin de 2011. Il a commencé par être le restaurant Bill Knapp de 1991 à 1994 et était également le restaurant Elaine (ouvert en 2012) et Fred & # 39 ; s Market Restaurant.
4041 – La Banca delle Regioni (depuis 2007) était le Stockyard Steakhouse (de 1992 à 2001), puis le restaurant Auntie Pasta. Auparavant, c'était Ponderosa Steakhouse (du milieu à la fin des années 80 au début des années 90) et Walkabout Steak Station. Ci-dessous: Steakhouse Stockyard.
4053 – Richard's Foodporium (depuis 2012) et Sarasota Wine & Spirits étaient une pharmacie Walgreens de 1983 à 5800 Bee Ridge Rd. En 2002. Au milieu, il s'agissait de Cattlemen Liquors.
4059 – Le Madfish Grill Restaurant (depuis 1999) est une banque (Barnett Bank, puis SouthTrust Bank) depuis le milieu des années 80 à la fin des années 90.
4088 – Tile Outlets of America à Centergate Plaza (à partir de 2013) était un entrepôt national du milieu à la fin des années 80 jusqu'à son déménagement en septembre 1994 vers son emplacement actuel de l'autre côté de la rue. C’était un magasin HomePlace Waccamaw de 1996 à 2001, Book Market (2002) et Picture Factory.
4092 – Le point de vente d’Ollie (ouvert en novembre 2017) était une autorité sportive de 1996 à 2016.
4111 – En septembre 1994, Home Depot a déménagé à son emplacement actuel de l'autre côté de la rue, à 4088 Cattlemen.
4297 – Le restaurant Steak & Shake est opérationnel depuis septembre 1997.
4381 – Walmart a ouvert ses portes en avril 1997 et, en 2009, il a été transformé en Walmart Supercenter.
1 – Classée à l'origine à 2 N. Ananas, le restaurant White Tower (à ne pas confondre avec le château blanc ou le château royal) situé à Five Points était ici d'octobre 1959 au milieu des années 80. Pendant une brève période à la fin des années 50, avant la tour blanche, ce fut Barnes Sandwich Shop. En bas: restaurant de la tour blanche
600 – L’ancien lieu de résidence de Bob était la salle à manger de Rose du début des années 50 au milieu des années 60, puis il est devenu le restaurant Thomas jusqu’à la première moitié des années. 70. À partir de là, c’est le restaurant Rose jusqu’au début des années 90 (classé au 602, avenue Central jusqu’en 1980).
Central Sarasota Parkway
4840 – Le grand magasin Kohl (depuis 2011) était un marché Albertsons de 1999 à 2006.
4860 – Abattu en 2014 et remplacé par un restaurant Walgreens situé à proximité, il s'agissait d'un magasin de jouets "R & # 39; R & # 39". Nous entre 1998 et 2006 et les bébés R & # 39; Nous de 2006 à début 2014.
2820 – Devenu un cabinet dentaire, c’était la Caribbean Pie Company depuis la fin des années 90 avant de devenir Latitude 23,5.° Café et thé en 2004. Auparavant, il occupait le poste de Sicard Boat Mfg. Du début à la fin des années 60, Dahlberg Gifts & Handicraft dans les années 70 et au début des années 80, Beer Depot (même au début des années 80), Drive Through Beverage Center des environs de 1983 au reste des années 80 et Valentino Pizza & Beverage du début du milieu des années. 39; 90. Photo: Compagnie à tarte des Caraïbes
2864 – L'ex Sparkle-Brite Pool Supplies era un ristorante Chicken Unlimited dagli inizi del 1974 a circa 1979, diventando Moon's Landing, poi Dairy Queen nei primi anni '80. Nel 1984, il ristorante fu trasformato in First Presidential Savings Bank nei primi anni '90.
2881 (unità 7) – Il futuro Detwiler's Farm Market e l'ex Winn Dixie Supermarket (dal 2014 ad aprile 2018) presso il Merchants Pointe Shopping Center sono in realtà nati come Winn Dixie dal 1977 alla fine degli anni '90. In seguito è diventato un supermercato Kash N 'Karry nel 2001 prima di essere convertito in Sweetbay nel 2005. Successivamente è stato riconvertito in Winn Dixie nel 2014.
2881 (10) – Il generale del dollaro (dalla metà degli anni '80) era un negozio di eccedenze Eagle Army-Navy dal 1977 alla metà degli anni '80.
2881 (25) – SweetBerries (dal 2002) era un ristorante di Long John Silver dal 1977 ai primi anni 2000.
2951 – Gli Ashton Lake Condominiums (dalla metà alla fine degli anni '80) si trovano nella posizione che era il Golden T Golf Club di Tommy Bolt dall'aprile 1964 alla metà degli anni '80.
3155 – L'ex Too Quick Food Store era la stazione di servizio Sun Haven (Standard, poi Enco / Exxon dopo il 1971) dal 1960 al 1983. Successivamente divenne Sun Haven Mini Mart ed è stato anche chiamato minimarket Sun Haven U-Save. Foto: Sun Haven Mini Mart nel 2004.
3156 – Questo è un minimarket 7-Eleven dal 1987 circa. Foto: 7-Eleven anche come stazione Citgo nel 2004 (era Citgo fino al 2006). Sullo sfondo c'è un cartellone pubblicitario per il cortese Friendly's Restaurant al 6606 di S. Tamiami Tr.
3206 – Gli elettrodomestici usati di Tony in Sun Haven Plaza erano il Little Star Bantam Market (dalla fine del 1961 alla metà degli anni '60) e poi un negozio di alimentari U-Totem dalla metà degli anni '60 alla metà degli anni '70. Successivamente divenne un Quickie Food Store (dalla fine degli anni '70 ai primi anni '80), il Gulf Coast One Stop Food Store (dai primi anni '80 alla metà degli anni '80) e Danny's Deli (aperto nel 1987) prima di diventare Appliance ricondizionate certificate a metà degli anni '90.
3218 – Il ristorante El Toro Bravo (dal 2016 trasferito da Stickney Point Rd.) A Sun Haven Plaza è stato negli anni diversi stabilimenti di ristorazione / lounge, a partire da Crazy Corky's Warehouse nel marzo 1975 (cambiato in Corky's Rustic Inn nel 1976). Più tardi negli anni '70, fu The Coach Inn dal 1977 al 1978 e White Horse Inn, aperto nel 1978. Tin Lizzy Café aprì qui a metà 1980, seguito negli anni 80 da Picasso e Miss Kittie's Restaurant, Tuxedo Junction Restaurant nel 1983, Gilley's Surf & Turf del 1985, Alfredo's Restaurant e OP's Restaurant & Lounge. Negli anni '90, fu Kelly's Saloon per la maggior parte del decennio prima di passare a Rum Shack all'inizio del 1999. Successivamente divenne Therapy Nightclub entro il 2001, Club Escapes nell'ottobre 2004 e Jake's Tavern nella prima metà del 2010.
3246 – Bohemios Wine & Beer (since January 2019) used to be a Dairy Queen restaurant at Clark Road Square plaza from 2001 until closing in 2018.
3404 – Tijuana Flats Restaurant (since 2009) used to be a Boogie Woogie record store from December 1989 to April 2008.
3414 – Jersey Mike's Subs (since 2016) used to be a Subway Restaurant from late 1987 to late 2014 or early 2015.
3416 – Papa John's Pizza (since mid-90's) used to be a Zack's Famous Frozen Yogurt store from the late 80's to early-to-mid 90's.
3428 – Publix Supermarket has been operating at this location at Beneva Village Shoppes since 1987. It has been torn down and is in the process of being rebuilt during 2019.
3506 – Walgreens Pharmacy has been operating at this location at Beneva Village Shoppes since 1987.
3530 – Gym SRQ at Beneva Village Shoppes used to be a Ross Dress for Less clothing store from about 1988 until moving to Sarasota Pavilion in the early 00's. It then became a Bealls Outlet store and was later a YouFit Health Club.
3555 – The former ABC Fine Wine & Spirits (1993 to 2017) used to be a Lil' General food store (mid 70's to 1984), then Circle K (1984 to 1992).
3577 – Verizon Wireless (since 2014) used to be a Shamrock Service Station in the 70's before becoming Safeway Oil by the decade's end. It would become a bank in 1980 (Naples Federal Savings) until about 2012 while changing its name a few more times (Banc Florida, First Union and Liberty Savings Bank).
3578 – The former Beef O'Brady's (2012 to 2019) at Beneva Village Shops used to be Shaner's Restaurant from about the early 00's to 2011 after previously being in the plaza at 3440 Clark Rd. beginning in 1991. Earlier, it was Ernie's Restaurant (late 80's to early 90's), East End Bar & Grill and Dakota Bar & Grill.
3580 – 7-Eleven and Mobil used to be a Standard (later Chevron-shown below) service station from about 1974 to the late 90's.
3821 –The former Nationwide Insurance used to be a restaurant, starting with La Casita deli in the early-to-mid 80's. It then became Daily Doubles Restaurant by 1985 and Alday's Cracker Style Bar-B-Q (see below) from about 1988 to 1992. After that, it was Hubcap & Wheel of Sarasota and was later Classic Floors and Pack Ship Crate & Freight.
3877 – Paddy Wagon Irish Pub used to be Johnny's Hardware and Grocery Store (also sold Citgo gas at one time) from at least the early 60's into the 70's. It later became The Swamp bar and lounge (was also The Office Bar) from at least the early 80's to early 00's and Mr. Big's 19th Hole from 2001 to the early 2010's.
3900 (M) – Chianti Ristorante Italiano (since 2013) used to be Tokyo Bay Japanese Steak Restaurant from 1985 to the early 90's. It later became Jimmy Dimitri's Restaurant in early 1996 and then Big Kitchen Restaurant & Bar from 1997 to 2005. It was also El Paso Mexican Grill in the early 2010's.
3900 (N) – Millie's Restaurant has operated at this location since 1988.
3901 – This used to be Bar 3 Feed & Supply from early 1977 until about the early-to-mid 90's and later torn down. Before that, Sarasota Figure Salon was here starting in January 1974.
3951 – Sunoco (since the early 2010's) used to be a Farm Stores convenience store from 1988 to 1991. It then became Lucky Stop (with BP gas) until changing to Petro Stop in the early 00's. Earlier at this location before being rebuilt, Melton's Garden World was here from 1974 to about 1984.
4031 – The Original Egg Restaurant (since 2010 and formerly The Broken Egg) used to be Atlanta Bread Company from the mid-to-late 00's.
4067 – Oak & Stone restaurant (opened in the spring of 2019) used to be Buffalo Wild Wings from the spring of 2006 to August 2018.
4221 – Big Finish Car Wash (since the mid-to-late 00's) used to be Tire Kingdom from May 1982 to the mid 00's. It was earlier a Goodyear Tire Center in the late 70's and early 80's..
5304 – Jimmy Johns (since 2014) adjacent to the Palmer Market store used to be a combination A&W Root Beer and Long John Silver's Restaurant from about 2003 to 2005. It would then become an Arby's Restaurant (Arby's sign below from 2006) and later a Just Pizza Restaurant. The restaurant opened in early 2001 as a Hardee's.
5710 – Subway Restaurant has operated here at Sunrise Plaza since about the start of 1988. It was originally listed at 5708 Clark Rd.
5733 – Tap 72 (since 2016) used to be a Popeye's Chicken restaurant (1990 to about 1994). In between, it was a Wings N Weenies restaurant from the mid 90's until 2015.
5737 – Waffle House Restaurant has operated here since about 1987.
5741 – Wendy's has operated at this location just off the Interstate 75 exit to Clark Rd. since July 1988.
5745 – A 7-Eleven convenience store also just off the Interstate 75 exit to Clark Rd. has operated at this location since 1980, which about coincides with the opening of the interstate in Sarasota.
5748 – Burger King has operated here also just off the Interstate 75 exit to Clark Rd. since August 1986.
Clark Center Avenue (buildings appear to be on Clark Road)
5947 – Livingston's Amusement Center (since 2005) used to be a Lowe's Home Improvement Center from 1986 to 1989. After being used as a temporary office for Sarasota County, it became an Albritton Fruit store in 1995
2080 – This has been Casa Italia International Specialty Market since 1984. Previously here beginning in 1977 was Ernest Rita Construction.
Derek Avenue (buildings appear to be on Clark Road)
5825 – Starbucks Coffee (since early 2014) used to be a KFC Restaurant from the early 00's to 2012.
Below: KFC on Derek Ave. before closing in 2012.
Dr. Martin Luther King Way (previously 33rd St. and then 27th St. from 1953 until the early 90's)
1126 – This used to be Barnes Hamburger Shop from September 1950 to 1959. It briefly became Follmer's Hamburger Shop and then Sherlock's Hamburgers until the early-to-mid 60's.
1751 – This used to be Jenkins Grocery Store from the late 40's to the early-to-mid 80's. It then became Solomon's Grocery Store in the mid 80's, The Game Room in the late 80's and CJ Place Pool Hall in the early 90's.
1993 – Booth's Grocery has operated here since 1976.
2222 – Purple Store convenience store used to be Geech's Barbecue from the mid 70's to the mid-to-late 80's. Prior to that, it was Tillery's Old Fashioned B-B-Q from the early 70's to the mid 70's.
Dream Island Road (Longboat Key)
595 – Torn down in 2005 to build Grand Mariner condominiums, this used to be Buccaneer Inn Restaurant & Marina from 1957 to 2001.
1515 – Formerly known as 1515 3rd Street, this retail center was once the site of a Margaret Ann (later converted to Kwik Chek and Winn Dixie) grocery store from December 1951 to the mid 80's, when it became a Food Way Market. Later businesses at this site included House Of Golf (opened in the late 80's) and Empire Gallery.
1534 – Todburn Antiques used to be Miner's Patio & Casual Furniture from about 1952 to 2006.
1613 – The H.O. Cheney Building (renovated into an office building in 2007) used to be Cheney's Grocery & Market from about the early-to-mid 1930's until the early 80's. Later in the 80's and into the 00's, it was Presstock (paper stock warehouse).
1947 – Walgreens (since late 1996) is at the location previously occupied by the Old Heidelberg Castle restaurant from October 1972 to 1995. It was previously the American Legion Coliseum from January 1931 to the early 70's and originally a Studebaker dealership. Below: Old Heidelberg Castle
2250 – Sarasota Lanes opened its doors in August 1958 and is still operating at the same location today.
2290 – Albrecht Service used to be Southard's Pure Station beginning in August 1958 (see photo). By 1961, it was Albrecht Pure Oil until before switching to Union 76 in 1970 until the early-to-mid 90's, when it became Albrecht Service.
2788 – Dash In Dash Out Texaco (since the mid 00's) used to be Summerall Esso/Enco/Exxon from 1966 to about 1980, when it became Johnston's Exxon and then Tuttle Exxon just after the mid 80's. In the early 90's, the station changed branding to Union 76 (Unocal Service Station) until becoming Dash In Dash Out Citgo by the mid 90's.
2812 – Gerald's Auto Service (U-Haul) started as a Standard Service Station in March 1957. It became Gerald's Standard Service in the late 60's, converting to Gerald's Chevron Service in the 70's and continuing until the late 00's.
2851 – At the corner of Fruitville Rd. and Tuttle Ave. used to be Texas Jim's Animal Land & Zoo, which operated from 1935 to about 1962, although was still listed in street directories as late as 1965. The building that housed the reptile farm and zoo burned down in December 1966.
3137 – Before being torn down, this used to be Weldon's Grocery from about 1959 to 1972. Earlier, it was Ocie Hawkins Grocery from the late 40's to early-to-mid 50's. It then became Joe Rizzo's Meat Market and Italian Grocery until the late 50's.
3192 – A real estate office built in 2001 now occupies the area that used to be the location of The Ranch House tavern from at least the mid 50's until about the late 70's.
3511 – McDonald's has been at this location since September 1979.
3550 – Walgreens (since 2005) is at the location previously occupied by a Burger King (mid 80's to 2004). Restaurants previously in this spot included Ronnick's (February 1958 to 1965), N.E. Oyster House (September 1966 to late 1967), Smoke House (1968 to May 1970), Raw Oyster House (January 1971 to June 1972), Corky's (late 1972 until a fire in May 1973 forced it to close), The Place (remodeled after the fire and operated from January 1974 to 1979) and The Meating Place (opened in 1980).
3554 – Before being knocked down to make way for Walgreens, a Grandy's Country Cookin' Restaurant stood here from 1984 to 1996 or 1997, then China Star restaurant from 1997 to 2004. A 7-Eleven store preceded Grandy's in this location in the 70's and early 80's.
3577 – SunTrust Bank (since the mid 90's) used to be Coast Federal Savings & Loan from 1974 to about 1993.
3580 – Now a Citgo Service Station, this used to be a Sinclair Service Station under various names (most of the time as Tucker's) from 1958 to 1968. From about 1971 to 2015, the station was operated by Park Oil Co. as a Savings Service Station for several years and listed as Dodge Store beginning in 1992 until 2015. Photos: The large price sign in front of the Savings Service Station in 1976 and Dodge Store in 2007.
4652 – CJ Autos of Sarasota used to be Waters Gulf Service from 1958 into the 80's, when it would become Waters Seventy Six. It later became Waters Citgo in the 90's.
4933 – Before being rebuilt in the mid to late 00's while a BP station (was earlier Phillips 66 and also rebuilt in the mid-to-late 80's.), this Marathon station used to be Joe's Handi Stop from the mid 70's to 1992. The station was operated by Joe Shively, who was known as "Peanut Joe" and fondly remembered for selling roasted peanuts at the station. Earlier, the station was known as Fruitville 66 Service Station (opened in June 1966).
5020 – Inkawasi Peruvian Restaurant,(since 2016) used to be a KFC Restaurant from 1988 to 2011. It then became Antoine's Restaurant (2013 to 2015 before moving to N. Tuttle Ave.) and Maemi's Chicken.
5040 – Allied Insurance used to be a U-Tote-M Food Store from the late 60's to the mid 70's. It then became a Quickie Food Store until the early 80's. After being J's Food Mart for a short time in the early-to-mid 80's, it then became F & D Market from about 1983 to the early 00's before becoming an insurance agency.
5100 – Shell Service Station (since 2014) used to be the location of an Amoco Service Station under various names from about 1956 all the way until the early 00's. It was then converted into a BP station.
5116 – This used to be Café Raul Restaurant from late 1978 to about the late 90's.
5329 – Starbucks Coffee (since 2004) in the Sarasota Crossings Plaza used to be Video Library (changed to Movie Gallery in the late 90's) from 1992 to 2003.
5451 – Shapes Fitness for Women (since late 2016) in the Sarasota Crossings Plaza used to be Santa Fe Steakhouse from 1991 until changing its name to Durango Steak House in early 1999 and operating until 2007. In between, this was an LTM Party Store from 2012 to 2016.
5507 – This used to be Forget Me Nots Ice Cream Parlour from about 1989 to 2002. It then became Cone Zone in 2003 until shortly before being torn down to build H.H. Gregg in Sarasota Crossings Plaza in 2009.
5911 – Rodizio Grill Brazilian Restaurant (since 2017) used to be Don Pablo's Mexican Restaurant from 1998 to 2007 and then again from 2012 to 2015. Also here in between the two stints as Don Pablo's were La Tropicana de Havana and The Loft Ristobar.
6518 – Piccolo Italian Market & Deli (since early 2014) used to be Dutch Oven restaurant from about 1986 to 1998. It was later Marion's Restaurant, The Irish Rover Pub (2006 to 2011) and The Angry Pickle Pub & Grill. Before Dutch Oven, it was a real estate office in the early-to-mid 70's, and then Phil's Steak & Hoagie from about 1975 to 1977, Jeanine's Hoagie Shop from about 1977 to 1979 and Koffee Haus restaurant.
6566 – Kazu's 2.0 used to be Mickey's Meat Market from about the early-to-mid 60's into the 90's.
6582 – Sal's Pizzeria & Pasta House (since 2009) used to be The Dairy Parlor restaurant from about 1971 to 1979. In the early 80's, it was C & M Sandwich Shop and then Café Continental before becoming Ornaments Unlimited from the mid 80's through the 90's. It would later become G Spot Bar in the 00's.
6604 – Word of Mouth Restaurant (since 1996) started as Nu You Nutrition Center from 1976 to 1979. It then became Chez Sylvie Restaurant (early 80's), The Dumpling House (early-to-mid 80's – also at 6590 Gateway), Carol's Café (mid 80's to early 90's), Tex Mex Café (early-to-mid 90's) and Portofino's restaurant (mid 90's).
6607 – Sarasota Brewing Company (since 1989) used to be Pour House Tavern (opened in December 1969) and then Gateway Pub from about 1974 to 1978 and Gingerbread Man tavern from about 1979 to 1988.
225 – Stonegate Bank on the corner of Fruitville and Goodrich used to be the location of the Nehi Bottling Company from about the late 1920's to 1977. The building was destroyed after a fire in 1983.
Gulf Gate Drive
2184 – Fashion Focus Hair Academy (since 2000) used to be Gulf Gate Liggett Rexall Drugs from the 1970 to the 90's.
2215 – Torn down around 2010, this used to be Gulf Gate Standard (later converted to Chevron) Service Station from 1965 to the early 90's, when it became Gulf Gate Unocal (Union 76). From the mid 90's to the late 00's, it was a U-Save Service Station. Photos: The station as Chevron in the early-to-mid 70's and U-Save from 2007.
2222 – Tangerine Salon used to be Gulf Gate Bookshop from the early 80's to the early 90's. In the 70's, it was A-One Custom Interiors.
2224 – Taste of Hong Kong Restaurant used to be Mak's Chinese Restaurant for about 30 years from the mid 80's to mid 2010's. It had previously been Lucky Inn Restaurant for a short time in the early-to-mid 80's.
Gulf Gate Mall
See 6503 SouthTamiami Trail below.
Gulf Of Mexico Drive (Longboat Key)
1620 – About to be torn down starting in July 2018 to make way for redevelopment of the property, this used to be Colony Beach and Tennis Resort from 1954 until August 2010.
3454 – Now residential property, this used to be the location of Shenkel's Restaurant (originally Shenkel's Coffee Shop) from 1959 to 1994. It later became Poseidon Restaurant from 1997 to 2003.
1859 – Pacific Rim Restaurant (since 1999) used to be the location of Walpole Pharmacy from 1955 to 1997.
1920 – The former Taverna Grill used to be Hillview Grill from 1986 to 2016. Earlier in the 80's, it was Mel's Hoagie Diner, Phil's Steak and Café Seville.
1930 – Built in 1955 as Barnes Southside Sandwich Shop (opened in May 1955), Five O'Clock Club (since March 1964) was Hillview Liquors for over seven years beginning in October 1956. Photo: Five O'Clock club in its early days in the mid 60's.
1936 – Giorgio's on Hillview Restaurant used to be Great Western House of Meats from 1967 to the mid-to-late 80's. It then became Scott's Meat & Delicatessen. It started as Syd Johnston, Inc. television sales in August 1955, becoming Carl's TV and Radio one year later until 1965.
1944 – The current Café Roma (since January 2019) and former Chutney's Etc. Restaurant (1991 to 2017) was known as Fandango Café Restaurant from 1987 to 1991.
705 – 7-Eleven (since about the early 70's) used to be Gant's Grocery, which opened in 1964 after moving from 709 Honore Ave. Below: Gant's Grocery (now 7-Eleven) from 1964.
817 – Alvis Heating & Cooling and Muse Emporium used to be the very popular Trevino's Mexican Restaurant from 1977 to about 1986 before moving to N. Beneva Rd. Even before that, it was Sister Sundries' store and gas station (Esso at one time) from at least the mid-to-late 50's to the mid 70's. Below: Trevino's Mexican Restaurant
John Ringling Boulevard
325 – Daiquiri Deck (since 2011) used to be Hemingway's Retreat Restaurant from 1986 to 2010.
465 – Shore Clothing and Restaurant was the location of Ruby Tuesday's Lounge from 1977 to about the early 90''s. It was earlier Explorer Bar tavern from 1961 to about 1971 and then became Big Daddy's Liquors from 1972 to 1977.
470 – Blue Dolphin Café (since about 1998) was previously the Buttery Coffee Shop for over 25 years from December 1969 to the mid-to-late 90's. Before that it was Jack's Sandwich Shop from 1955 to 1959 and Matterhorn Swiss Restaurant and Delicatessen from 1959 to 1969.
Lowe Drive (formerly Lowe Lane)
1753 – Located on Whitaker Bayou, this used to be Lowe Boat Ways from at least 1932 (needed to be rebuilt after a fire) until June 1973 when it became Marlow Marine.
1319 – Torn down in 2013 to make way for The Jewel condominiums, this used to be Sports Page Bar & Grille from the late 80's to 2013. It had been a travel agency and art studio before becoming Ziggy's Grill in the mid 80's.
1341 – Clasico Cafe And Bar (since 2013) used to be Charlie's News from 1974 to 1997 and Sarasota News & Books from 1997 to 2009. Before 1974, it was Club Tavern (late 60's) and Landchess Lounge (early 70's) and after 2009, it was Café Palm. Below:Charlie's News in 1974.
1345 – An office center since the late 80's, this used to be Foley's Follies lounge from the early-to-mid 70's to the early 80's. From the 50's to the early 70's, it was primarily a coffee shop under various names (White Wing, Russo's and Esquire).
1355 –Two Senorita's Restaurant (since 1994) used to be Coley's Restaurant from the early-to-mid 80's to about 1993.
1359 1/2 – The Coolinary Restaurant and Bar used to be Misguided Mariner Restaurant from 1977 until becoming T.J.'s Upper Deck Restaurant in about 1980. It then became Celebrity's Restaurant from about 1986 until the early-to-mid 90's. Other restaurants that passed through here after that included: Bwana Bob's, Upper Crust of Sarasota aka Francoise et Henri (opened in 1997), Taste of Tokyo (opened in 2000), Bayou Bleu (opened in 2004) and Irish Pub & Grille.
1364 (was 230 to 234 before 1953) –Sears, Roebuck & Co. Department Store was here from September 1937 until moving to Sears Shopping Plaza (now Midtown Plaza) in July 1960.
1367 (was 233 to 235) – Art Uptown Gallery (since the mid 80's) used to be Fred Walden Shoes from 1959 until moving next door to 1359 Main in 1974. It was then mostly vacant from the mid 70's to the mid 80's.
1369 (was 239 1/2) – Located on the second floor above 1367 and 1371 Main, this used to be Blue Grass Hotel from the mid 30's to the mid-to-late 40's. It then became a suite of offices.
1371 (was 237 to 239) – Café Amici (since the early 00's) used to be Johnny's Coffee Shop and Restaurant from 1940 to 1962 after being Mayfair Restaurant from the mid to late 30's. It then became Charlie's News from 1963 until moving to 1341 Main in 1974. After that, it was The Place on Main Street amusement center (mid 70's to early 80's), New York Original Deli (early-to-mid 80's to early-to mid 90's), Back Stage Café (mid 90's) and Sage Restaurant (late 90's)
1377 – The former MoZaic Restaurant (from late 2008 to September 2018) used to be Monique's Artist Palette Cafe and Gallery from about 1988 to 1992. It later became The Cornerstone Tavern by the mid 90's and Blue Parrot Restaurant and Tavern in the late 90's.
1395 (was 259-261) –First Watch Restaurant (since early 1992) used to be The Sport Shop dress and clothing store from early 1933 to 1991 after three years at 356 (later renumbered 1464) Main St.. Levy's department and clothing store was earlier at this location from 1921 until moving to the new Kress Building in November 1932.
1396 (was 260) – Badger Drugs operated here from 1905 until moving to 1437 Main in 1963 until 1968 . It did move within the building at one point from the right side to the corner location (see below from 1963) previously occupied by First National Bank.
1400 (was 300 to 308) – Located at Five Points (the intersection of Main, Pineapple and Central), the location of Fit2Run used to be a bank in the 1910's until 1933. It would then become Liggett Drugs from about 1938 to 1948 until moving up the street to 400 Main (renumbered to 1500 Main in 1953). Madison Drugs would take over this location until the late 50's when it was reacquired and became Liggett-Rexall Drugs until a fire badly damaged the building on April 1, 1979. The building was rebuilt in 1985 and was then called Kress International Plaza, consisting of several businesses. A major tenant here was Patrick's Restaurant on the first floor until moving to 1481 Main in 2011.
1401 – Plaza At Five Points occupies the area that used to be Palmer First National Bank and Trust Company of Sarasota from 1929 until acquired by Southeast Bank in 1976. Southeast became First Union in 1991 and the building was torn down in 1999 after being vacant for a few years.
1424 (was 314) – This used to be National Shirt Shops from November 1956 until 1973. Earlier, it was John Ringling Estates from 1926 to 1928, The Ann Shop from 1928 to 1934, The Bon Ton from 1934 to 1935, Baccus Liquor Store from 1935 to 1938 and Lerner Shops from about 1939 to 1955 (moved to 1428 Main St.).
1428 (was 318) – This used to be Cheap Clothes denim resale shop from about 1977 to 1983. It had previously been Lerner Shops from 1955 to about 1974 after moving from 1424 Main and replacing Nathan's Clothing, which had operated here since 1929.
1442 – (was 326 to 330) The historic Kress building used to be the S.H. Kress Company 5 and 10 store from November 30, 1932 until early 1974.
1445 (was 343) – Torn down in 1968 to be used for parking, this used to be Ritz Theater from December 1934 to December 1965. It opened as the Virginian theater in March 1916 and then became Sarasota Theater in April 1920 until the early 1930's.
1451 -1463 (was 351 to 359) – Since the late 70's after reconstruction, multiple businesses from 1451 to 1463 Main (see 1451 below) occupy the area that used to be Penney's (JC Penney) Department Store from 1934 until moving to Southgate Plaza in 1961 (later used as a warehouse until being torn down in 1976). Montgomery-Roberts was at part of this location as well (at 351 to 353 Main) from October 1936 until moving to N. Pineapple in December 1947 and Penney's, which had been at 357-359 Main, appears to have expanded into that spot.
1451 – Lotus Boutique (since 2003) used to be The Granary natural foods store from 1979 to 1996. In between, it was The Haven and Gold Fish Galleries.
1460 (was 346 to 352)- Now multiple businesses from 1460 to 1464 Main, this used to be McCrory's 5 and 10 store from 1923 to early 1992.
1472 (was 362 to 364) – Kennedy Studios used to be Delson's Shoes from 1940 to 1988. It had previously operated as Sarasota Dept. Store in the 1930's. and changed from a clothing store to a shoe store in August 1948.
1475 – Now combined and renumbered as 1471 Main and 1473 Main, this used to be Hanna's Import Gallery from 1975 to about 2000. It later became Wilson Galleries in 2002 and Angsana Sarasota in 2003 and was vacant by 2007 before being remodeled into the two stores. Earlier at this address (373 Main before 1953) before being torn down in 1974, was De Soto Hotel from about 1932 to 1961. It had previously been Weida Hotel.
1477 – Eleganza used to be a Hallmark Shop under various names, including Fans, Sher's, Inga's and Linda's from 1975 to about 2005. In between after a period of vacancy, it was Encore Home Entertainment Center. Earlier, this address (377 Main before 1953) was part of the first floor of the DeSoto Hotel building and was a restaurant under several different names from the mid 1920's to the mid 40's. It was then Young Colony until 1953, Casual Colony from 1954 to 1956, House of Records from 1957 to 1961, Early Bird Record Shop from about 1964 to 1966 and later used as an expansion of Shabot's Linens (1473 Main) from about 1968 until shortly before the building was torn down. Photo: Sarasota Coin and Stamp (1469 Main) Hanna's Import Gallery (1475) and Fan's Hallmark (1477) in 1978. The large building in the background is Southeast First National Bank of Sarasota at 1401 Main.
1481 – Patrick's 1481 Restaurant (since 2011) used to be Norton Camera Center from 1962 to 1997 when it was converted to a Wolf Camera store. It then became a Re/Max office in 2007 and Braza Brazilian Steakhouse in 2009. Before construction and Norton Camera, this was The Oleander Restaurant (earlier Oleander Ice Cream) from the mid-1930's to about 1960 and then briefly Charcoal Kitchen. By 1972, Norton had expanded into the area next door that was 1485 Main (previously Houpe's Shoes).
1488 – A. Parker's Book Bazaar (since 1980) used to be Mary Jane Shoes from 1958 to about 1973. It then became Sarasota Books from 1974 to 1975 and World of Books from 1975 to 1980 (see photo from 1976).
1490 – The Gator Club (since 1988) building dates back to 1912. A history of the building, including its early years as a grocery store can be found at the following link: Worth's Block (The Gator Club). Known as Corner Cigar Store by 1930, it was called Gator Cigar Store and Gator Bar and Grill by the mid 30's. For the next 50 years (other than Harmon's Liquors in 1938 and Jelel Corp Liquors in 1971), the name would vary between Gator Bar and Grill, Gator Cigar Store and Gator Bar.
1500 – Blue Mercury Spa at the corner of Main and Lemon used to be Ellie's Book & Stationary from 1972 to 1981, when the name was changed to The Downtown Store until about the late 90's. It then became a Burger King until about 2004. Earlier, it was Bay Drugs (Walgreen Agency) from 1940 to the late 40's, Liggett-Rexall Drugs from about the late 40's to 1960 and King Dollar Stores in the early 60's.
1509 – World Coin & Jewelry Exchange used to be The Surrey (women's clothing shop) beginning in November 1957 and operating all the way until January 1999. Prior to The Surrey, this was a shoe repair shop under various names, including Roth and Goodyear.
1516 (was 416) – Penzey's Spices used to be Town N' Country clothing from 1948 to the early 80's. It then became Wiley Office Equipment into the 90's.
1526 – Barnacle Bill's Seafood (since October 1999) used to be Le Croissant Restaurant from about 1983 to 1990. It then became Chez Sylvie Restaurant until the late 90's. Going way back to 1930, it was Cap's Market, before becoming Bullard's Bar and Package Store from the mid 1930's until about 1970. From 1970 until about 1983, it was Sammy Dee's, Don's Full Moon Tavern, Jerry's Jug & Jar Joint, Uncle Dale's Tavern and Sunday Monday's.
1527 – Main Street Kitchen used to be Jules Pawn Shop (aka Jewel's Pawn Shop at times) and/or Jule's Music Center (later Main Street Music) from 1955 into the early 00's. As seen below from the mid 70's, 1529 Main was used for a time by the pawn shop for display, while the music center was listed at 1527 Main. The pawn shop would later have its sole address again at 1527 Main by the mid 80's.
1531 – Campbell Cabinetry Designs used to be Helen's Book Store from about 1966 to 2009.
Photo – From the mid 70's left to right: Alterations Unlimited (1521 Main), Watch Hospital (1523), Jules Music Center (1527), Jules Pawn Shop (1529), Helen's Book Store (1531) and Family Finance (1535).
1537 – Wild Ginger Sushi & Asian Cuisine (since 2015) used to be The Cotton Shop from at least the early 50's to the mid 80's. Restaurants here from 1987 to 2015 included Far East Gourmet (opened in 1987), Golden Dragon (opened in 1992), Yume Sushi (moved across the street), The Famous Tavern and Top Sushi. Below: The Cotton Shop around 1980 during a parade on Main Street. Domestic Finance is to the left.
1540 (was 440) – Black Bird Home Gallery used to be Kickliter Bros. Hardware & Paint from the 1920's to the mid 1950's, when it became Home Hardware until the mid 1960's. From about 1969 to the mid 00's, it was Goodwill Industries (resale shop, also job center in 1997) and was later Phasion with Pashion beginning in 2006.
1545 (was 445) – Stakenborg Fine Art used to be Jules Surplus Store and Pawn Shop from 1953 to 1955 before moving to 1527 Main St. for over 40 years, Earlier in the 50's, this was Sarasota Loan Co. and Sarasota Pawn Shop.
1553 – C'est La Vie French Café and Bakery (since December 1997) used to be Molnar's Stamp & Coin Shop from about 1984 to the mid 90's.
1554 (was 452 to 454) – Evie's Tavern operates at the location that used to be Sarasota Hardware & Paint Co. from 1944 until late 2012 and rebuilt about two years after closing. From at least the early 1930's to early 1940's, it was B & B Sarasota Grocery Co.
1565 (was 477) – Torn down by 1980, this used to be Haverty's Furniture from December 1959 until moving to 4650 So. Tamiami Tr. in December 1969. Earlier, it was Woolard's Furniture in the 1920's to about 1930, Bert's Inc. Furniture from 1931 to 1953 and Barkus Furniture from 1953 to 1959. Photo: Haverty's Furniture in 1960.
1576 (was 470) – Lila Restaurant used to be The Bullet Hole from about 1965 to 2013 (moved to 330 S Orange Ave). It was previously Sarasota Camera Shop from the mid 40's to the early 60's.
1578 (was 472) – Pho Cali Restaurant (since 2005) used to be Dottie's Kosher Restaurant from 1965 to 1975 (this was earlier the address of Oasis Bar and Oasis Grill in the 50's). It became Phil's Steak & Hoagie from 1975 to 1981 and then Angie's Steak & Hoagie until the early-to-mid 90's. Restaurants here in the 90's and early 00's included Lunch Box Cafe, Kevin's Country Cafe, and Nha Trang on Main.
1592 – El Greco Cafe (since 1989) at the corner of Main and So. Orange used to be Mister Sandwich Restaurant from 1969 to 1972. It would then become Fatstuff Steaks of Philadelphia until late 1978. In the early 80's, it was Paddingtons Restaurant and then Royal Cafe from about 1983 to 1988.
1618 (was 516) – AgeVital Pharmacy, Research, and Wellness (since 2016) used to be Whitesides Appliances from 1947 to about 1986. It started as The San Juan Restaurant in 1926 and later became Standard Auto Parts from about 1933 until moving to State St. in 1942.
1644 – Coffee Carousel restaurant (since 1966) used to be Sarasota Carpet Fashions from about 1958 to 1960 and Sarasota Blue Print from 1960 to 1964.
1662 – Medway Realty used to be The Big Apple clothing from about 1970 to 1978. It then became The Shah Abbas Collection (carpets & rugs) from about 1980 to 1987. After that, it became American Speedy Printing Center.
Photo from about 1974 – Left to right: Avco Financial Services (1668 Main), Sonotone of Sarasota hearing aids (1666), Brewer's Barber Shop (1664), The Big Apple clothing (1662) and Coffee Cup restaurant (1660).
1679 – Courtesy Cleaners used to be a Gulf Service Station from at least the 1930's (possibly 1929 and later rebuilt) until the mid 60's. It was then Instant Ignition until the early 70's and later Senior Friendship Centers before becoming Main Street Cleaners from 1987 to about 2010.
1710 (was 700) – The former Sarasota County Visitor Center (2015 to 2017 before relocating to 1945 Fruitville Rd.) used to be a Firestone Store/Car Care Center from about 1950 all the way until 2014. In the 1940's, Carpet Golf (miniature golf and practice range) was at this location.
1783 (was 751)- At about where the SunTrust building sits today used to be location of the legendary Smack Drive-in restaurant (below) from about the late 30's or early 40's to 1959. The restaurant started in 1932 at was then 642 Main Street (corner of Main and Pine).
1801 (was 801) – Michael Saunders Real Estate (since the mid-to-late 80's) used to be the location of Saprito Bros. Fruit Company from late 1940 until 1976.
1802 (was 800) – Reese Chevron (since 1953 and still pumps your gas!) used to be Hamilton's Standard Service from at least the 1930's until the early 50's. Below: Reese Chevron in 2006.
1944 (was 934) – The Main Bar Sandwich Shop (since 1958) used to be The Main Bar going back at least to the mid-to-late 40's at what was then 469 Main St. and since the early-to-mid 50's at this location.
1962 – Now the Archibald Building, this used to be Main Bookshop from about 1987 until closing in May 2008.
1993 – Regal Hollywood Stadium 20 movie theatre (since 1997) is at the location that for many years was occupied by the Maas Brothers department store from October 1956 until March 1991. After being utilized by the International Marketplace in the early-to-mid 90's, the Maas Brothers building was torn down in 1996. Below: Maas Brothers Department Store in 1956.
2 – Marina Jack Restaurant (since 1968) used to be Marina-Mar Restaurant from 1963 to 1968.
Midnight Pass Road
5831 – Dolphin Bay condominiums (since 1998) were built where the popular Magic Moment Restaurant stood from late 1977 to 1991 and featured live magic shows for patrons while dining. Prior to that, several restaurants were here, starting with Chez Michel in March 1970. It then became Riley's Restaurant and Lounge in 1971, The Ivanhoe in mid-1972, The Key Club in 1974 (restaurant was remodeled and adjacent tennis club was built) and Marker 69 in 1976 until 1977.
6101 – Summer Cove condominiums (since 2007) were built where another popular Siesta Key restaurant, The Summerhouse operated from January 1976 to May 2005 (it was called The Greenhouse until 1979 and Anderson's Greenhouse until 1981). The restaurant building was used as a clubhouse in the new complex.
6400 – This used to be Surfrider Restaurant from about the early 70's to August 2002. The restaurant and adjacent Surfrider Motel were torn down shortly after to make way for Seagrove condominiums.
6631 – Miguel's Restaurant has operated here in Crescent Plaza since late 1983.
8875 – Turtles Restaurant on Little Sarasota Bay (since 1986) used to be the location in the 70's and early-to-mid 80's for businesses such as Ilkon Shipping Co. and Emcee Electronics.
9009 – This used to be Bill & Bea's Happyland Restaurant from 1951 until February 1966 when a fire demolished the building. The restaurant had been quickly rebuilt and opened in November 1959, just three months after an earlier fire had totally damaged the original building.
9105 – Ophelia's On The Bay Restaurant (since 1988) used to be Pirate's Galley Restaurant from April 1971 until the early-to-mid 80's, when it became La Maree French Seafood Restaurant until the mid-to-late 80's.
9122 – Now a condominium complex, this used to be the location of Happyland Seafood Restaurant (no affiliation to Bea & Bill's Happyland) from 1974 to 1978. It then became Charley B's Happylanding Restaurant & Marina from 1979 to the early 80's. After a short time as Van Gogh's Restaurant, it would become Chez Med Restaurant from 1983 to about the mid-to-late 90's.
1923 – This used to be Bucko's Office Furniture (earlier Bucko's Surplus Store, which was an Army-Navy surplus store) from 1959 until early 2018.
N Boulevard of the Presidents
1 – This used to be Lido Beach Service Station (Phillips 66, then Esso/Enco/Exxon) from about the mid 50's to the early 90's before being torn down. By the early 80's, the station was known as St. Armand's Exxon. Also, until the late 70's, the station's address was listed at 379 Harding Circle, however in 1953, McLeod's Standard Service was listed at this address. It would soon move to 481 John Ringling Blvd., where it would be known shortly thereafter as Saint Armand's Standard Service until the early-to-mid 80's.
13 – A group of retail shops now occupy the former location of the Tail O' The Pup Restaurant from November 1958 to the early 90's.
North Beneva Road (was Oriente Ave. until the early 80's)
501 (180) – The former Sweetbay Supermarket (2005 to 2013) in the Town and Country Plaza used to be a Grand Union (see photo)Supermarket from January 1979 to early 1984 when Grand Union sold their Florida stores. It then became a Kash N' Karry Supermarket from 1984 to 2005 until the conversion to Sweetbay. The store was torn down in August 2019 to build a new Publix Supermarket.
501 (260) – This started as Can't Miss clothing in 1979 and then became Tempo Fashions from the early-to-mid 80's to about the early 90's. It was later Learning Depot, which had been at units 520 and 560 (also 510) from about 1986 to the early 00's,.
501 (280) – Bealls Department Store (since 2000) in the Town and Country Plaza used to be a J.Byrons (later shortened to Byrons) Department Store from 1979 to 1996, then became Upton's until late 1999.
501 (400) – This used to be Fayva Shoes from 1979 to about the mid 90's.
501 (430) – Now torn down, this used to be a Dairy Queen from 1979 to about 2000. Photo: Here is all that remained of what used to be a Dairy Queen in this July 2019 photo during the demolition of a portion of Town and Country Plaza.
501 (510) – After starting as The Cornicopia gift shop in 1979, this became Video Movie Center from 1980 to 1989 (see photo from 1981). Learning Depot then expanded into this space.
501 (530) – This used to be Sean's Restaurant in the Town and Country Plaza from 1979 to about the mid 90's.
501 (636) – Torn down in 2019, and most recently the site of the Fraternal Order of Eagles, this used to be Sullivan's Irish Pub & Grill in the courtyard area of Town & Country Plaza from late 1988 to late 1998, when it became Casey's Courtyard Bar and Grill. It would later switch to Balantine's Courtyard Bar and Grill in 2001 and HammerHead Red's Sports Tavern & Grill in 2003 for at least a couple of years. It started out as The Port Hole Restaurant in 1979 and was also The Things You Like Fashions (early-to-mid 80's), Court Yard East (mid 80's) and Trevino's Mexican Restaurant from about 1986 to 1988 after moving from its well-known location on Honore Ave. Photo: The former site of Sullivan's, Trevino's and many more as it looked in 2015.
501 (800) – Big Lots (opened February 2019) in the Town and Country Plaza used to be a Kmart Department Store that opened in November 1978 and operated all the way until a round of Sears/Kmart store closings shuttered the store in March 2017.
935 (101) – Publix Supermarket has been operating at this location at the Sarasota Commons plaza since November 1980.
935 (501) – Around The Clock Fitness used to be a Bealls Department Store from November 1980 until moving to the Town & Country Plaza in early 2000. It would become a fitness center (Southside Athletic Club) by the end of the year 2000. It would later become Lifestyle Family Fitness and then L.A. Fitness.
935 (601)- The restaurant with the rotating buffet in the center of the Sarasota Commons plaza from the fall of 1980 to the mid-to-late 80's was Duff's Smorgasbord. Later restaurants here included Runways Bar & Grill (opened in early 1995), Beef O'Brady's (mid-to-late 90's to mid 00's), Findaddy's Sports Bar and Tin Fish.
935 (801) – USPS (since 1998) at the Sarasota Commons plaza used to be Luria's catalog store from November 1980 to early 1997.
1199 – Wells Fargo Bank opened as Flagship National Bank of Sarasota County in September 1981. It became a Sun Bank by 1986.
North Cattlemen Road
351 – Gecko's Grill & Pub (since 2014) used to be Johnny Leverock's Seafood House (opened in early 2000). It later became R.J. Gator's Sea Grill & Bar in 2006, Talegator's Restautant in 2008 and Trader Vic's Island Bar & Grill in early 2010 until 2013.
North Honore Avenue
1701 – Goodwill Industries (since late 2006) used to be a Food Lion supermarket (opened in 1991) before being converted to Kash N Karry around 1998 or 1999 and lasting until early 2004. Photo 1: Kash N Karry in January 2004. Photo 2: Accompanying Kash N' Karry sign that was still standing in front of the building in 2014, ten years after the store closed and then became a Goodwill store in 2006.
North Lemon Avenue
1 – Mattison's City Grille (since 2003) is at the location that used to be Main Street Depot from July 1988 to July 1998.
North Lime Avenue
110 – Sarasota Discount Pharmacy in the Colonial Village Shopping Center was once a Terry Shulman's, described as a health, beauty aid, cosmetic and vitamin store by the Sarasota Journal, from 1978 to the mid 80's (pictured below in 1978). Below: Terry Shulman's in Colonial Plaza in 1978.
180 – The former Silver Star Restaurant (1981 or early 1982 until April 2019-will move to a new location) used to be a Carvel Ice Cream store from September 1971 to 1980.
200 – Save A Lot (since the 90's) in the Colonial Village Shopping Center used to be an A & P supermarket from August 1963 until 1978. It then became Great Scot (February 1979 to 1981) and Foodway (1981-1982) supermarkets. It was also Footware House in the mid 80's. Below: A & P Supermarket in the mid 60's.
240 – Family Dollar (since the mid 90's) in the Colonial Village Shopping Center used to be an Eagle Army-Navy Discount Store from the mid 60's to the mid 80's. It then became a Dollar General store until the mid 90's.
243 – The former Angers Garden Deli (1978 to 2016) used to be Thayer's Grocery from 1952 to 1962. In between, it was Hedges Prescription Shop.
North Lockwood Ridge Road
1590 – Super Matt Laundromat used to be a 7-Eleven convenience store from 1961 to the mid-to-late 70's. It later became a Quick Stop store from the early 80's into the 90's.
1707 – Sam's Auto Repair Service started as Sam's Amoco Service in November 1959 and continued all the way until about 2005 (was converted to BP in the early-to-mid 00's). Prior to Sam's, it was A & J Amoco.
3700 – Lockwood Tobacco Beer & Grocery used to be a Li'l General Food Store from the late 60's to the mid-to-late 80's, Prior to that, it was Chaney's Grocery in the mid 50's, Noel's Grocery from the mid-to-late 50's to early-to-mid 60's and Three Suns Grocery from the mid-to-late 60's.
4123 – Gulf Coast Cremations used to be Grays Grocery (with Esso/Enco gas pumps) from 1955 to 1972. After that, it was Jax Market until the mid-to-late 70's, Toni's Game Room in the late 70's, Aunt Bea's Furniture during a good part of the 80's and Strategic Systems in the 90's.
6224 – Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers (since 2015) used to be a KFC Restaurant from about 1994 to 2014.
8415 – Floor & Décor (since 2013) used to be an Albertson's Market from 2000 to 2012.
North Orange Avenue
29 – First Professional Building used to be an A & P Supermarket from about the early-to-mid 40's to 1961. It was later Kerr's Tradition House furniture store from October 1962 until the mid-to-late 70's.
130 – Boca Bargoons (since early 00's) used to be DeSears Appliances from the late 50's for about 40 years.
N Pineapple Avenue
25 – The former Golden Apple Dinner Theater (1971 to 2013) used to be Morrison's Cafeteria from February 1948 until about 1970. Photo: Morisson's Cafeteria from 1960. Credit: Sarasota News
42 – Several restaurants passed through here over the years with the most notable being Smitty's Beefeaters Room from about the end of 1961 until 1969. Some of the others included: The Hofbrau (October 1953 to 1957), Carr's Sherwood Inn (opened in October 1957), Ray Johnson's Polynesian Village (December 1959 until 1961), Flame Restaurant (February 1970 until 1971), The Wooden Nickel (October 1971 until 1972), The Dry Dock (October 1972 to 1975 or 1976), The Point (opened July 1976), Maxim's of St. Croix (1977 to the late 70's) and Rocky's (early 80's to early-to-mid 80's). Even earlier, it may have also been Chuck Wagon and Dolphin Inn in the late 40's and early 50's. After 1983, it is a bit of mystery as there are a lot of vacant listings here until being torn down around the 90's.
43 (was 131 before 1953) – The Pavilion building of the Sarasota Opera House (since 1996) used to be a Montgomery-Roberts department store from December 1947 to May 1976. In the early 40's, it was Gulf State Motors and then Fenne-Howard Motors before being remodeled into a department store.
61 – The Sarasota Opera House (opened in January 1984 as The Sarasota Theatre of the Arts) used to be the Florida Theatre (seen below) from 1936 to 1973. It was called Edwards Theater from 1926 to 1936.
North Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41)
1 – la Vue Condos (since 2016) used to be the location of a Denny's Restaurant from the mid-to-late 80's to early-to-mid 00's (torn down in 2014). It was built as a Ranch House restaurant in the early 70's, becoming Roadway Inn in the 80's and then Indiana Joe's Restaurant in the mid 80's. The adjacent motel built at the same time was also Ranch House (See below) , and later Palmer House (late 70's) Roadway Inn (early-to-mid 80's) and Holiday Inn Downtown (mid 80's to early 00's) before being torn down.
111 – This was the site of the John Ringling Towers (opened in 1926 as the El Vernona Hotel). It was known as John Ringling Hotel until being converted into an apartment complex in 1964, then becoming vacant around the early 80's. Despite major restoration efforts, the building was torn down in 1998 to make way for the Ritz-Carlton Hotel (opened in 2001). Below: John Ringling Towers.
202 – Embassy Suites Hotel was built on the former site of what started as Sarasota Flower Shop from the mid 50's to the late 50's and then became Colonial Flowers & Gifts from the early 60's to the early 90's. From there, it was Flowers and Balloons Above Sarasota and later One Palm sales office in 2007 and Lube Of Sarasota in the early-to-mid 2010's before being torn down.
204 – This used to be Lamplighter Shop from late 1956 (moved from 1564 Main St.) to about the mid 00's. It was also torn down to build the hotel.
211 – Joey D's Chicago Style Eatery & Pizzeria used to be a Standard Service Station (converted to Chevron in the 70's) from about the 1930's until the early-to-mid 80's.
231 – This used to be Cutler's Garage (later Cutler Motors before moving to 307 N. Tamiami Tr.) from the 1940's to the mid-to-late 50's. It then became a Gulf Service Station (J.S. Holt Gulf, Cowley's Gulf from the early-to-mid 60's to the mid-to-late 70's and North Trail Gulf) from 1958 to the mid 80's. Later at this location in the 90's after being rebuilt was Wings Beachwear and then Splash Sun & Fun in the early-to-mid 00's before being torn down in 2006.
270 – This used to be Sarasota Travelodge Motel from the early 60's to the late 80's. It then became Suncoast Inn until the late 90's and Quayside Inn until the building was torn down in 2005.
307 – This used to be Cutler Motors from the mid-to-late 50's to the late 60's. Adcorp Inc. was later at this location before being torn down by the mid 80's.
315 – Torn down by the mid 80's, this used to be a Dobbs House Snack Bar Restaurant from the early-to-mid 60's until being converted to a Steak N' Eggs Kitchen around the mid 70's to the early-to-mid 80's.
325 – This used to be The Driftwood Motel from the early-to-mid 50's until being torn down in 1983 to build Sarasota Quay.
400 – This building used to be Normandy Motel from the mid 50's to about the mid 00's.
714 – Prior to being torn down, this used to be LaSalle Motel from the early-to-mid 60's to the mid-to-late 80's. From the early-to-mid 50's to the early 60's, it was called LaLinda Motel.
734 – This used to be Hill Top Motel (earlier Hill Top Hotel) from about the early-to-mid 40's to the early-to-mid 70's, when it became Hill Top Senior Residence until the mid-to-late 80's before being torn down.
777 – Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall (since January 1970) was originally called The Lewis and Eugenia Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall.
838 – The Players Centre for Performing Arts, long known as The Players Theatre opened here in 1936 (rebuilt in the early 70's). The 2018 season is slated to be the last at this location. Below: The Players Theatre in 1966.
1012 – Sunoco (since the mid 00's) used to be an Imperial Oil service station from about 1940 until about 1983. It then became Checker Oil, Ecol (mid 80's to mid 90's) and Speedway. There was also a Dixie Burger Restaurant here at the Imperial Station from late 1957 to the early 70's. Below: The Imperial Service Station sign in 1967 along with Dixie Burger Restaurant and Broadway Bar in the background.
1015 – This used to be Henry's Steak House (and Smuggler's Cove Bar) from 1952 until closing after a fire in 1968.
1032 – This used to be Buchman Motors from 1957 until moving to 4501 S. Tamiami Tr. in 1965. In the early-to-mid 50's, it was Peerless Trailer.
1044 – Publix (since 2006) and condominiums were built on the site of the Broadway Bar, which had operated at this location for many, many years (records show as far back as 1925) until 2004. It was rebuilt in 1956 after the original building was moved due to the widening of No. Tamiami Tr..
1603 – Wicked Cantina Restaurant (since 2017) used to be Jon's Restaurant in the early-to mid 50's. After that in the 50's, it was Lee's Steak House, The Salad Bowl and Motel Restaurant. Don's Restaurant started out the 60's here and then finally some stability would arrive, as Barr's Restaurant operated at this location from the early-to-mid 60's to the mid 70's. After that, it was Dee's Restaurant in the late 70's and early 80's, then Dos Amigos in the early-to-mid 80's and Chef Paul's Friendly Inn finished out the last part of the decade and continued to the mid 90's. From there, it became Cuoco Matto Restaurant until 2004. Since then, it has been Villa Francesco, DeLeo's Ristorante, Teddie's Place, Aristo and El Pescador.
1701 – This used to be Royal Palms Motel from the early 50's until being torn down in 2003. It was known as Best Western Royal Palms Motel from the late 80's onward.
1750 – Sunshine Inn & Suites used to be Twin Motel from the early 50's into the 00's.
1777 – Subway Restaurant (since the late 90's) used to be Denner Dogs Restaurant from March 1977 to the mid 90's.
1803 – La Quinta Inn & Suites (since 2006) used to be the location of the Captain's Table Restaurant from 1964 to early 1975. It then became the Lanai Restaurant from March 1975 until the mid 80's. From that time until about 1990, it was Far East 41 and then Primo! Restaurant before moving up the street. It would soon be rebuilt as Wellesley Inn of Sarasota in the early 90's.until 2006. Before Captain's Table, Candy Cane Kindergarten was here from the early 60's until 1964.
2524 – A Shell service station stood in this location for well over 50 years before being torn down in 2007. Names included Odgen Super Service, Newman's Shell Service and Bradshaw's Shell Service. Below: A Shell station shown 50 years apart (1956 and 2006) at the intersection of N. Tamiami Tr. and 27th St. (now Dr. Martin Luther King Way).
2700 – Tail O' The Pup Restaurant once occupied the northeast corner of North Tamiami Trail and what is now Dr. Martin Luther King Way from about the early 50's to the late 50's before moving to 13 N. Boulevard of Presidents. From November 1959 to the mid 60's, the restaurant changed from 7 Steers (before moving up the street in October 1962) to Circle Seven to Lobster Inn. After that, the property was purchased by Ringling School of Art & Design (now Ringling College of Art & Design) and the old restaurant was used as the Ringling Student Sales Gallery from about the late 60's to the mid 70's. The Ann & Alfred Goldstein Center at Ringling is the building that is now the closest to the intersection.
2719 – The former Sarasota Tattoo (2004 until shortly before the building was torn down in 2008) used to be Idle Hour tavern from about 1953 to 1972. It later became Good Earth health food store from 1974 until almost to the end of the decade and then Frank's Barber Shop for most of the 80's.
2808 – The former Burger King operated at this location from 1966 until closing over 50 years later in September 2019. The original building was torn down and rebuilt in 1981. Before Burger King arrived, Dairy Kreme Ice Cream and Scoop-Burger of Sarasota (opened in 1954) were here in the 50's and Dutch Treat Restaurant (opened in 1959) and Tic Toc Restaurant (opened by 1964) in the first half of the 60's.
2901 – The former Le Anh's Vienamese Restaurant used to be a Pizza Hut Restaurant from 1975 to 2009. In between, it was Charity Thrift Store.
3011 – The area now used for parking, this used to be White Studios ceramics from about 1956 to 1973 and then briefly listed as Ceramics By George. It became Far East Imports Gift Shop in 1976 until the early-to mid 90's and was torn down by the mid 90's.
3020 – A Twistee Treat ice cream stand operated here for about 20 years until the mid 00's. Below: Twistee Treat
3025 – The former Carr's Corner Restaurant (2002 to 2016) used to be Mister Sandwich Restaurant from 1968 to the early-to-mid 80's. It was built in 1958 as Quaker Maid Dinette and shortened to The Dinette in the 60's. Other businesses here after Mister Sandwich have included Battle's Bar-B-Que (mid 80's), Willybob's Bar-B-Que (mid-to-late 80's), Pinch-A-Penny Pool Supplies(late 80's), Corner Pantry (early 90's), Froggy's Healthy Fast Food (early-to-mid 90's), Gators Grille (opened in 1996) and Chicago Italian Beef Sandwich Co.(opened in 1999).
3105 – Exotic Nails (since 2014) used to be a 7-Eleven convenience store from about 1976 to 1992. It then became a Goodwill until the early-to-mid 2010's.
3201 – The former BB&T Bank first opened as Sarasota Federal Savings & Loan in September 1969. It was changed to Coast Federal Savings & Loan (later Coast Bank) in 1972 until being converted to SunBank in 1993 and then SunTrust Bank in 1995. It later became Republic Bank in the early-to-mid 00's.
3232 – The former Yummy House Restaurant (since late 2012 and moved to 1737 S, Tamiami Tr, in May 2018) was originally listed as Sandy's Family Restaurant (briefly) in 1983 before becoming Florida Family Medical Walk-In Clinic from the mid-to-late 80's. By the early-to-mid 90's, it would become Rent-A-Center and later Serendipity Gallery in 2003 until transitioning back into a restaurant as Prime Rib A Go-Go in the mid 00's. It later became Porkies BBQ in 2007 and then Wild Hog Barbecue in late 2009.
3333 (10) – The former Good For All Flea Market in the Trail Plaza used to be a Publix Supermarket (see photo) from 1966 to 1996. It then became Community Market until 1997 and a Goodwill Store until moving up the street in 2012.
3333 (50) – The former NY Connection (moved within the plaza) used to be Eckerd Drugs from 1966 to 1998 before moving to a new location up the street at 3709 N. Tamiami Tr. (now CVS).
3333 (60) – The former Dollar General (mid 80's to 2014) in Trail Plaza used to be an Eagle Army-Navy Discount Store from 1966 (see photo) to the mid 80's.
3333 (70) – This used to be Adams & Houser Hardware from 1966 to about 1989 when it became Video Library.
3333 (110) – This used to be Dipper Dan Ice Cream Shoppe from the opening of the Trail Plaza in 1966 through the 70's. It then became Dipper Delight Ice Cream Shoppe for most of the 80's.
3333 (130) – Before being split off into units 130A and 130B in the mid 70's, this used to be Super 5 & 10 store from 1966 to 1969. It then became McCrory's Variety Store and later National Fabrics from 1971 to 1975.
3333 (160) – The former McCurdy's Comedy Theater (2001 to 2014 before moving to 1923 Ringling Blvd.) used to be Teatro Theatre from January 1970 to July 1993. Below: The cost to purchase a ticket to watch a second-run movie at Teatro Theatre was only 99 cents in the late 80's.
3432 – Kwik Stop convenience store (since the early-to-mid 90's) used to be a 7-Eleven store from the early-to-mid 60's until the early-to-mid 90's.
3500 – Walmart Neighborhood Market (since 2012) used to be a Winn Dixie Supermarket (Kwik Chek until the 70's) from 1957 to 2010 and renovated in late 1984 and again in 1996.
3520 – The area now occupied by Walmart and formerly located in a plaza next to Winn Dixie before that store was renovated, this used to be Oney's Five & Ten store from 1957 to the early-to-mid 80's.
3530 – Located in the plaza mentioned above, this used to be Pic'N'Pay Drugs from 1957 to the late 80's. It was also Buddy Bi-Rite rentals in the early 90's.
3709 – CVS Pharmacy (built as Eckerd Drugs in 1998) used to be the location that started as 7 Steers Restaurant (see photo below) in October 1962. It was then renamed as Angus Inn Restaurant from October 1963 until changing to Cook's Chick'n Beef in May 1969. It then became Garden Gate Restaurant (1971 to 1972), JW's Family Restaurant (1973 to 1974), Mac's Restaurant (1974 to 1975), and Adami's Restaurant from 1976 to the late 80's. Until being torn down, it was also Grapevine Steak & Seafood, Jerry's Airport Catering, Backstreet Pub and G. Willikers.
3728 – Lock Man Locksmith (since the early-to-mid 2010's) used to be Mamma Onesti Italian Restaurant (also called Casa Onesti) from about 1984 to 2005. It then became Marko's Grill and was later American Kitchen and Pizzeria starting in 2007. Prior to that, restaurants included The Lantern Drive-In (late 40's to 1954), The Pilot House (1955 to 1956), The Lantern Restaurant (1957 to 1959), Golden Chicken (August 1959 until renamed to BeMent's Chick-Inn later in the year for a few weeks), Good's Chick-Inn (early 1960 to 1963), Seven Seas (late 1964 to late 1965), Cook's Chick-Inn (late 1965 to 1969), Dawn Donuts (early 70's) Iron Gate (early 1975 to 1976) and Nino's (April 1977 to 1984).
3808 – East West College of Natural Medicine (since 2003) used to be Brenton Reef Restaurant from 1986 to 1996. The restaurant featured a boat-shaped salad bar and 300-gallon fish tanks. Before the restaurant was built, Lafayette Court was at this location from at least the late 40's until the early-to-mid 80's.
4021 – Cadillac Motel has been operating here going all the way back to 1955.
4108 – Sun Dial Motor Inn (since 1973, earlier known as Sundial Motel) used to be Holiday Motel from 1949 to about 1972.
4195 – Kasa Sushi Japanese Restaurant (since 2016) used to be a Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant from 1969 to about the mid 00's. Since then, it has also been Gold Dynasty and Queen of Sheba restaurants.
4200 – Regency Inn & Suites used to be Rainbow Motel from at least the early 50's until the mid-to-late 60's, when it became Rainbow Motor Lodge until about the mid 90's.
4211 – Torn down around 2012, this used to be Mari's House Of Pancakes (known for having nearly everything pink including their pancakes!) from about 1962 until becoming Hazel's Restaurant in early 1972 and then continuing for the rest of the decade. Earlier, it had been Walker's Restaurant and The Surf in the 50's and Royal Pancake Parlor in the early 60's. Later it was Paragon Music Center from the early-to mid 80's to the mid 90's and then Pleasures II.
4229 – Sea Breeze Inn (since about 1995) used to be Royal Motel (aka Motel Royal ) from 1958 to 1995. It first opened in 1954 as Lee-Etta Motel.
4309 – Super 8 Motel (since the mid-to-late 90's) used to be Scottish Inns Motel from about 1987 to the mid 90's.
4520 – Earlier known as Jacaranda Motel beginning in 1952 and changing to Pink Cloud Motel by 1955, this motel operated until about 1987 and was then torn down by the late 80's. Photo Credit for below two photos: I grew up in Venice FL.
4644 – This used to be the location of Sunset Terrace Motel (and Apartments) from 1949 until about the early-to-mid-00's). It was then torn down, although the motel's sign still stood until about the late 00's.
4675 – The Bahi Hut Lounge, part of the Golden Host Resort Hotel opened in 1954 (per their website). The hotel itself opened in January 1959.
4685 – The Mel-O-Dee Restaurant operated here from 1955 until about the mid 00's. Below:
Postcard of the Mel-O-Dee restaurant
4900 – Oakridge Apartments (since 2015) and Sunnyside Café used to be Days Inn from late 1978 until about 2013. In between, it was Sarasota Airport Hotel.
5000 – Days Inn (since late 2014) used to be Hampton Inn from February 1987 to about the mid 00's, when it became Comfort Inn. In the early-to-mid 2010's, it was Rodeway Inn.
5050 – Barnacle Bill's Seafood Restaurant & Market (since 2001) used to be the Mecca Restaurant and Supper Club (opened in 1957) and then the Golden Buddah Restaurant from 1968 to the early 90's. It was also the Sai Woo restaurant from 1990 to 2000. Foto: Golden Buddah Restaurant
5100 – Goodwill Industries (built in 2012 at 5150 N. Tamiami Tr.) is at the location that was the home of the Old Hickory Restaurant from 1949 to 2005. It then became Witness Café and was torn down shortly before being rebuilt.
5500 – Sarasota Classic Car Museum has been at this location since 1953. Originally known as Horn's Cars of Yesterday, the name was changed to Bellm's Cars of Yesterday (later Bellm's Cars and Music of Yesterday) in 1967 until changing to its current name in 1998.
6000 – This has been Airport Shell service station since 1969. Previously at this address in the 60's was Frank Smith Construction & Flying S Ranch.
6101 – Now part of New College, this was the location of the popular Zinn's Restaurant for at least 45 years until closing on New Years' Eve 1986. The restaurant included the Waterfall and Raingarden rooms. Below: Zinn's Restaurant
6255 – The Circus Hall of Fame operated here from January 1956 to May 1980.
6301 – The Campus Bookshop for USF Sarasota-Manatee & New College used to be a Howard Johnson's Restaurant from about the late 50's to the early-to-mid 80's. It was then the Patti Cake Restaurant in the mid 80's.
6325 – The accompanying motel to the above restaurant was a Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge from about 1959 to 1983, when it became Viking Motor Lodge for the next few years. By 1990, it was also part of USF,
7802 (was 7558) – Scott's Auto Repair used to be Scott's Gulf Service from 1960 until changing to Scott's Mobil in the 80's. It later became Scott's Marathon. Earlier, it was Whitfield Gulf from 1950 to about 1957 when it became Linn's Gulf.
7805 (was 7546) – Located diagonally across from Scott's Gulf Service (Scott's Auto Repair today) and now just trees and bushes outside Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport, this used to be Sal's Italian Restaurant from the late 50's to at least December 1972 before becoming vacant for a couple of years and disappearing shortly after. Before Sal's, it was Ballard's Seafood Restaurant (opened about 1953), John's Bar & Grill and then Remo's Fine Foods.
7942 (was 7311) – The former Plants & Treasures (2012 to 2017) used to be a Self Service Shoe Store from February 1958 all the way until about 1990. It had previously been Young's Furniture from at least 1950 to 1957 and later became Realty Trac in the mid 90's and Clearwater Mattress in the 00's.
7984 (was 7201) – S & S Discount Beverage used to be Simple Sam grocery store (opened in July 1960). By 1964, it had become Cracker Barrel grocery store, which operated until about the mid-to-late 90's.
7971 (was 7230) – Jo-To Japanese Steakhouse (since late 1982) used to be Renfer's Restaurant in the 50's, It was later Fountain Lounge (early-to-mid 60's), New England Oyster House (mid 60's to mid 70's) and Flying Dutchman Restaurant (mid 70's to early 80's).
8071 (was 7102) – Deluxe Inn (since late 1992) used to be Romaine Motel in the 50's to the early 60's and Forty-One Motel (a.k.a. 41 Motel) from the early 60's to late 1992.
8076 (was 7113) – Primo! Ristorante (since 1990) used to be The Golden Buddah Restaurant from March 1956 to the late 60's after earlier being Le Chateau Restaurant from 1954 to February 1956. It was later Ruston's Family Affair Restaurant & Steakhouse (late 60's to early 70's), Beef & Bottle (1972 to 1978), Friar Tucks (1979 to 1980), Rudy Rosa's Organ Grinder Supper Club (early 80's) and People's Restaurant and Lounge (early to mid-to-late 80's). Below: Golden Buddah Restaurant at what was then 7113 N. Tamiami Tr.
8154 (was 7007) – Bayside Pet Resort used to be Rip Van Winkle Bowladrome Lanes beginning in August 1958 and operating all the way until 2004. In between, it was BP Group Aviation.
8164 (was 6999) – McDonald's has been at this location since the mid-to-late 70's.
8184 (was 6969) – This used to be Lionel Train & Sea Shell Museum from early 1977 until about the early 90's. Later in the 90's, it was Jerry's Catering.
8270 (was 6831) – The Hilton Garden Inn (since late 2001) was built on the site of the Trail Drive-In outdoor movie theater (operated from 1949 to 1988).
8301 (was 6770) – A few of the many hangars offered to businesses by the SRQ Airport now occupy the site of the Three-O-Six Bomb Group restaurant, which operated from 1981 to 1993.
8490 (was 6401) – The former Automaxx used to be Trail National Bank from 1962 until moving to Trail Plaza in early 1973 (see photo below from 1972). It then became Greyhound Rent-A-Car by the mid 70's and Value Rent-A-Car by the mid 80's into the 90's.
North Tuttle Avenue
2 – Sarasota MRI (originally Dimension Imagining since 2003) used to be the popular House Of Chong restaurant from October 1960 until moving to S. Tamiami Trail in September 1977. The house portion of the building was torn down in early 1981 to make way for new construction. Prior to House Of Chong from 1951 to 1960 and again briefly after in late 1977 and 1978, it was the circus-themed Casa Canestrelli Restraurant. It then became Charlie's Po Boys Bar-B-Que later in 1978 until 1979. Below: House Of Chong
North Washington Boulevard (U.S. Route 301)
402 – Two Amigos Restaurant (since 1996) used to be Butler TV from the mid 50's to mid-to-late 60's, It then became White-Elna Sewing Center from the late 60's to early-to-mid 80's. In the mid 80's, it would turn into Razzle Dazzle Deli until the early 90's. It was also Lunchtime Deli and Williams Game Room in the 90's.
412 – El Nuevo Amanecer used to be Walt's Fish Market from 1967 until moving to 560 N. Washington in 1971. It then became Tummy Pleezer baked goods in 1972.
560 – Walt's Plaza (since 2000) used to be the site of Walt's Seafood and Fish Market (see photo) from 1971 (moved from 412 N. Washington) to 1999.
820 – Popeye's Louisiana Kitchen has been in this location since about the early-to-mid 80's.
918 – Gyros and Seafood (since 2009) used to be a KFC restaurant from about the late 90's to mid 00's.
1000 – Answer America (since early-to-mid 90's) used to be a Lil' General food store (early 70's to 1984), then Circle K (1984 to late 80's). In the late 60's, it was called Three Suns Food Stores.
1028 – This started as Spinale's Sandwich Shop in the mid 60's and then became Vitale's Sandwich Shop from about 1970 to 1983. From the mid 80's to the early 90's, it was Tropical Ice (ice cream and frozen desserts). It has been primarily vacant or part of adjacent businesses ever since.
1068 – Mi Tierra Restaurant (since about the early 00's) used to be Lester's Diner from the early 60's to the early-to-mid 80's when it became John's Diner. It was also Country Hearth later in the 80's. In the 90's, it was Subs and More, and then Taco Casa.
1095 – This used to be Mr. Dee's Restaurant from 1968 to about 1984. Earlier, it was Heitel Jewelers starting in May 1965.
1120 – America's Super Pawn used to be Tucker's Exxon Station from the early 70's to mid 80's. Other businesses here included Electro Bake auto painting (late 80's), Little Fiberglass Shop and American Legend Cycles.
1158 – A small plaza sits today at the site of the popular Oberlin's Diner (shown below) from 1971 to about the early 00's. Prior to Oberlin's it was Russo's Diner beginning in May 1964.
1199 – This has been an International House of Pancakes (IHOP) restaurant since being built in 1980.
1206 – A Gulf service station operated here at the northeast corner of N. Washington and 12th Street from 1956 (see below) until the mid 80's. It was then converted to Union 76 until the early 90's and torn down not too long after that.
1627 – Wendy's Restaurant has operated at this location since about 1986.
1701 – A Sarasota institution for over 60 years, the Hob Nob Drive-In Restaurant opened in March 1957. The restaurant was closed for a few weeks for renovations in 2013, but still retained its look and feel. Photo: Hob Nob is seen here in the 1960's.
1828 – Prime Motors used to be a Site Service Station from the early-to-mid 60's to the mid-to-late 80's. It then became Calendar Cars in the 90's and there have been various other businesses operating mainly as automobile dealers over the years.
1860 – Yoder Auto Sales opened in September 1961 as United Tire & Service.
4050 – A seven-unit plaza now operates at the former location of 301 Raceway (featured go-kart racing and video game room) from about the mid-to-late 70's to the early-to-mid 90's. Also here at the raceway was the Flame Pit Restaurant.
5045 – Kane's Furniture used to be Savon Furniture from 1958 to 2014. The store was actually acquired by Kane's in the late 70's, but operated under the Savon name until after the unaffiliated Kane's Furniture in Sarasota changed to Kalin's in 2013.
5445 – Public Storage used to be the Crown House Restaurant (and Duck Inn) from August 1973 through the early 90's. Earlier, it was also Holiday House (late 1954 to late 50's), Morrison's Imperial House (late 1958 to late 60's), Buresh's Lobster House (opened in 1969 until early 1971) and Jerry's Seafood House (1971 to 1972).
6051 – Exclusive Kitchens & More (since the early-to-mid 2010's) used the be The Sawmill (not the restaurant, but a furniture store) in the early and mid 70's, Some of the many businesses here over the years since The Sawmill include Gaines Appliances, Florida Builders Supply, GTE Communications Corp. and Gold Rush Internet Café.
Ocean Boulevard (Siesta Key)
5023 – The Old Salty Dog Restaurant (since the mid-to-late 80's) used to be Mustard's Last Stand Restaurant from the early-to-mid 80's. It was earlier Super Sub Shop in the late 70's.
5041 – Circle K/Shell used to be Village Texaco (later Siesta Village Texaco) from 1967 to about the early 90's. Earlier it was McLeod's Standard Service from 1960 to 1963 and Cort's Texaco from 1963 to 1967.
5133 – Village Café Restaurant (since 1995) used to be The Buttery Restaurant from 1970 to the mid 90's.
5151 – In 2017, The Beach Club (opened in 1947) celebrated it's 70th anniversary at this same location!
5201 – Now a part of Beach Bazaar as the Swim Shack, this used to be a service station starting with Bob's Friendly Service (Sinclair station) in July 1957. It remained as a Sinclair station under various names until converting to BP in 1970. By 1973, it became Siesta Key Exxon, changing to Village Exxon in 1975 and then back to Siesta Key Exxon from 1985 to about 1990. After that, it was Siesta Dash-In Dash-Out (first as Union 76 and then Citgo by the mid 90's) until about 1999.
5208 – Big Olaf Creamery (since early-to-mid 80's) used to be both Siesta Key Jewelers (1972 to early 80's) and Siesta Barber Shop (pre-1960 to early-to-mid 80's listed at 5210 Ocean Blvd). Below: Prior to 1982, Siesta Barber Shop and Siesta Key Jewelers shared the space that is now Big Olaf Creamery.
5211 – Beach Bazaar (since mid 80's) used to be Petticoat House clothing store in the 50's until the early-to-mid 80's.
5218 – The former Jo-To Japanese Restaurant (early 00's to 2017) used to be The Wildflower Restaurant from 1974 to 1998.
5232 – Sandal Factory (since 2017 after renovations to the building) used to be a 7-Eleven convenience store from 1972 to January 2016.
5242 – Gidget's Coastal Provisions (since 2014) was built on the location that used to be Napoli's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria for about 30 years before being torn down in 2013 and moving to a new location down the street (5200 Ocean). Prior to Napoli's, a real estate office operated here for at least 25 years.
5250 – Daiquiri Deck (since 1993) used to be Anna's Delicatessen from about 1971 to 1979 after being converted from a two-story wooden house and Café Gardens in the 80's and early-to-mid 90's.
Below:Anna's Delicatessen and Café Gardens
5430 – This has been Albritton Fruit's grove store since 1947. It is slated to close in 2018.
1927 (Charles Ringling Building) – Sarasota Sky Bar & Club (since 2016) is at the address (though not exactly at the same spot in the building) that used to be the popular Bifano's Italian Restaurant from 1958 to 1974. New owners then changed the name to The Outside Inn during 1974 and operated until 1976. Behold The Turtle Lounge (affiliated with The Outside Inn) at 1941 Ringling in the same building was then renumbered as 1927 Ringling and operated for the rest of the 70's. The 80's saw Playground South and Animal House until the early 90's when it turned into Club Wave for a short time. At about 1993, it became Bumper's Nightclub until 1999. It would then become Margarita Maggie's a few weeks later in 1999 until 2003, turning into Club Envy. It was later The Rhythm Nightclub & Bassline Lounge, The Venue at 1927, Froggy’s and currently Sarasota Sky & Bar Club. This building dates back to 1926 when one of the first tenants was Saunders Grocery (along with Triangle Drug Store). Barth's Pure Food Store replaced Saunders Grocery in this building from about 1930 to 1953, although at 141 Ringling, it may have been in the spot of the building that became 1941 Ringling during the Sarasota street naming and numbering change that occurred around May 1953. From January 1957 to mid-to-late 1958, Sal's Restaurant preceded Bifano's here at 1927 Ringling. Below: Credit-You know you're from Sarasota if …
1941 – Also part of the Charles Ringling Building, this used to be The Bargain Store from July 1953 to the late 50's. It then became a pool parlor (primarily Sarasota Billiards) in the 60's and early-to-mid 70's, before becoming Behold The Turtle Lounge in August 1974. After a couple of years, the lounge was renumbered to 1927 Ringling.
1955 – This used to be Sarasota Beauty School from 1962 until moving to 526 S. Washington Blvd. in 1979. It appears to have been torn down by 1984.
2257 – Shamrock Pub (since the mid-to-late 90's) used to be Papa Nick's Spaghetti House from 1960 to the early-to mid 70's. Restaurants in between included Mister G's, Margie's, Stingers and The Little Bar in the 70's, Churchill's Inn from the early-to-late 80's and Ringling Street Pub in the first half of the 90's.
2267 – This Marathon service station (since 2014 after converting from BP) used to be Ringling 66 Service (Phillips 66) from March 1957 to the mid 70's, It became J & J Save On in the mid-to-late 70's and lasting into the 90's.
2283 – Group Z Signs (since 2014) used to be ABC Liquors from the early-to-mid 70's until about 2010. Earlier, it was Ringling Blvd. Laundromat in the 50's and Theldon Liquors in the 60's and early 70's.
2287 – After being a vacuum sales office in the late 50's, finance office in the 60's and Schwind's Formal Wear Shoppe and National Sewing Center in the early 70's, this became Uncle Lou's Place Restaurant for breakfast and lunch in 1974. It would later become Egg Platter Restaurant by 1977. Several restaurants operated here in the 80's, including Jed & Lil's Place (opened in November 1980), Jim's Restaurant, Horn of Plenty, The Courtyard and Mom's & Son's before becoming Flowers By David florist for many years beginning in the early 90's.
2289 – Fresh Mozzarella Pizzeria (opened in 2019) used to be Dino's Pizza from the mid 80's to the early-to-mid 2010's and then Ringling Pizza & Grill. For well over 20 years before Dino's Pizza, it had been Elite Beauty Salon.
2856 – Richard's Foodporium (previously known as Richard's Whole Foods) has been operating at this location since 1979 and slated to close in September 2019.
3000 – Robarts Arena has been operating here since 1967.
St. Armand's Circle (formerly Harding Circle)
411 – Columbia Restaurant (since December 1959) used to be Club Jora Restaurant from December 1957 to 1959.
420 – Crab & Fin Restaurant used to be known as Charley's Crab Restaurant from late 1978 to about the early 00's. From May 1972 to July 1978, it was the Grenadier Lounge & Restaurant.
431 – Café L'Europe Restaurant (since 1973) used to be Colombi's Restaurant from late 1956 to the early 70's. Before extensive renovations, it had earlier been Cocoanut Palms Restaurant in the early-to-mid 50's.
Sarasota Quay (a complex located at 333 N. Tamiami Trail from 1987 until 2007).
208 – In Extremis nightclub operated in the Sarasota Quay complex near Fruitville Road in downtown Sarasota from about 1994 to 2003.
214 – This used to be Chophouse Grille from July 1989 to 1993. It reopened a few months later as Jack's Chophouse until becoming Anthony's Lobster and Steak at the Quay by early 1996. In late 1996, it became Michael's Seafood Grille until changing to Michael's Mediterranean Grille in 2000 until about the mid 00's. Also here at that time were Anthony's After Dark disco (the restaurant would turn into this late at night) and the Downunder Jazz Bar.
216 – Miramar At The Quay Restaurant operated here from about 1989 to 1993. It later became the Waterside Room Restaurant from about 1996 to 2005.
230 – This used to be Nick's On The Water (aka Nick's Italian Restaurant) from at least 1989 to 1998, when it became Bart's Bayside until April 2000.
300 – This used to be Club Bandstand (and Starlite Diner) from at least 1989 to 1993.
318 – Da Ru Ma Japanese Steakhouse operated in the Sarasota Quay complex from 1993 to 2006 before moving to the Sarasota Crossings plaza. The complex was torn down in 2007.
4750 – This used to be Booth's Grocery from about the mid-to-late 50's to the early-to-mid 70's. It had earlier been Brown's Grocery going back to at least the early-to-mid 50's.
Shopping Avenue (Ringling Shopping Center from 1955 to 2017 and torn down in late 2018).
132 – The former Wellspring Church used to be Liggett Touchton (Rexall) Drugs from 1955 to 1974 and Walgreens from 1974 to about the mid 90's. Photo: Walgreens can be seen after the Ringling Shopping Plaza received a new roof and other improvements in late 1979.
146 – The long time toy store of the Ringling Shopping Center started as Coach Butterfield Toys from 1955 to about 1964. It would then become Pic A Toy (mid-to-late 60's), Ringling Toy & Sporting Goods (1967 to mid 70's) and Toys 'n Things (mid 70's to about 1983) before turning into Charm Beauty Salon into the 00's. After that, it was Glass Slipper Costume Rental Shop.
170 – The former LTM Party Store (1992 to 2012) used to be a Belk Lindsey department store from 1955 to 1988. Photo: Diana Shops, Woolworth and Belk-Lindsey stores in the mid 60's.
206 – The former Ace Hardware (2005 to 2017) used to be a Woolworth department store from 1955 to early 1994. In between, it was Dockside Imports (opened in 1994).
210 – The former Waffle Shop (from 1992 into the 00's) used to be a Diana Shops dress store from 1955 to about the late 70's. In between, it was Kuban's audio/video store from the early-to-late 80's.
Below: Although it had been closed for many years, the Waffle Shop signage (as with other stores in the plaza) was still displaying at the vacant Ringling Shopping Center in August 2018. Demolition of the plaza began just three months later and was completed in December 2018.
220 – This started as Crowder Bros. Hardware in 1955 until 1972. It then became Drury Hardware in 1972, Holiday Hardware in 1976 and Ringling Hardware in 1979 until the early 90's. Photo: As the storefronts in Ringling Shopping Center were being stripped down in December 2018 to prepare for demolition, some of the old signs were revealed, including Crowder Bros. Hardware, which had been closed for 46 years!
230 – This started as Darby's Cleaners & Laundry in 1955, changing to Plaza One Hour Cleaners & Laundry in 1957 and Center Cleaners & Laundry in 1960 until 1970. It then became Ringling Jewelry about 1971 and operating well into the 90's.
244 – After starting out as Grant's Bakery in 1955 and then Arjay's Bakery, this became Ringling Bakery from the early 60's through the 70's. In the 80's, it was Amerifirst Bank and then Great Western Bank in the 90's until 1994.
250 – Beauteria Beauty shop operated at the plaza from 1955 to 1972 (operated at unit 214 until about 1962). It then became Regis Beauty Salon until the early 80's, when it was Charm Beauty Salon.
258 – This started as S & H Green Stamps Redemption Store from 1955 to 1960 (later listed at unit 286). It became Lambert Interiors (1961 to 1965) and later Kuban's music store from about 1967 to 1980 (later listed at unit 210). After that, it became Peninsula Motor Club (AAA) from the early 80's into the 90's.
280 – This used to be Center Shoe Repair from 1955 until 1972, when it became Ringling Shoe Repair until 1978.
282 – Publix Supermarket was here from 1955 to 2011, when it moved to a new location on South Tamiami Trail. At the time it closed, it was the longest operating store in the Publix chain.
Below: Publix Supermarket just before its grand opening at Ringling Shopping Center in March 1955.
284 – This used to be Jimmy Crews Barber Shop from 1955 to about 1977.
286 – This used to be an S & H Green Stamps Redemption Store from 1960 until moving to Snelling Plaza in November 1977.
Below: Artist rendering of Ringling Shopping Plaza at the time of its opening in 1955. Credit – Sarasota News
2001 – Multiple businesses here at the corner of S. Tamiami Tr. and Siesta Dr., including Flemings Prime Steak House and the Social Security Office used to be National Bank of Sarasota from November 1958 until changing to Citizens & Southern National Bank of Sarasota in 1986. It would then become NationsBank in 1992 (renovated in 1993) until about the early 00's.
2119 – North Bridge Tavern used to be a Dipper Dan Ice Cream Shoppe from late 1964 to about the mid 70s. It then became Lad N Lassie children's clothing store in late 1976.
2141 – Sally Beauty Supply (since about 1987) used to be Safe-Way Barber & Beauty Supplies from the early 80's until 1987. It started out as South Gate News from 1971 to 1973, followed by Ginny's Fashion Fabrics from 1973 to 1977 and Lock Stock & Barrel gift shop from 1977 to 1979.
2157 – Baker & Wife Restaurant (since 2015) used to be Rice's Town & Casual Wear from November 1960 all the way until about the early 00's. It was then renovated into a restaurant and became Southgate Gourmet in 2005. It later became Deli Lane Café in 2008 and The Usual Place Restaurant in 2013.
2163 – Super Value Nutrition used to be Tropiquaria pet store from February 1962 until the early 80's. It then became Dehart Alarm Systems into the 90's.
2177 – Rick's French Bistro Restaurant (since the mid 00's) used to be Luv N Quiches Restaurant from 1982 to the early-to-mid 90's. It was later South Gate Village Café & Catery in the late 90's and then Le Francilien Restaurant beginning in 2000. This was once a real estate office in the 50's and became Ann Hammond Yarns (early 60's to early 70's), Knit Nook (1972 to 1977), Continental Bakery, and The Lunch Place (1979 to 1981).
South Beneva Road
15 – Torn down in 2004, this used to be a SuperX supermarket from 1983 until converting to Florida Choice in 1986 through 1988. It then became a Kash N Karry supermarket and was later used as a shipping/receiving and training center for Arthur Andersen Technology in the mid-to-late 90's. Nellie's Deli, Market and Catering has been at this address in a new building since 2009.
75 – This was the home of a Rax Roast Beef from about 1983 until 1990. It was later Papa Nick's restaurant from the early-to-mid 90's before being torn down around late 2007-early 2008.
2401 – The restaurant at the original Forest Lakes Country Club (1964 to 2007) was called Guido's of Forest Lake Restaurant beginning in 1977 until changing to Rain Forest Restaurant by early 1979. Through much of the 90's, it was known as Fairways Restaurant.
2725 – Punta Sur Café and Restaurant (since 2019) used to be Sunrise Café from about 1995 to 2018. It started as Open Pantry Food Market in 1973 and then became Weiner's Deli from 1976 to 1990. After that it was New York Pizza in 1990 and 1991 and Cincy's Restaurant beginning in 1992.
2745 – Mobil and On The Move convenience store used to be Forest Lakes Mobil full-service station from 1976 to 1988. It was then rebuilt into a Mobil self-serve station in 1989.
6980 – Beneva Flowers & Gifts (since 1986) used to be Karl Ehmers Quality Meats II in the late 70's and early 80's.
6986 – The former Hungry Howie's (mid 00's to 2018) used to be Frenchie's Deli from the early-to mid 90's. when it became Yoder's Express. It was later American Café in the early-to-mid 00's.
6988 – This Sunoco station once sold Bay Gasoline in the late 70's. It was also a Starvin' Marvin station in the 80's into the 90's, then Speedway until about 2010.
Photo 1: Although operating under the Speedway banner, this was still a Starvin' Marvin convenience store in 1997.
Photo 2: The same station in 2008 (no longer Starvin' Marvin) with much higher gas prices!
South East Avenue
1212 – Michael's On East Restaurant at Midtown Plaza has been here since 1987.
South Gate Circle
3101 – A & B Food Store & Discount Beverages (since the early 90's) used to be a 7-Eleven convenience store from the April 1960 to the early 80's. In between, it was Mi-Lo Discount.
3223 – A Standard Service Station (Circle Chevron by the late 70's) sat on the circle from the early-to-mid 60's to mid-to-late 80's before being torn down.
South Gate Plaza
See 3501 South Tamiami Trail below.
South Lemon Avenue
35 – Hyde Park Prime Steak House (since 2008) is at the location that used to be King Kone Restaurant from April 1952 until the early 90's (listed as OK King Kone the first few years). It was then rebuilt as Lemon Coast Grill until 1998 and rebuilt again as Ovo Café until 2003.
131– This used to be Campbell Motors from about the late 50's until moving to Bee Ridge Rd. in 1981.
South Lime Avenue
10 – It wasn't the first 7-Eleven in Sarasota (it was the second), but it has certainly lasted the longest as the store has been at this same location since October 1960. Below: 7-Eleven from 1960's and 2018.
South Orange Avenue
11 – This was the location of Sarasota Diner from 1944 until the mid-to-late 60's.
27 – Now part of the Wilson Building, this used to be Vinny's Italian Restaurant from about 1958 to 1967, when it became Monti's Restaurant. It was later Fatstuff's of Philadelphia in 1971 and 1972 before moving to 1592 Main. It then became Wilson & Wilson law office as part of the Cain Building (renamed Wilson Building by 1980).
120 (was 220 before 1953)- Torn down many years ago, this used to be a Piggly Wiggly grocery store starting in September 1940. It then switched to Margaret Ann in August 1942 until moving to a new store in 1950. Later in 1950, it became the first Kane's Furniture store until moving to Main St. in 1960. Later that year, this location was taken over by Rug Mart, which operated here until 1966. Shortly after that in late 1966, it became The Woman's Exchange consignment shop until 1968.
South Osprey Avenue
1812 – 1812 Osprey: A Neighborhood Bistro (opened in December 2017) used to be Chicken Coop restaurant and lounge from about the early 50's to the early 80's. It was also listed as Martens' Restaurant from the mid-to-late 70's. By the mid 80's, it was New York Deli Uptown and then became Anthony's Italian Deli from the late 80's into the early-to-mid 00's. It was later Anthony's Pizza and Pasta, Southside Village Pub, Lucia's and Fandango.
1924 – Morton's Market (since October 1977) used to be Marable's Market from September 1950 (moved from a smaller store just north of this location) until October 1977.
3416 – Practical Car Rental (since 1981) used to be a Robo-Wash Automatic Car Wash from about 1967 to the mid-to-late 70's.
3440 – Siesta Shell Service Station (since 1970) used to be the location of Lewis's Shell Service from at least 1946 to 1949. It then became Finley Shell Service until 1965. From 1965 to 1970, it was Arch Shelton Shell Service.
3500 – The PNC Bank location is where the popular Simple Sam Market operated from March 1953 to the mid-to-late 80's. The market was known as Siesta Suprex until changing to Simple Sam Suprex in August 1962 (see below – credit: Sarasota News).
3542 – The Oasis Café and Bakery (since 2002) started as Cuban Pete Restaurant in October 1975 and operating until 1977. After almost a year as The Skramble Sandwich Shop in 1977 and early 1978, it changed to The Patriot Restaurant later in 1978. It then became Pizza Peddler Restaurant from 1980 until the early 90's. From 1992 to 2002, it was Augie's Front Burner Restaurant.
3550 – Shakespeare’s Craft Beer & Gastro Pub, located in what was once known as Simple Sam's Plaza used to be The French Hearth Bakery from the late 70's into the 90's.
3825 – Publix supermarket (since 1996) sits today in the former location of the Azar (later Crossroads) Plaza Rocking Chair Theater, which operated from December 1965 to 1991 and was torn down in late 1994. Photo Crossroads Theater in 1982.
South Palm Avenue
27 – Built in 1922 and operating as Palm Hotel from about 1936 until closing for business in the early-to-mid 80's, DeMarcay Hotel, which was the name it operated under during most of its early years and now known by, was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1984. DeMarcay Condos are being built on this location, however, the façade of the hotel will be retained.
63 -This used to be the location of Mira-Mar Hotel from 1923 until the mid-to-late 70's. It was later known as Mira-Mar Resort in the early 80's, before being torn down in 1982.
South Pineapple Avenue
135 – Now the address of Pineapple Park, this used to be Point Gulf Service Station from the 1930's until 1974. It then became Triple A Auto Air Conditioning until about 1983 before being torn down.
301 – Nancy's Bar-B-Q (since March 2011) used to be The Bar-B-Que Place from about 1980 to 1983. After that, it became BJ's Coffee Shop by 1984, Bites Café in the early 1990's, Mimi's Healthy Gourmet in early 1998, Mickey's Pizza in 2001 and The Bungalow Restaurant in 2007. Before the restaurant was built here in the early 80's, this was the location of Bill's Fina service station.
568 – Now primarily L Boutique, this used to be Thornton's Grocery from about the mid 40's until 1961, when it became Star Super Markets and then Short Stop Groceries. It was later Barker's New & Used Furniture from the late 60's to the mid-to-late 70's and Golden Apple Scenery Shop in the late 70's. Photo: Thornton's Grocery in 1957.
South School Avenue
1 – Located in the former Atlantic Coast Line railroad station at the end of Main Street was Brewmaster's Steak House from about late 1973 to 1983. The train station operated from 1925 to 1971 and was torn down in early 1986.
325 – Torn down in 2017 to make way for residential development, this used to be a Scotty's (originally Home Builders Supply) hardware store from about 1957 until 2004. The building was later used for The School Avenue Clearance Center (stocked donated items) from 2007 to 2010 and Sarasota Extreme Fitness in the early 2010's.
South Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41)
707 – Sarasota Ford (since 1995) used to be Anderson Ford (1965 to 1981) and Pelican Ford (1981 to 1995).
787 – A McDonald's restaurant has operated at this location since late 1981 after moving from 1707 S. Tamiami Tr.. It was rebuilt in the early-to-mid 2010's. Below: McDonald's was close to opening its new location in October 1981.
801 – Publix Supermarket at 2031 Bay St. was built in 2011 at about the location of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune and Sarasota Journal (until 1982) newspapers from March 1957 until February 2006.
811 – America's Best Value Inn used to be a Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge (pictured below) that opened in 1966 and operated until about the mid 80's, becoming Sunshine EconoLodge in 1986. It would then resurface as a Howard Johnson Express Inn about ten years later until the late 00's.
818 – This used to be Florasota Gardens Apartment Hotel from November 1948 until 1982 (listed at 824 S. Tamiami Tr. before 1970), The building was torn down by the mid 80's.
822 – Located within a group of shops in front of Florasota Gardens Apartment Hotel, this used to be Brinson's Antiques from 1971 to about 1984. It was then vacant for a few years and torn down by the early 90's.
855 – Taco Bell (since 1999) used to be a Howard Johnson restaurant from 1953 to 1989. It was also BeMent's Southern Kitchen (1989 to 1993), City Diner, Kenny Rogers’ Roasters (April 1994 until 1997) and Harvest Rotisserie (1997 to 1998) in the 90’s.
891 – Sarasota Museum of Arts' The Works building used to be Galloway Furniture from 1959 to about 1974. It would become the Sarasota Optical Center in 1977 and later was Visionworks from about 1990 to 2015.
1055 – Saba Plaza used to be Saba Furniture (later Saba's Home Furnishings) from September 1960 to about 1984.
1127 – This used to be Mr. Pizza No. 2 from early 1967 into 1968. It then became Bridge-a-torium in 1969 until becoming Fashion Center in 1976. Later in the 70's, it was used as additional space for Sarasota Camera Exchange.
1155 – Amscot used to be a Royal Castle restaurant (July 1960 to
late 1973 or early 1974). It was then remodeled into a Pan American bank in late 1974. It later became a Sun Bank in the mid 80's and Optical Value in the mid 90's. Photo 1: Royal Castle in July 1960. Photo 2: Pan American Bank in the 70's.
1201 – BB&T bank at Midtown Plaza used to be a Sears Auto Center, which was in front of Sears Department Store. Sears was here from July 1960 until moving to Sarasota Square Mall in 1979. Photos: Sears Department store in the early 1960's at the now Midtown Plaza
1273 – Elysian Fields (since 1995) at Midtown Plaza used to be Centralfed Mortgage in the early-to-mid 80's and then became First Union Bank in the late 80's and early 90's,
1277 – Panera Bread (since 2010) used to be Bennigan’s Grill &Tavern (1982 to 2010).
1281 – Davidson Drugs has operated at this location at Midtown Plaza since about 1981.
1283 – Michael's Wine Cellar (since December 2000) at Midtown Plaza used to be A Touch Of Art Gallery from about the late 80's to the late 90's. Before that, it was Mae's Fabrics from 1981 to 1987.
1285 – Sassy Hair Fashions was located at Midtown Plaza from the early 80's to about the late 00's or early 2010's. It was listed at 1291 S. Tamiami Tr. until the mid-to-late 90's.
1287 – This used to be Opus Fashions from September 1981 at Midtown Plaza until moving to Gulf Gate Mall in about 1988.
1305- This used to be Studio 41 Cine theater (later Studio X) from November 1969 to about 1978.
1325 – The Midtown Plaza supermarket has been converted from a Grand Union (opened in 1981) to Kash & Karry (1984) to Sweetbay (2005) and finally to Winn Dixie in 2014 until closing in 2018. The original grocery store in the plaza (then known as Sears Shopping Plaza) was opened as a Food Fair in September 1958 (see photo) and later rebranded into Pantry Pride in late 1969 until closing in early 1979. Before the plaza was built, Fred's Cottages operated here from at least the 1930's until the mid-to-late 50's.
1339 – Papa Nicks Spaghetti House was a popular dining spot with outdoor seating here in the 50's until about 1958. It was Bill's Restaurant in the late 40's.
1357 – This used to be Get It On t-shirts at Midtown Plaza from the early 80's to the late 80's.
1365 – This used to be Mache Imports toy store at Midtown Plaza from the early 80's to the mid-to-late 80's. It then became A Touch of Art Gallery until the late 80's.
1383 – This used to be Bresler's Ice Cream at Midtown Plaza from the early 80's to the mid-to-late 80's. It then became Zack's Frozen Yogurt until the early 90's.
1405 (was 1425 until 1981) – This used to be Martine's Restaurant which, including rebuilds and renovations, was at this location from 1944 (originally Martine's Spaghetti House and also later as Martine's Coach House Restaurant) until the late 70's. Sea Ketch Restaurant took over the building in 1981 until 1985 and was replaced by Seafood Family Restaurant for a short time after.
1414 – The Satellite Phone Store used to be a Waffle House restaurant (early 70’s to the late 00’s). In between it was Jeff's Salad Company. Below : Waffle House
1425 – Baymont Inn & Suites (since the early 90's) used to be Quality Inn South (located with Martine’s Restaurant) from at least 1967 until the mid-to-late 80's. After a brief time as Motel Midtown, it became Hospitality Inn for the rest of the 80's and was Best Western Midtown from the early 90's to 2016. .
1427 (B) – Verizon Wireless (since late 2010) used to be a Spec's Music store for just about 10 years before closing on the second day of the year 2000. It would then become a Blockbuster Video store until early 2010.
1428 – The Eyes Specialists location used to be a Krispy Kreme donut shop from 1963 to 1973 and then becoming a dialysis center in the mid-70’s. Many restaurants and businesses on the west side of the trail in the vicinity of Sarasota Memorial Hospital (SMH) would also be turned into or rebuilt as medical centers/practices or acquired by SMH.
1500 – The former Burger King (1978 until about 2002) sits next to a unit of SMH (Heart and Vascular) and was acquired by and is utilized by the hospital at this time. Prior to Burger King, the property was occupied by the Town House Motel from the early 60's to the mid-to-late 70's, In the 50's, it was Bilkay Motor Court and then King's Court. Below: Burger King in front of the SMH Heart and Vascular Center in 1998. The restaurant building is now used by SMH.
1507 – Men's Warehouse (since the late 90's) used to be Color Tile home furnishing center from March 1979 to early 1998. Before that, it was Lillard-Woodworth Furniture (early-to-mid 50's), Schaffner's Furniture (1957 to 1972) and Buning The Florist (1972 to 1978).
1540 – The Sarasota Memorial Heart and Vascular location was once the home of the popular Lum’s Restaurant (1967 to 1984), which was known for its hot dogs steamed in beer. Before being torn down, it was also the Sarasota Dental Clinic from the mid-to-late 80's. Below: It's not too clear, but the Lum's and Burger King signs can be seen side-by-side in 1978.
1575 – BankUnited (since 2014) used to be an Arby’s Roast Beef (late 1969 or early 1970 until April 2000), followed by Basil’s and later shared by Firehouse Subs and Dunkin Donuts starting in 2005.
1600 – A uniquely shaped drive-in restaurant called Burger Queen once stood in this location presently utilized by SMH mainly for parking. The restaurant opened in 1959 and operated until shortly before being torn down in September 1972.
The French-styled Eddy’s Café was then built and opened here in early 1973, continuing for most of the next eight years (changed to a deli in 1979, then back to Eddy’s in 1980). From late 1980 and for the remainder of the 80’s, several eateries passed through, including Peter's Restaurant (opened late 1980), Michael's Place for Ribs (September 1981 until renamed as Munich-Haus in late 1983), Chatter's Roadhouse (1984 to 1985), Swensen’s Ice Cream (late 1985 or early 1986 to 1988) and The Parlour (1988 to 1990) before the property was acquired by SMH in the early 90's. Below: Eddy's Café in 1973 and Michael's A Place For Ribs in 1981 were among the restaurants that occupied the former Burger Queen space after it was rebuilt in 1972-73.
1601 – The Wendy’s Restaurant currently in this location was built in the early 80’s on the site of the old Floridian Court Motel. Photo: Wendy's Restaurant at 1601 S. Tamiami Trail in 2006.
1630 – Similar to 1600 S Tamiami Trail, this property was acquired by SMH in the early 90’s. Previously, a Mister Donut had been in this location from November 1961 until 1992. Photos: Mister Donut in the early 1960's.
1635 – Tijuana Flats, which opened in late 2002 was originally a Mr. Gatti’s Pizza (complete with arcade games) beginning in August 1981 and operating until 1988. The location had previously been the home of the Towers Motel and earlier Tower Court Motel for at least 30 years. The pizza would later be served up by Pepperoni’s Pizza and Pasta from the late 80’s to early 90’s. In 1992, hot dogs would become the specialty with a Nathan’s Famous restaurant here for a couple of years. In late 1994, Dunkin Donuts and Miami Subs moved in to share the space and Baskin Robbins Ice Cream was also here. Below: Mr. Gatti's Pizza in 1981.
1700 – Sarasota Memorial Hospital (SMH) has been listed at this address since about 1985. Previously, it was listed at 1901 Arlington St. The hospital dates back to a 32-bed building on Hawthorne St. that formally opened in November 1925 (expanded two years later to 60 after adding a new wing) as Sarasota Hospital. The name was changed shortly after to Sarasota Municipal Hospital and then to its current name in the early-to-mid 50's. In October 1955, a new ultra-modern five-story building opened on the south wing and the hospital has continued to grow and expand ever since.
1707 – Chipotle Mexican Grill used to be the location of a McDonald’s restaurant (the 4/19/57 edition of the Sarasota News mentions that it was the first McDonald's in Florida) for about 25 years starting in April 1957. It briefly became a Long John Silvers restaurant starting in November 1983, then became a Pizza Hut in the mid-80’s for 20 years. Below: 1961 yearbook photo of McDonald's.
1725 – Subway (since late 80's) used to be Herrald’s TV and Sound from the early 70s to late 80’s. City Paint (late 50's to about 1964), Harris Paint Center (mid 60's) and Maryland Fried Chicken (late 60’s before moving up the street) were here before that.
1737 – Yummy House Restaurant (since May 2018) used to be the popular Kissin Cuzzins’ restaurant from late 1967 until July 1999, becoming Sugar Loaf in December and then a few others (Carpe Diem, Sarasota Café., Mel's, Longetivity Café) in the 00’s. It then became Square One Burgers from 2010 to 2015. Going back from 1962 to 1967, this was a Perkins Pancake House. At right: Kissin Cuzzins' Restaurant. Below:
After major renovations to the building, Sugar Loaf Restaurant opened in December 1999
1806 – An Amoco service station under various names, including Shorty's, Medical Arts, Hice's, ABC and Allen operated here from November 1952 (see photo) until 1998 when it was torn down to make way for a new building for SMH.
1825 – This used to be an Albritton Fruit store from 1960 to the early 00's before being torn down in 2005. Before Albritton, it was Bellaire Cabana Sales in the late 50's.
1838 – Tastee-Freez was originally here near the intersection of Hillview Street from June 1955 until being moved to 4250 S. Tamiami Tr. in late 1958.
1839 – Adjacent to Midtown Tavern (see 1841 So Tamiami Tr. below), this used to be Bee Tee Restaurant from 1950 to 1955. It then became Wengenroth's German-American Kitchen from 1955 to 1963 and was later Modern Cleaners before being rebuilt in the mid-to-late 60's.
1841 – 7-Eleven (with Exxon) used to be Hillview Exxon (originally Enco) from 1967 to the early-to-mid 90's. Vacant in the mid 90's (see photo below), the station was rebuilt in the late 90's as Midtown Exxon Tiger Mart until switching to 7-Eleven in 2015. Before becoming a service station, this used to be Midtown Tavern from at least the early 50's to the mid-to-late 60's.
1850 – This location was known in recent years for being the home of the Sugar and Spice Amish restaurant (1984 to late 1997) before the property was acquired by SMH and the building then torn down. The Dutch Pantry (1959 to early 70’s) was the other longtime occupant of the restaurant. Others in between included Garden Inn (1976 to 1977), Tony Thayer's, TR Murphy’s and Gillespie's. Below: Dutch Pantry and Sugar and Spice
1900 – This Plastic Surgery location housed a Phillips 66 Service Station in the 50’s up to about the mid-70’s.
1901 – FedEx Office Print & Ship Center (earlier Kinko's) used to be the location of a Texaco Service Station under various names from at least 1953 until about 2000.
1930 – Taylor James Fine Cabinetry (since the early-to-mid 90's, earlier as Wardlaw Interiors) used to be Bert's Barber Shop from about 1957 to 1972. The rest of the 70's were split up by the following businesses: Froz-Kone Ice Cream Store (1973 to 1974), Someone Special Pet Grooming, Comic Strip Restaurant (1976 to 1977) and Rose & Tony's Sandwich Shop. A Subway restaurant then operated here from about 1980 to 1988 until moving across the street to 1725 S, Tamiami Tr..
1935 – Goodwill Industries (since the early-to-mid 90's) was previously a Gulf service station that opened as Hoover's Gulf Service in 1953. By 1956, it had changed to Adkins Gulf Service all the way until about the late 80’s.
2525 – Cabana Inn Motel and Lounge has been at this location since 1958. The lounge has had various names over the years.
2601 –Center for Sight (since early 2001) was constructed on the site of the former Sunnyside Motel, which had operated since 1950. The motel was demolished in 1999 to build the center.
3201 – Sarasota Physicians Surgical Center used to be Donald-Roberts Furniture (shown below) from 1959 to 1962 or 1963. It then became Top Value Stamps from 1963 to about the mid 70's.
3500 – Chase Bank (since 2015) operates in the location that was occupied by Swiss Chalet Restaurant from 1941 to the late 50's. Richmond Construction Company was here in the 60's and 70's and physician's offices from the 80's until being torn down in the mid 2010's.
3501 (60- now 1100) – This used to be a Publix Supermarket from early 1957 to 1994 (torn down in early 1996) in the South Gate Plaza (now Westfield Siesta Key Mall). Saks Fifth Avenue took over the former Publix space from 1996 to 2014. CinéBistro Siesta Key Theater moved into this location in 2016. Photo credit: We grew up in SRQ.
3501 (71) – This was South Gate Hardware from 1957 to 1958.
3501 (71A) – Karmelkorn & Candy Shop opened in the new South Gate Plaza arcade building in December 1959 and remained in operation until 1966. It then became Niagara Cyclo-Massage from 1966 to 1972.
3501 (71B) – This used to be the office of realtor Francis Brown from 1959 until switching to unit 320 in 1972.
3501 (71C) – This used to be Koin Kleen Automatic Washer laundry from January 1960 until becoming South Gate Coin Laundry in 1969. It then switched to unit 360 in 1972.
3501 (71D) – This started as Crane's Book Store in 1960 until moving to unit 110 in 1962. After being vacant, this became Smoke Shop from 1964 to 1973 (moved to Crossroads Plaza).
3501 (71E) – This started as South Gate Jewelers from 1959 until becoming Shrode Jewelers from 1963 to 1975.
3501 (73) – This used to be Durfee's TV until moving to 4407 S. Tamiami Tr. in 1972.
3501 (74) – This started as Plaza One Hour Cleaners in 1957 and then becoming Paul's Cleaners in 1959 and Center Cleaners and Laundry from 1960 to 1967. It later became South Gate Sporting Goods in 1971, Emporium lighting and hardware in 1973, The News Stand in 1976 and EEG Enterprises from about 1982 to 1987. Also listed at unit 74 early on, although may have been in one of the unit 71's listed above was The Garden Spot of Sarasota in 1957 and 1958.
3501 (75) – This used to be Career Girl clothing from 1971 until closing in July 1984. It then became The Corn Popper for a short time around 1985. Earlier, it was Junior Bazaar from 1957 to 1960 and Fashion Bazaar from 1960 to 1971.
3501 (76) – This used to be Thom McAn Shoes in South Gate Plaza from 1957 until about 1983. It then became a General Nutrition Centers store until the mid-to-late 80's.
3501 (82) – This was a Woolworth's Department store in South Gate Plaza from early 1957 to early 1994. It would become Dockside Imports later that year. Foto: Woolworth's in the early-to-mid 60's.
3501 (87) – This used to be Woodrow Stores for Men from 1957 to 1975. It also included Carnaby Shop from 1971 to 1975. It then became The New Yorker in 1975, Mr. Freedom by 1978, Off Your Duff by 1983 and was vacant by 1987.
3501 (90) – This started as Coach Butterfield Toys (originally listed at unit 89) from 1957 to 1964. It then became South Gate Toy & Sporting Goods from 1964 to 1976 and Toys 'n' Things from 1976 to about 1987.
3501 (91) – This used to be a Bresler's 33 Flavors Ice Cream Shop from 1964 to about 1987. Earlier, it was The Middle Shop from early 1957 to 1964. Photo: Bresler's Ice Cream, South Gate Toys and Woodrow Stores for Men can be seen at South Gate Plaza in 1967.
3501 (92) – This used to be The Rainbow Shop from September 1964 to about 1987. From 1957 to 1964, it was a few different businesses including South Gate Watchmaker/Pillsworth and Renick TV (1957 to 1958), Slenderine Figure Salon (opened in 1958) and various brokerage firms (Grimm & Co-opened January 1960, Hill, Darlington & Grimm-opened October 1960 and Cruttenden, Podesta & Miller-opened in 1962). Photo: Overhead signs for Grimm & Co., The Middle Shop, Coach Butterfield Toys, Woodrow Stores for Men and Woolworth's can all be seen in this 1960 photo.
3501 (93) – This used to be South Gate Camera Shop (see photo) from 1960 to 1978. It then became First City Federal Savings & Loan by 1980 and Crossland Savings by 1985 until about 1987. Originally, it was Cameras, Inc. from 1957 to 1960 (listed at unit 95).
3501 (94) – This used to be South Gate Barber Shop from 1957 to about 1981.
3501 (97) – This used to be Lad N' Lassie clothing from 1957 to 1976. It then became Boyce Travel Agency from about 1976 to 1987.
3501 (100) – This used to be Liggett Rexall Drugs from 1957 to 1974. It then became Walgreen Drugs from 1974 to about 1989.
3501 (103) – This started as Mae's Beauty Salon in late 1957. It then changed to South Gate Beauty Salon under new management in 1966 until about 1981. It later became Sewing Center of Sarasota from about 1982 to 1987.
3501 (105) – This started as House of Gadgets from 1957 to 1972, when it became House of Handbags until 1974. After that, it was Cappie's handbags from 1974 to about 1981, Merle Norman Cosmetics from about 1983 to 1987 and The Limited through the 90's.
3501 (107) – This used to be Canadian Shoe Repair from 1957 to 1968 and Rouse's Shoe Repair from 1968 to 1970, before becoming South Gate Shoe Repair from 1970 to about 1987.
3501 (109) – This used to be Crane's Book Store from about 1962 to 1987 after opening in 1960 at unit 71D. Previously, unit 109 was South Gate Snack House (opened in 1957).
3501 (111) – This used to be Cinderella Bootery from 1957 until moving to unit 116 in 1972. Later at unit 111 was Contempor-Ana Modern Home Furnishings from 1978 to about 1984 and then Video Biz until about 1987. Photo: Grants and Cinderella Bootery at their original locations in South Gate Plaza.
3501 (113) – This started as Glamor Shop from 1957 to 1966. It then became Eiss' Permanent Flowers from 1966 to 1976 and a Radio Shack store from 1977 until about 1987. It was later a Chess King store from 1989 into the 90's.
3501 (116) – Cinderella Bootery was at unit 111 of the South Gate Plaza from 1957 until moving to unit 116 (part of the original W.T. Grant store here) in 1972 until about 1987. It later became Vomo men's apparel by 1989 and Alexus Design Studio by 1993.
3501 (120) – World Bazaar gifts was at the plaza (originally unit 140) from the early-to-mid 70's to mid-to-late 80's. A W.T. Grant (aka Grants) Department Store was originally at unit 120 until moving to a new building here (unit 600) in 1972 The former Grant store was then split into three units (116, 120 and 130). Below: Overhead signs for World Bazaar, Cloth World and Winn Dixie at Southgate Plaza in the mid 70's.
3501 (130) – Cloth World era here from August 1972 to mid-to-late 80's.
3501 (200) – The second supermarket at the plaza was Winn Dixie (originally Kwik Check) from January 1957 to the mid 80's.
3501 (210) – This used to be Big Phyl's Nursery from 1963 to 1972.
3501 (220) – This used to be South Gate Bakery from 1962 until 1968. It then became Colonial Bakery from 1968 to about 1985.
3501 (230) – This started as Mademoiselle's Ladies Shop in 1962 until becoming Jennie's Ladies Shop in 1967. It then became The Sun Tree in 1975, Connell's Casuals in 1977 and Plus To Love in 1983. It was vacant by 1985 and rebuilt by 1987.
3501 (240) – This used to be Naylor's Hardware from 1961 to the early 80's. In the mid-to-late 80's, it was Southern Floridabanc Savings Association.
3501 (244) – This started as Duval Jewelers in March 1962. It changed to Zales Jewelers during 1963 until about 1982, when it became Al Havener's Musicland from September 1982 until about 1987.
3501 (250) – This started as Music Center in November 1961 until changing to Hunter's Music Center in 1965. It then became Deep Six Design II from 1975 until 1979.
3501 (260) – This started as Records & Radio Center in 1961 until being used for additional space by Hunter's Music Center next door in 1970. It then became Kuban's Records from 1972 to about 1983.
3501 (270) – This started as Sewing Circle Fabrics in 1961. By 1965, it had become a Singer Sewing Center until about 1983. It was later Marie Chancellor's Boutique in the mid 80's.
3501 (277) – TooJay's Restaurant (since 2002) used to be Beasley's Restaurant from about 1984 to 1998. It was earlier Camelot Restaurant from about 1982 to 1984.
3501 (280) – This used to be Bob Francis Apparel from 1961 until becoming Delmar's Apparel For Men in 1973. It then became D & G Clothier in 1977 and Michael's Apparel from 1979 to about 1983.
3501 (290) – This used to be the office of Francis Knapp, optometrist from 1961 to 1979. It then became the office of Bockhold & Saul, optometrists until about 1983.
3501 (297) – This used to be Ross Tilden Jewelers from about 1983 to 1989 when it became used as additional space for Beasley's Restaurant.
3501 (300) – This used to be Stitch Typewriter from about 1961 to 1983.
3501 (310) – This used to be Peoples Inc. of Sarasota finance office from 1963 to 1967. It then became Montgomery Insurance from 1968 to 1969 and an H & R Block office from 1970 to about 1979.
3501 (320) – This used to be the office of realtor Francis W. Brown from 1972 to about 1980 after moving from 71B. Coincidentally enough, after the realtor left this unit, there were only vacant listings here until it was no longer listed by 1984.
3501 (327) – This used to be Nautilus Training from about 1983 to 1988.
3501 (330) – This used to be Bob's Flowers from 1972 to about 1978 and then listed as vacant until 1988.
3501 (360) – This used to be South Gate Coin Laundry (previously at unit 71C) from 1972 to about 1979
3501 (380) – This used to be South Gate Lanes bowling from August 1962 to the mid-to-late 80's.
3501 (400) – The former Dillard's (1991 to 2014) used to be a J.C. Penney (aka Penney's) Department Store from 1961 to 1977. It then became Robinson's in 1978 before converting to Maison Blanche in 1987. In 2017, it was announced that Lucky's Market would be taking over at least part of Dillard's space in the mall (opened in October 2017) along with LA Fitness (since 2016). Photo: J.C. Penney upon opening in November 1961.
3501 (500) – This used to be Siesta Liquors from 1961 to 1983 when it became Haps Liquors. It then became Southern FloridaBanc Savings from about 1987 to 1989.
3501 (600) – Macy's Department Store (since 2005) in the Westfield Siesta Key Mall used to be a W.T. Grant Department Store (aka Grant City) from March 1972 to November 1975 (was previously in unit 120 from early 1957 to 1972 before moving here). It then became Burdine's Department Store from 1976 to 2005. Photo: Burdines and Career Girl at South Gate Plaza in 1980.
3501 (950) – Torn down in 1997, this was the site of the popular Brown Derby Restaurant (was briefly called Kapio's in 1989) in the South Gate Plaza (now Westfield Siesta Key Mall) from 1979 to 1994 before becoming Cahill's. Prior to Brown Derby, it was Morrison's Cafeteria from about 1962 to 1977. At right: Brown Derby in 1990. Below: Morrison's Cafeteria (mid 60's) and Brown Derby Restaurant (early 80's)
3800 (2) – This used to be Azar (later Crossroads beginning in 1972) Plaza Rocking Chair Theater from December 1965 to 1991. See 3825 South Osprey Ave. above.
3800 (3) – Located at Crossroads Plaza next to the theater from 1975 to the early 90's was The Hungry Fox Restaurant. It had previously been The Ice Cream Shop and later became The Hungry Bear Restaurant in the early 90's.
3800 (20) – Petco (since 2005) at the now Shops at Siesta Row (formerly Paradise Plaza, Crossroads and earlier Azar) plaza used to be Eckerd Drugs from 1973 to 2004, when it converted to CVS and moved to a new location within the plaza. At about this location earlier was Flair Drugs from late 1963 (opened along with Colonial Bakery next door in a new wing to the plaza) to 1971. It then became Medi-Mart drugs in rhe middle of 1971 and was also J. Moore Discount temporarily in the summer of 1972. Photo: Eckerd Drugs is seen from the Southgate Plaza parking lot in the early-to-mid 70's.
3800 (21) – The area Pier 1 Imports (since 2015) now occupies (at least some of it along with CVS) at the Shops at Siesta Row plaza was once an A & P Supermarket. A & P was in this plaza from March 1959 to late 1978 and replaced by a Great Scot supermarket (1979 to 1981), then Mister C's Warehouse. A Phar-Mor store opened here in the mid-80's and operated until 2002. Pier 1 replaced Borders Books (2004 to 2011).
3800 (26) – Gigi's Italian Restaurant was located at the Crossroads Plaza (now Shops at Siesta Row) from 1974 until the early-to-mid 80's.
3800 (33) – The Sawmill Inn was here at the Crossroads Plaza (now Shops at Siesta Row) from 1974 to early 1989. It then became the Backstreet restaurant.
3800 (44) – Located next to A & P (then at 40 Azar) in the then Azar Plaza was Tyree's Of Sarasota household appliances from May 1959 to about the end of 1968. It then became a Western Auto store for a couple of years after that.
3800 (100) – TCBY has operated at this location since about 1985.
3825 – Johnny's Car Wash has been in this location since June 1959. It opened as South Gate Auto Service with a Phillips 66 service station and car wash). Below: Johnny's Car Wash around the mid 60's after switching to Esso.
3838 – Flamingo Bar was located at the intersection of S. Tamiami Tr. and Bee Ridge Rd. from 1948 until moving to Colonial Village Plaza in early 1965. It was earlier listed at 3850 S. Tamiami Tr. and later part of Azar Shopping Plaza.
3875 – McDonald's was built on the site previously occupied by Boston Market (briefly Boston Chicken) restaurant from 1993 to 2009. From 1960 to the early 90's, this location was a bank (Sarasota Federal Savings until the early 70's, then Coast Savings). Even earlier from the mid-to-late 50's, it was Gulf Cities Gas Corp. Below 1: Boston Market in 2007. Below 2: Sarasota Federal Savings in 1969.
3880 – This used to be a Shakey's Pizza restaurant in the late 60's and early 70's. The pizza parlor featured live striped-shirt musicians playing ragtime-type music, mainly using the banjo and piano. A USN Recruiting office along with several other recruiting offices operated at about this location from the mid 70's to mid 80's.
3901 – Located at the southeast corner of S. Tamiami Tr, and Bee Ridge next to Dixie Lee's was Meyers Cities Service (rebranded as Citgo in 1965) from 1959 until 1972, when it briefly changed to Klean Citgo before closing. It had earlier been Southside Service Station in the 50's. In September 1976, the vacant station became J.D. Carpet Brokers. It was later a real estate office in the 80's and Florida Blueprint in the 90's before being torn down in 1998 to build the Walgreens Pharmacy that is currently operating at this location.
3902 – Valvoline Instant Oil Change (since 2013) used to be the location of the Trail Union 76 service station from the early 70's to the early 90's. after starting out as Anderson's Pure Oil about 1967. It was later Florida Car Care Center (early-to-mid 90's) and then Mobil 1 Lube Express (mid 90's to 2013).
3904 – Mattress Firm used to be a restaurant/lounge, including Shannon's Way (1977-1983), Impressions of Sarasota, 1776 Restaurant (1985-1992), Stockyard Steakhouse, Banana's Bar & Grill and Notorious. By 2000, it became a Ritz Camera and Boater's World store. Below: The upper façade of the 1776 Restaurant in 1986.
3908 – Supercuts (since early 90's) used to be Jay's Shoes (early 1978 to 1983). In between, it was First American Title. Photo: In 1978, Jay's Shoes, Super Value Drugs and Shannon's Way Pub shared the small plaza that still sits just south of the Bee Ridge Rd./So. Tamiami Tr. intersection.
3909 – Torn down in 1998 to make way for Walgreens, this used to be Dixie Lee's Liquors from the late 40's until the mid-to-late 80's before moving just around the corner (to 2030 Bee Ridge Rd until 1997). It then became O'Lyn Callahan's Yamaha Music Center and later Classic Keyboard in the mid 90's. Foto: Dixie Lee Liquors at 3909 S. Tamiami Tr., referred to as "3909 Boondoggle Blvd" by Dixie Lee due to never-ending construction for road widening that limited the access to the building.
3917 – Located close to Dixie Lee from the late 40's to late 50's was El Rancho Drive In Restaurant. It later became Bargain House and Quality Autos in the early-to-mid 60;s.
3934 – Located in the vicinity of where Sonny's B-B-Q (since 1994) stands today, this was Super Test Oil Co. service station from the mid 50's to the early 70's, becoming a Citgo station until the mid-to-late 70's. It then became Snoopy's Original Vienna Hot Dogs and Sandwiches from the late 70's to mid 80's. Later in the 80's, it was also Lloyd's Auto Palace and Hub Caps Plus.
3935 – Located at about where Sir Speedy Printing is today, this used to be A's Giant Sandwiches from the mid 60's to about 1979 (A's would soon thereafter move to its present location at 6300 S. Tamiami Tr). It then became Two Guys From Italy Deli for a short time in the early 80's. Originally, this was Jules Army-Navy Surplus store (with a rocket sign out front) from late 1958 to the early 60's. Photos: Jules Army-Navy Surplus store from 1958 and A's Giant Sandwiches from the mid-70's. Credit: If you grew up in Sarasota..then you remember.
3971 – Bonefish Grill (since April 2001) used to be an Applebee's restaurant from 1990 to 2000.
3979 – Diamond Vault (since 2011) used to be Peaches Music (late 1989 to 1995), then West Marine from 1995 to 2010 before moving down the street.
4000 – IHOP restaurant used to be a Village Inn Restaurant (1977 to 2008). This was also the address of Snelling Plaza from 1976 to 1995, and before that, it was a Montgomery Ward department store from February 1965 to early 1976. At left: Village Inn in 2007. At right: Montgomery Ward sign in 1973.
4000 (102) – This used to be an S & H Green Stamps Redemption Center at Snelling Plaza from late 1977 to the mid 80's.
4000 (103) – This used to be Catherine's ladies dress shop at Snelling Plaza from late 1977 to the early 90's.
4001 – Café Baci Restaurant (since 1991) used to be a Western Sizzlin' Restaurant from February 1971 to 1990. Below 1: Western Sizzlin' in 1989 and Café Baci at the same location in 2011. Below 2: Western Sizzlin in 1972.
4010 – Barnes & Noble opened here in December 1995.
4020 – Best Buy has been open here since September 1996.
4023 – Verizon (since 2015) occupies the area that was the home of the very popular El Adobe Mexican Restaurant from 1974 to 2014. Other restaurants here included Blake's (opened in September 1955), Burger King (July 1956 to about 1960), Lobster Claw (opened in late 1960 until 1961), Dari-Delite (opened in December 1961 until 1962), Little Pig's House (opened in January 1963 until early 1964), Trail B-B-Q (opened in summer of 1964), Beef Pit (opened in October 1965), Gordon's Diner (opened in 1968) and Romano's Italian Restaurant (1970 to 1974). Below: 1. El Adobe Restaurant sign in the 80's and in 2014. 2. Burger King in 1956
4034 – Now the site of a future Regions Bank being built in front of Best Buy, this used to be the location of a Steak and Ale restaurant that was built in late 1977 and operated all the way until 2007.
4035 – The former Puppy Town used to be Self Service Shoe Store from May 1958 until the early 90's. It then became Great Deals on Heels from 1991 until 1993 and then Futons Etc. for about a decade. Below: Self Service Shoe Store sign in 1989 and Great Deals on Heels store in 1992.
4065 – Lox and Egg (since 2006) used to be a Burger King from about 1967 to 1978. It turned into Buning the Florist from 1979 to 1987, then Sub Conscious sandwich shop (1987 to about 1993-see below from 1991) and Manhattan Bagel (mid 90's to 2006).
Below: Great photo from early 1974 where Burger King (now Lox and Egg) can be seen on the far left along with several long lost businesses that were located at about the area where Trader Joe's operates today. These include: Vel-von Paint Center, Butler TV, Double Knit Factory Outlet (shown having a going out of business sale before the store closed in 2/74) and Discount Tire Center (later H & H Hobby Sales from the late 70's to early 90's).
4101 – Trader Joe's (since 2012) was a Rooms To Go furniture store from the mid 90's until moving up the street in 2011.
4114 – Totally Wicked USA used to be The Dog House Restaurant in the mid-to-late 60's. It then became Cannon Music Co. from the early 70's to the early-to-mid 80's, when it was replaced by Classic Mattress. Later in the 80's, it was Afabar Oriental Rugs and then GTE Cellular Communications until the early 90's. It has also been Floor Depot (most of the rest of the 90's), E-Z Check Cashing, C'est Cheese and Print & Ink. Photo: Classic Mattress can be seen through the fog on S. Tamiami Tr. in December 1984, along with Walt's Fish Market, All Night Chevron and Steak and Ale..
4121 – Torn down by the mid 90's, this used to be H & H Hobby Sales from the late 70's to early 90's,
It had earlier been Pyrofax Bottled Gas Corp. from the late 50's to the early 70's, Discount Tire Center (see above) in the early-to-mid 70's and Quality Service Appliance Repair in the mid 70's.
4123 – Now used for parking, this used to be a Pay-Less Service Station (see photo) from the early 70's until the mid 80's before being torn down in 1986. Earlier, it was an Empire Service Station from about 1957 to 1962 and a Kayo Service Station from 1963 to the early 70's.
4130 – T-Mobile operates in an area once occupied by the All Night Chevron station (see photo) in the 80's and a Standard station in the 60's and 70's.
4131 – Chili's Restaurant was built in 1986 at the location that used to be the Trail-Vu Motel from the mid 50's to 1984.
4141(10) – Siam Orchard Thai Restaurant (since 1988) in Chili's Plaza used to be Stewardo's Italian Cuisine in 1987.
4144 – Walt's Fish Market (since 1977) used to be a Burger Chef restaurant from August 1967 to 1974. In between it was Wilcox House of Music. Photos: Burger Chef can be seen in 1967 and Walt's Fish Market in 1989 next to the sign for the above-mentioned Chevron station.
4162 – Originally numbered as 4212, this used to be Pat's TV Sales and Service from 1958 to 1968, when it became Wholesale Electronics until 1973. From 1973 to 2010, it was a finance office under various names (Local Finance of Florida, General Finance, Credit Thrift and American General Finance).
4164 – Originally numbered as 4214, this started as Lorraine's Beauty Salon in 1958, becoming House of Beauty in 1959 and Kay's Beauty Salon from 1962 to 1973. In 1974, it was rebuilt into a Radio Shack store and renumbered to 4180 (see below).
4180 – Sarasota Watch Company used to be a Radio Shack store from October 1974 to about 1988. It then became NRS Atlas Realty into the 90's.
4200 – Mattress One (at 4238 S. Tamiami) occupies the area that was the home of the Fashion Door store from 1978 until the early-to-mid 90's and then became The Christmas Shoppee. In the early-to-late 70's, it was Mort's Sportsman Cove and later Castro Convertibles. Even prior to that, a Sunoco station was here from about 1955 to 1970. Below: The Fashion Door in 1978.
4201 – Stop and Shop convenience store (since the mid-to-late 00's) used to be Woodpecker's Cash and Carry Co. building supplies store (see below) from 1959 to 1960. It then became a Handy Dandy convenience store in 1960 until converting to Li'l General Stores after a 1963 merger. It would later switch to a Circle K store by 1985 for about the next twenty years.
4205 – Army Navy Surplus used to be Leonard's Bakery and Catering from about 1969 to 1986, when it became LaGrotte Catering. It later became Workroom of Interior Design in the early 90's. Before Leonard's in the 60's, it was Mill Terrace Bakery.
4215- The former America's Mattress used to be Ball & Shoe Sports Center from 1972 to the mid 90's and was then located in the same plaza under different addresses until the early-to-mid 2010's.
4221 –Dulcefina Chocolates is listed at the address that used to be Kue & Karom Billiards from 1963 to 1969, when it changed to 4223 So.Tamiami Tr.. Indian Gift Shop moved to this address from 3933 So. Tamiami Tr. in May 1969 until about 1977.
4225 – Jewelry Design Center (since about the late 90's) used to be Ron Evans Pool & Patio from April 1975 until the early-to-mid 80's, when it became Pool & Patio Showcase until the late 90s.
4227 – Dinettes Unlimited (opened in September 1976 as Mr. Dinette until changing to Dinettes Unlimited in July 1977) used to be The Furniture Warehouse from 1973 to 1976.
4231 – Ace Hardware used to be a Masters Catalog Showroom from the early 70's to about 1984, then Midtown Hardware's Home Basics from the mid 80's to early 00's.
4250 – A small plaza now occupies the area where a Tastee-Freez ice cream stand stood for nearly 25 years from November 1958 until about 1983. It had been moved from 1838 South Tamiami Trail in the late 50's. Below: Tastee-Freez in the 1960's.
4321 – Starbucks and Mattress Firm (earlier Mattress Giant and both since 2004) used to be the location of Sarasota Cloth & Fabric from the mid-to-late 60's to about the late 90's. Earlier, it was Olde Glass & Lamp Co. from the mid 50's to early 60's and Kustrum House furniture repair from the early-to-mid 60's.
4333 – King James men's fashions (since 1993 after moving from Snelling Plaza) used to be BeMent's Chicken Restaurant (later known as BeMent's Country Boy) known for their broasted chicken from late 1959 until 1983. It had previously been Harbor Oaks Restaurant (opened in December 1955) and Golden Chicken (opened in November 1958) . In between BeMents and King James, it was Frankie C's and Hooter restaurants as well as Greatland Gold & Diamond and Bodywrap Int.. Below:
BeMent's Chicken from a 1960's postcard and later in 1978 as BeMent's Country Boy Restaurant.
4407 – Giggles (since 1997) used to be Katy's Kloset dress shop from the mid-70's to late 80's. In between, it was Mimi's Petite Boutique.
4410 – Demetrio's Restaurant & Pizza opened in early 1975 and is still here after over 40 years. Below: Demetrio's in 1975.
4413 – Taste Of Asia restaurant (since 2013) used to be a Wendy's restaurant from 1976 to the late 90's, followed by Shang Hai Express from the late 90's to about 2007.
4420 – Shelly's Gifts and Christmas Boutique (since 2016) occupies the property which held both a Blimpie sandwich shop and Rita's Italian Ice store from 1999 to about 2006. although the Blimpie and faded Rita's signs still stood for several years after the building was torn down (see below). Among the other businesses at this location was a Gulf service station (Walker's Gulf until 1977) from December 1960 to about 1980 and Allied Tires from the early to late 80's. Below 1: A Blimpie/Rita's Ad from the store opening in July 1999, the store in 2007 after it had closed, and the sign out front that stood until 2015, several years after the building had been torn down. Below 2: Walker's Gulf in December 1960.
4441 – This used to be Mel's Furniture from about 1959 until becoming Casual Furniture in the early 80's to the mid 80's. From there, it became Bob's Carpet Mart from the mid 80's to early 00's, Piano Distributors from April 2001 until about the late 00's and Interior Consignments. Builders Model Home Furniture moved into a least part of the building in 2018.
4450 – Marlin's Raw Superfood For Pets (since 2017) used to be the Hong Kong Kitchen restaurant from 1972 until the early 90's. After Hong Kong Kitchen, it was Sarasota Medical Center from 1994 to 2017 before moving to Bee Ridge Rd.
4500 – Florida Surgical Supply (since the mid-00's) was built as a Maryland Fried Chicken restaurant (1969 to 1973), somehow turning into Tamiami Adult Books (mid 70's), but is most known for its time as the popular Camel's Den restaurant (1978 to 1993). Other restaurants here included Villa Capri (1994-late 90's), International House of Curries and Yanni's Greek Tavern (2001-mid 00's). Below: Camel's Den Restaurant in 1978 and the same building as Florida Surgical Supply over 30 years later.
4501 – The former Builders Model Home Furniture (mid 90's until moving to 4441 S. Tamiami Tr. in 2018) used to be Buchman Motors from 1965 until March 1973 when it became Bob Barkley Toyota until moving up the road in 1983. It then became Sarasota Chrysler Plymouth and later Southpointe Mazda in the mid-to-late 80's.
4520 – Alpine Steakhouse (since early 90's) used to be the China Inn restaurant (1971 to 1978) and Rose Garden restaurant (1978 to 1985). Earlier, it was Topper's Steak House (1968 to 1969) and Trail Hickory Bar-B-Q (1969-1970). In the mid-to-late 80's, Capone's Pizza and Crab Company restaurant were here. Below: China Inn in 1972 The Enco station on the left is Al Fige's Servicenter.
4586 – Pamaro Shop Furniture (since the mid 90's) used to be Seating Gallery Furniture from about 1986 to 1990. In the early to mid 90's, it was Paradise Cable and Wings Surf & Sport clothing.
4602- This used to be an Enco Service Station (Exxon after 1972) under several names that was built in 1967 and operated until 1985. It was torn down shortly after and the now Pamaro Shop was built at this location.
4608 – The former G. Fried Flooring (1973 to 2018 before moving to 5990 S. Tamiami Tr.) used to be the location of the Chiropractic Health Center from the late 50's through the 60's. It was also Portrait Pools in the early 70's before being rebuilt.
4613 – Torn down in 2015, this used to be Wilson's Texaco (later Wilson's Spur by 1968) from 1952 to about the late 80's). The building was restored with Texaco pumps as Studio 41 gallery in the late 90's.
Although it had closed by the time this photo was taken in the mid-90's, Wilson's Spur Service Station (formerly Texaco) and its gas pumps were still standing at 4613 S. Tamami Trail before being restored a few years later.
4625 – Posh Plum Furniture Consignment used to be the location of The Spinning Wheel Inn Restaurant from 1952 to 1959. Also there during that time was a gift shop (South Wheel Shop). It became Reliable Refinishing in the early 60's.
4650 – Ashley HomeStore (since 2015) used to be Haverty's Furniture from late 1969 to early 2001 before moving up the street. In between, it was DeSears Appliances from 2002 to 2009, then reopened from 2011 to 2014. Below: Haverty's Furniture at its prior location at 4650 S. Tamiami Tr.
Below: Signs of many businesses establishments stand along S. Tamiami Tr. in the below S-HT photo from early 1985 including Haverty's Furniture, G, Fried Flooring, Bill's Exxon, Rose Garden Restaurant, Camel's Den Restaurant, Hong Kong Kitchen, Allied Tires, Demetrio's Restaurant and All Night Chevron.
4675 – Sarasota Classified/Teachers' Association (SCTA) used to be The Bedspread and Drapery Shop from 1973 to the early 90's. In between, it was Child Berth children's furniture store from the early-to-mid 90's. At right: The Bedspread and Drapery Shop in the mid 80's.
4708 – West Marine (since 2010) used to be a Circuit City electronics store from about 1992 to 2010. Photo: Circuit City shortly before closing in 2010.
4730 – This building that now houses multiple stores (Subway, Zoom Tan, Great Clips, Tuesday Morning) used to be a Bookstop bookstore from 1992 to 1996. It then became split between a Blockbuster Video store (1997 to 2010). and Pier One Imports (1997 to 2015). Photos: Bookstop in 1993 and 1996.
4831 – A Mr. Steak Restaurant was here from 1969 to 1974, followed by Uppy's Family Restaurant for about a couple of years starting in late 1974. The Manatee Public Library Digital Collection website has a great photo of the restaurant as Mr. Steak.
4840 – Publix Supermarket (since early 2009) in the Landings Plaza used to be an Albertsons Market from 1988 to 2008. Photo:Albertsons (now Publix) at The Landings Plaza
4850 – This used to be a Radio Shack store in the Landings Plaza from about 1989 to early 2015. Below: Radio Shack closing sale at The Landings Plaza in February 2015.
4854 – The former Pho Saigon Restaurant (opened in 2015) in the Landings Plaza used to be Chicken Club Restaurant from 1992 to 1995, when it became Polo Club. From early 1997 into the early-to-mid 00's, it was Better Bagels and then Sushi Raw Bar by the mid 00's. It would later become Kirei Sora Japanese Restaurant and Mayta's Peruvian Restaurant (opened in 2012).
4871 – Sherwin-Williams Paints (since 1978) used to be Badcock Furniture and appliances from 1969 to the mid 70's. In between, it was H & H Hobby Sales.
4900 – Olive Garden Italian Restaurant has operated at this location in front of the Landings Plaza since being built in 1988.
4934 – Jo-Ann Fabrics (since 1997) in the Landings Plaza used to be a Discovery Zone (DZ) children's play center from late 1993 to late 1996. Earlier it was Cloth World from 1988 to 1993.
4940 – The former Office Depot (early 90's to 2015) in the Landings Plaza used to be a Lechmere electronics and appliance store (1987-1989). Photo: Lechmere just before closing its Florida stores including this one at the Landings in 1989.
4942 – The former PetSmart (from about 1992 until moving up the street to 6591 S. Tamiami Tr. in October 2018) used to be Standard Brands for a short time beginning in July 1991.
4944 – Kruk's Philly Steaks Restaurant in the Landings Plaza used to be a Cheeburger Cheeburger Restaurant from 2005 to late 2013. Before that, it had been Uptech Computer from about 1993 to 2004 before moving to a new location.
4949 – BP Service Station at the Philippi St. intersection used to be Lester's Amoco from September 1957 until 1977. It continued as an Amoco station under various names until being converted to BP in the early-to-mid 00's. Photo: Lester's Amoco at the time of its grand opening in September 1957.
4994 – Sweet Tomatoes restaurant (since July 1996) used to be a Casa Lupita restaurant that opened in 1985 and became Casa Amigos in 1990 until December 1993.
5005 – Sunset Porsche and Volkswagen used to be Stinnett Pontiac from the late 60's until changing to Suncoast Pontiac in the late 90's. Detroiter Motel was previously at this location from about the mid 50's to late 60's.
5170 – Rooms To Go (since 2011) used to be Darby Buick from April 1966 to 2006 after moving from 2199 Ringling Blvd..
5211 – Grind Fit (since 2015) used to be Hot Flash Fashions (earlier Richie Pants) from the early-to-mid 80's to the early 90's before moving to the Landings Plaza. Earlier, this was Mattress King in the early 80's and was later Signs Now in the 90's, Contemporary Furniture in the 00's and Asanka Cars in the early-to-mid 2010's.
5225 – Hertz Rent-A-Car (since the early 2010's) used to be a Midas Muffler Shop from the early-to-mid 80's until the early 00's after being Cars Muffler Shops beginning in the late 70's. In between Midas and Hertz, it was Drapes and Shutters, Decorating Resources and Appliance Electronics. Before being rebuilt, Big Top Esso/Enco service station was at this location from 1960 to 1970 and then River Forest Enco/Exxon from 1970 to 1975.
5251 – Leather Gallery and Bedding Center (since 2014) used to be a Radio Shack Computer Center from 1982 to the early 90's. Ethan Allen Design Center was also here from 2008 to early 2014.
5252 – The current Furniture Warehouse used to be Kane's Furniture (Kalin's since 2013) from February 1968 to 2016. Before being torn down to build the furniture store, Hollyhurst Court and Apartments was at this location from 1948 to 1956. It then became Hollyhurst Motel from 1956 to 1966. Below: Kane's Furniture in 1968.
5252(A) – This used to be Capriccio's Eurosalon & Day Spa in Kane's Too Plaza from 1983 all the way until about 2014, when it moved to 2344 Bee Ridge Rd. as Capriccio's Hair and Wig Salon.
5252(D) – This used to be Incredibles restaurant in Kane's Too Plaza from about 1982 to 1986. It was then Alexander's Marketplace and Restaurant from 1987 to 1996, when it became Café Spazzo. It was later Nellie's Deli in the late 90's and 00's and Sandspur Grill in the early-to-mid 00's.
5365 – The Table Creekside Restaurant used to be Abbey's Oyster Bar in the 80''s and first part of the 90's. Earlier in the 70's, it was Stein & Vine and then Weigh-Inn Restaurants before becoming Abbey Marine midway through the decade.
5750 – The former Say it with Stiches used to be Pompano Grill from late 1951 to about 1973. It then became Matt & Ruby's Tavern and later Y-Knot Bar & Grill until Toma's Water Conditioning moved in around 1979..
5778 – Joe-Lin Lampshades (since 1987) used to be Horner's Corner Sundries, which opened in January 1952. By August 1952, it had become Barton's Corner Sundries (see below) and then Swede's Sundries from 1955 to the mid 60's. It was later Lo-Rene's Fabrics (mid 60's), Ellen Swope School Of Dancing (late 60's), Scandia Construction (early 70's), Brownies Pool Clinic (early 70's to early-to-mid 80's) and Echo clothing (mid 80's).
5808 – Shell Service Station (since 2017) used to be an Atlantic Service Station (South Trail Atlantic) starting about 1963 until being converted to Arco in the early 70's. It then became a Mobil station from about 1972 to 1978. By 1980, it had become Pursley Turf and continued until about 1996. Since then, it has been a Hess station, Texaco, Sunoco (2007 to 2017) and Shell. Also at this location was Rose's Cleaners from about the mid 90's to early 2010's. It then became a Little Caesar's Pizza until changing to Domino's Pizza in 2017.
5900 – Now the site of a plaza (opened in 1986 as DeSears Plaza), this used to be the site of the Star Lite Restaurant from 1954 to the late 70's. It was also known as Uncle Otey's Star Lite Pancake & Steak House after the pancake house was opened in 1962. The restaurant was accompanied by a service station (Phillips 66, then Esso-Enco) until the early 70's, when it became Flowers by Otey.
6018 – Economy Tackle has been here (address was 6024 So. Tamiami until 1962) since November 1949.
6024 – Now a four-unit retail building, this used to be Chick-n-Treat Restaurant from 1965 until 1967 and then was Pizza Shanty in 1968 and 1969. In the 70's, this was a real estate office before becoming The Video Connection in the early 80's. It then became The Wallpaper Store and later Stereorama from 1988 and through the 90's.
6050 – A to Z Autos was built in 1955 as Carlisle Service Station. After a few changes, it became Royal Tire from 1964 to 1969 and South Trail Tire from 1969 to about the mid 90's. It would then become Don Olson Tire and later was a GCR Tire Center. Foto: South Trail Tire sold Phillips 66 gasoline here in the early 70's. Smith Auto Sales and Economy Tackle (still there today) can be seen in the background.
6104 – Mobil and On the Move used to be a 7-Eleven from 1987 to 2014. Previously at this location among other businesses was Alice's Beauty Salon from about 1950 to 1977. Below: Location of Alice's Beauty Salon in 1972.
6112 – The former Oaks B-B-Q restaurant (1989 to March 2019) was occupied by many different businesses from 1973 to 1989 including Mitchell Black Top Co, Madam Christine Palm Reading, El Conquistador Health Club, Accent Music and Pleasure Pub.
6115 – Before being torn down and rebuilt into a small strip mall, this used to be a Pizza Hut from about late 1971 to the early-to-mid 00's. It was also Wireless Giant in the mid 00's.
Photo: Wireless Giant (used to be a Pizza Hut) can be seen from the 7-Eleven across the street in 2006.
6123 – The former Subway (mid 00's to 2016) and now Direct Auto & Life Insurance used to be a Mister Donut (May 1972 to about 1993) and Dunkin' Donuts (1993 to 2002). Below: Dunkin' Donuts and Baskin Robbins in 2002.
6125 – Pho 101 (since 2015) used to be a Lum's restaurant (from 1971 to about 1984) and Mrs. Chens Chinese restaurant (1993 to 2015). In between, the names included Baxter's, Abshires, Café Seville, Giorgio's and Spiro's. Below: Subway and Mrs. Chen's Restaurants in 2013 and Direct Auto & Life and Pho 101 Restaurant at the same location in 2018.
6131 – New Dynasty Chinese Restaurant (since 1998) used to be a Ponderosa restaurant from March 1976 until about 1997.
6206 – This used to be Staedke Court from about 1950 to 1960 and Harlan Homes from 1960 to 1962.
6212 – Marathon (since 2002) used to the location of a Bay Service Station and Poor Ole Mac mini market from 1970 until becoming Starvin Marvin from 1980 to about the mid 90's. Also at this location used to be Lynne Motel from about 1950 all the way through the 90's.
6240 – The former Square 1 Burgers (2015 to 2017) used to be the Li'l Villa Italian American restaurant from about 1971 to 1987. Prior to that, it was Jerry's Restaurant from at least the mid 50's to the early 70's and later Mario's Restaurant in the late 80's and 90's, J.B.’s,.Ref’s Sportsgrille and Sarah's.
6285 – Dunkin Donuts (since 2015) used to be a Burger King from about 1984 to late 2013. A service station owned by Tropic Oil had been here in the 1960's through the early 80's featuring brands such as Phillips 66 and Bay. Also here during that time from about 1974 to the early 80's was a restaurant (Zip'z Ice Cream, Jim's Café and then Dutch Valley from March 1978 until moving to its current location at 6727 S. Tamiami Tr.).
6300 (1) – A's Giant Sandwiches has been in this location since the early 80's. Courtney's Cleaners may have been here in the mid-to-late 70's.
6307 – Gordon Food Service (since 2014) was the location of Sound Advice from 1987 to 2008 (torn down in 2014). Also here from the mid 70's to late 1986 or early 1987 was Crown Liquors & Lounge (listed at 2020 Jo-Ann Drive). Below: Crown Liquors & Lounge in the 80's and Sound Advice in the 00's.
6320 – Torn down around 2010, this used to be the location of an Empire Service Station from 1963 to 1984. Safelite Auto Glass was later here (mid 80's through the 90's) as well as Leather Gallery. Seen in the background of the below photo is Rattan Village Furniture.
6331 – SMH Urgent Care at Stickney Point (since 2011) used to be a Sambo's restaurant (1976 to late 1982) with a name change to Season's Friendly Eating until 1984. Restaurants here between 1984 and the change to a health care facility included Village Inn (mid 80's to 1990), Farmer's Country Kitchen (1991 to mid 90's), Half Baked Café, Tropical Shores Café, Demetrio's, Fish Tales and Petrella Bros.
6338 – Built in 1972 as Rattan Village, this furniture store would be known as Florida Patio & Rattan during the first half of the 80's. It then became TV & Appliance World in 1985 and Rex Appliances from the early 90's to 1999. Before being torn down around 2010, it was Appliance Depot & More from the early-to-mid 00's and temporary quarters for Furniture Warehouse in 2007 and 2008.
6345 – Torn down in 2018, the former Florida Underwater Sports (moved up the street) used to be the location of a Cities Service/Citgo Service Station (primarily Upman's) from the mid 50's to the mid-to-late 70's, when it became Gulf Gate U-Save for most of the next ten years. It was rebuilt into a Jiffy Lube in 1988 and then turned into a McDonald's PlayPlace by 1993 for the rest of the decade. Later businesses here included Quality Glass and Blinds, and Sundance Spas.
6347 – McDonald's opened its second Sarasota location here in 1970 (13 years after the first location was built) and is still operating today, although it was rebuilt and reopened at the end of 2018. Photo: McDonald's and a Citgo station at 6345 S. Tamiami Tr.(later the location of a Jiffy Lube in the late 80's/early 90's, a McDonald's PlayPlace for the rest of the 90's and most recently Florida Underwater Sports until being torn down in 2018) can be seen from about the mid 70's.
6449 – Eager Beaver Car Wash (since 1977) used to be a used car lot (mainly Reynolds & Sons) from the late 60's to 1976. Below: Early photo of Eager Beaver Car Wash sign when it sold Exxon gasoline:
6465 – This used to be Saprito Fruit Shippers from about 1954 to 1962.
6494 – This used to be a Shell Service Station (Stickney Point Shell, Colonial Shell and then South Key Shell) at the northeast corner of the So. Tamiami Tr. and Stickney Point Rd. intersection from about 1969 until shortly before being torn down in 2005 to make way from condo and retail development. The lot was still vacant as of 2018. Below: South Key Shell as seen from the Walgreens parking lot across the street in 1997.
6499 – Torn down in early 1995 to make way for Walgreens, this used to be Marty's Service Station (Sinclair until converted to BP in the late 60's) at the northeast corner of So. Tamiami Tr. and Stickney Point Rd. from 1959 to about 1973, when it became Suncoast Oil of Sarasota and then Gulf Gate Fina. From 1984 to 1995, it was Economy Auto Rental. Before the service station was built, Via's Bar was at this location from the mid 50's until moving next door to 2027 Stickney Point, where (as The Crazy Fox, earlier had changed name to Golden Anchor from 1986 to 1990) it would operate until the same time in 1995. Even before Via's, Five O'Clock Restaurant operated at or near this location (exact address is unknown as it was before the 1953 street numbering) from 1945 to 1951.
6501 – The Sarasota Pavilion shopping plaza (formerly Gulf Gate Mall) location once housed the Siesta Drive-In Theater from late 1952 to 1960.
6501 – Gulf Gate Hardware (located at Gulf Gate Mall and later known as Gulf Gate Ace Hardware and Garden Center) operated from March 1963 to about 1985.
6501 – SunTrust Bank used to be Coast Federal Savings & Loan (originally as Sarasota Federal Savings & Loan until late 1972 and later Coast Bank) from March 1971 to about 1993.
6502 – Before being torn down to make way for a turn lane off of Stickney Point Road in the mid-to-late 90's, this was primarily the home of a Royal Castle restaurant (September 1960 to late 1973 or early 1974) and the original home of The Oaks B-B-Q restaurant from 1978 to 1989. Cross Roads Drive-In restaurant had previously been at this location from November 1949 to the late 50's. Also here for a short time beginning in August 1976 was El Toro Fine Mexican Food Restaurant.
6503 (10) – This used to be Terry Shulman's Discount Health and Beauty Aids store at the Gulf Gate Mall from 1987 to early 1995. Previously, it had been a Walgreens Liquor Store from the mid 70's to 1987.
6503 (20) – This location at the Gulf Gate Mall next to Publix started as a Sarasota Federal Savings & Loan from the mid 60's to early 70's, followed by Book Corner in the early 70's, It then became Mrs. O'Leary's Lounge around 1973 or 1974 until the mid-to-late 80's. From the late 80's until moving to a new location during the conversion to the Sarasota Pavilion in 2000, it was a Hooters Restaurant.
6503 (25) – This location at the Gulf Gate Mall started as a Walgreens Pharmacy from 1965 to 1994, followed by Books-A-Million from 1994 until moving to a new location during the conversion to the Sarasota Pavilion in 2000. Below: Walgreens in 1965
6503 (50) – This used to be Sir Roberts Men's Shoppe (listed at unit 52) from about 1972 to 1978. It then became Country Squire Men's Apparel from 1978 to 1980 and Swim City from about 1982 to September 1996.
6503 (60) – This used to be DeSear's Appliances from about 1972 until the mid 80's, when it became The Portable Store for the rest of the decade.
6503 (78, later 100) – This used to be Tape Town from 1970 to 1976. It then became Deannie's (women's clothing store) from about 1976 to 1987. Deannie's then operated at unit 445 until April 1997.
6503 (100) – This used to be TGI Friday's Restaurant from late 1988 until February 1997.
6503 (134, later 405) – This used to be The Alphabet Shop (gifts from A-to-Z) from 1968 to about 1990. Previously, it had been The Shanty gift shop.
6503 (142) – This used to be Village Cobbler Shoe Store from about 1972 to 1977. It later became Carpet Warehouse in 1979. From 1965 to 1971, it was Leeds Shoe Store, Goody Shoes and Gulf Gate Shoe Store. Below:Village Cobbler at Gulf Gate Mall
6503 (200) – Gulf Gate Cinema 1 & 2 opened in June 1971 and operated until the Gulf Gate Cinema 8 theatre was built after a renovation to the mall in 1987. The cinema closed in November 1997.
6503 (310) – This used to be Spec's Music at Gulf Gate Mall from 1987 to 1996.
6503 (415) – Opus Fashions was here at the Gulf Gate Mall from about 1988 until 1996 after moving from Midtown Plaza.
6503 (440, later 158) – This used to be Mall Bakery from late 1965 to about 1980.
6503 (450, later 490) – Gulf Gate Mall Barber Shop was here from December 1965 all the way until 1996.
6505 – This used to be a Publix Supermarket at Gulf Gate Mall from July 1962 to the start of the year 2000 when it moved to a brand new location across the lot during the conversion to Sarasota Pavilion.
6508 – Splash Sun & Fun used to be a Gateway Country computer store from 1999 to 2004. A service station was in this area in the 60's and early 70's followed by Milex Precision Auto Tune-Up and Interstate Transmissions (late 70's to mid 90's).
6522 – Before Sea Oats Plaza was built in the early 80's, Johnny Nicholas Restaurant was here from October 1958 to May 1974. Before that, it was the Patio Restaurant.
6535 (was 6503 unit 150) – Stein Mart department store (since August 1994) used to be a Belk Lindsey department store from January 1968 to May 1994. This building remained in its same location (with renovations) during the conversion of the Gulf Gate Mall to the Sarasota Pavilion in the late 90's. Below: Belk-Lindsey in the early-to-mid 70's.
6555 – Beall's Outlet (since February 2014) at Sarasota Pavilion used to be an Old Navy clothing store from early 2000 until 2012.9
6561 (was 6503 unit 350) – Marshall's Department Store has been located at Sarasota Pavilion (formerly Gulf Gate Mall) since about 1983. Previously here was Holiday Department Store from 1966 to 1982.
6591 – PetSmart (opened in October 2018) at Sarasota Pavilion used to be Books-A-Million from September 2000 to December 2017.
6606 – Gecko's Grill & Pub (2017) used to be a Denny's Restaurant (built on the old Siesta Villa Motel site) from the mid 80's to the mid 90's. It later became Water Grill, TP Hans, Friendly's Restaurant (2003 to 2005), Big Al's, Legacy, Bogey's and Harry's Sports Bar & Grill (2013 to 2017).
6700 – Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (since 2000) was the location of the Windjammer/Davey Jones Locker restaurant from June 1969 to the mid-to-late 80's and Cook's restaurant before that from 1967 to 1969. From 1989 to the late 90's, it was a car dealership (Mazda of Sarasota). Below:
Cook's and Windjammer Restaurants both at 6700 S, Tamiami Trail.
6721 (was 6727 until about the mid 00's) – Dutch Valley restaurant (in this location since about 1982 after moving from 6285 S. Tamiami Tr.) used to be a Ranch House restaurant (opened in late 1970 or early 1971 and operated until the early 80's). Below: Ranch House Restaurant (now Dutch Valley).
6727 (was 6731 until 1977) – The Mellow Mushroom Restaurant (since 2018) location is where a Jerry Lewis Cinema opened in July 1972 (see below), becoming the South Trail Cinema in 1973 until 1993 (and making the national news in 1991!). Kenny Rogers Roasters Restaurant was then built here in 1994, but would soon close and become Manhattan Bar & Grill by 1996 for close to 15 years. After that, it was Beckham's Bar & Grill. Below: Jerry Lewis Cinema shortly before opening in July 1972.
Below: Students line up for a special showing at South Trail Cinema in January 1977 . Ranch House Restaurant (now Dutch Valley) can be seen in the background. Credit: S H-T
6728 – Dan's Fan City (since 1989) used to be Chappie's Carpet and Floors from the late 60's to the mid-to-late 80's. Prior to that, it was Paul's Garden Store.
6747 – Red Lobster Restaurant opened in December 1970 and is still here over 48 years later. Below: Red Lobster in December 1970.
6828 – AutoNation Collision Center (since 2016) used to be Urfer Volkswagen from 1969 until being sold and becoming Gulf Gate Imports in 1976. It then became Gulf Gate Motors by 1981, Glauser Mercedes Benz by 1985 and Mercedes Benz of Sarasota in 2004 until about the late 00's. This had previously been the location of Sail Inn Motel from 1953 to about 1967 before being torn down.
6914 – RV One Superstores (since late 2018) used to be the House of Chong Restaurant (September 1977 to 1993 after moving from 2 N. Tuttle Ave.) and then Homestyle Harmony (November 1994 to late 1997 or early 1998) complete with singing waiters and waitresses. Prior to House of Chong, this was the location of Blue Skies Trailer Park from about 1956 to 1976. Photo: House of Chong .
6969 – The former Tammie's Patio (2014 to 2018, but products still available at 2160 Whitfield Ave.) used to be Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips (May 1977 to 1981). It was also La Magurita (opened in 1982), Leo's Steak and Seafood, Perfectly Frank (mid-to-late 80's, and hot dogs were on the menu, of course), Suncoast Citrus (late 80's to early 00's) and 6969 Design Guild and Underground Auto Styling.
7010 – Budget and Avis Car Rentals used to be Astro Car Wash from the late 70's to early 80's. It then became Rainbow Car Wash from the early-to-mid 80's until the early 90's. It later became Golden Chamois Car Wash in 1991 and Second Chance Auto Sales in 1995.
7110 – Ed Howard Lincoln-Mercury used to be Sarasota Lincoln-Mercury from 1978 to 1982. This had previously been the site of the Fountain Court Motel.
7113 – The Devyn Event Venue (since 2014) used to be Sam Seltzer's Steakhouse from early 2000 to 2010 and Livingston's Billiards/Rack & Roll Café prior to that . Also here at 7111 S. Tamiami were: Dover House Restaurant (June 1976 to early 80's), Adami's Restaurant (December 1981 to 1988), Pastel's, Jim's Steak House, Box Seat Bar and Grill, Sarasota Grill, Alfred E. Gators and Livingston's until moving in 2005. At right: Adami's Restaurant sign in 1981.
7119 (J) – Fish Market & Grill (since 2016) in Buccaneer Plaza used to be Better Bagels from about 1985 to 1996. It then became Gastronomia Restaurant from 1996 to 1999 and Figaro's Pasta & Wine Bar at the start of year 2000. It was later G's Pizza & Wings.
7119 (L) – H Built Computers (since 2008, 2006 in this plaza) was originally a Carvel Ice Cream Store from the mid-to-late 80's. It has also been Penn Treaty Insurance, Charad of Sarasota and Access USA.
7129 – Napulé Restaurant (since late 2017) was built at the location that used to be a Taco Bell (1982 to about 1996). It was followed by Taste of Tokyo Restaurant, Amalfi's Restaurant and SweetFrog. Below: Taco Bell in 1982.
7204 – Personalized Fitness & Massage (since 1993) in Willow Oaks Shopping Center used to be Funtime Fashions from the late 60's to the early 90's.
7207 – Outback Steakhouse (since 1989) used to be a Texas Bill's restaurant (1982 to 1983) and Po Folks' Family Restaurant (1984 to 1987 or 88) before the original building was torn down and Outback was rebuilt in 2009.
7211 – Located next to Outback, Copenhagen Imports has operated here since August 1983. Also here from that time to about 1987 was Software City.
7221 – AMF Gulf Gate Lanes was called Galaxy Lanes when it opened in 1976 and for the next couple of decades. It also featured the Astro Lounge.
7241 – Goodwill (since 1988) used to be Midway Groves fruit store (1975 to 1988).
7250 – Culver's Restaurant (since 2015) was built on the location that was the long time home of the popular The Original Oyster Bar restaurant (pictured below) from September 1961 to April 2006.
7253 – The Grasshopper Mexican Restaurant & Bar (since 2013) used to be the popular Shell's Seafood Restaurant (1986 to 2008). In between, it was Stingray's and then Schuck's. Before Shell's from 1973 to 1985, the names of the restaurant included Bruno's Italian Restaurant, Genaro's Italian Restaurant (opened in 1975), Villa Del Roma (opened in 1977- later changed to Villa-A-Roma), Bavarian Lion (opened in 1978) and La Marsala (opened in 1981).
7275 – Mattison's Forty-One Restaurant & Catering (since 2007) used to be Lone Star Steakhouse (mid 90's to 2007). Other restaurants here included Black Angus (September 1970 to 1975), Watermill (1975 to 1976), Grape Vine (September 1976 to 1982) and Glados. At bottom left: Grape Vine Restaurant. At bottom right. Lone Star Steakhouse sign in 1995.
7282 – Bead The Beads in Coral Cove Plaza started as Evergreen flowers and plants in early 1971 and then became an Ace Hardware store from 1972 to about 1994. C.C. Boots western wear opened here in 1995 and then Coral Cove Books from 1996 to 2004. It was also later 1-800-Draperies and Florida Furniture Brokers.
7286 – Sarasota Grooming Company in Coral Cove Plaza used to be Patio Inn restaurant and tavern from 1972 to about 1984. It then became Tony's Bar and Grill from about 1986 to the late 90's. In the 00's, it was Howlin' Wolf Restaurant and Cancun Mexican Restaurant and in the 2010's, Sirard's Chocolate House, Puppy's-R-Us and Coastal Keys Furniture.
7321 – Wilde Jaquar of Sarasota (since 1997) was the site of a Steak 'n Shake restaurant (with curbside service) from early 1976 until late 1986 or early 1987. Other restaurants here between 1987 and 1997 after being rebuilt included Lacey's (opened in 1987), Tassotis Restaurant Italiano (opened in 1988), Tenderloins (1991 to 1993) and Texas Roadhouse (1994 to 1996).
7322 – The former Driving Expressions (1990 to 2015) used to be a convenience store (Short Stop in the early-to-mid 70's, Speedee Shop in the mid 70's and Farm Stores in the late 70's to early-to-mid 80's. It was then The Garage Sale store in the mid 80's and Whitesides Appliances in the late 80's). Foto:
Driving Expressions in 1990.
7378 – Garden Creations (since 1984) used to be a Bass Pro Shop store from June 1980 until 1983.
7394 – Porter Paints (rebranded as PPG Paints in 2015) was at this location from 1977 until 2018.
7447 – Geier's Sausage Kitchen (since 1982) used to be the location for Par-T Miniature Golf & Game Room in the late 70's and early 80's.
7500 – Now a small plaza built in 2005 that includes Innovative Design Solutions, this used to be the home of the International King's Table Restaurant from September 1967 until changing to King's Bounty Restaurant in June 1973. At the start of 1976, it became The Cajun Club until the early 80's, then Sarasota Fish Company, Robin & Joel's Restaurant, Woody's BB-Q (1994 to 1997) and La Champagne Restaurant from 1998 to the early-to-mid 00's. Photo: Postcard of International King's Table Restaurant
7505 – Pinch-A-Penny (since the mid 00's) used to be a Quick Stop Food Store going back to about 1982 until close to the mid 00's.
7523 – Gentile Bros. Cheesesteaks & Hoagies (since 2012) in South Trail Plaza used to be Al's House of Pizza from the early-to-mid 80's until 1988.
7606 – Elegant Outdoor Living and Bayfront Piano (since 2016) used to be Stephens Furniture from 1985 to about the late 00's. In between, it was Piano Distributors.
7620 – This started as Swanson Architects in 1979 and then became G & R Lawnmowers from about 1983 to the early 90's. Land of Sleep then expanded their store into this area.
7626 – Land of Sleep (since 1978) used to be Custom Metals from 1969 to 1972. It then became Coral Cove Carpets until 1977.
7660 – Waterfront Restaurant has operated at this location since the late 1982 to early 1983 time frame.
7690 – Hughes Exterminators (since about 2011) used to be a Self Service Shoe Store from 1975 to 1990 and National Shoe Liquidators until 1991. In between, it was House Of Golf and Pro Golf. Photo: Self Service Shoe Store Grand Opening in 1975
7706 – This used to be Joe's Handi-Stop (Peanut Joe) in 1972 and 1973 before relocating to his well-known location at 4933 Fruitville Rd. Also here during this time was Your Chauffuer.
7745 – Sunset Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat (since the mid-to-late 80's) used to be the location of Aamco Transmissions from about 1982 to 1986.
8037 – Wendy's Restaurant has operated at this location since 1986.
8195 – Hobby Lobby (since 2013) used to be a Kmart department store from March 1979 to 2008.
8197 – Pizza Hut (since 2003 or 2004) used to be Café LaChaumiere restaurant (see photo) from 1979 to 1987. It was also Whisper Inn from 1988 to late 1993 or early 1994 and then Rick's Café.
8199 – Staples (since the mid 90's) used to be a Grand Union supermarket (1979-1984) before converting into Kash N Karry.in 1984 and remained until a nearby store opened in Pelican Plaza in 1988. It was also a Workplace office supplies store in the early to mid 90's. Photo: Grand Union in 1979. Below: Workplace (now Staples) in 1991.
8201 – The former Macy's at Westfield Sarasota Square Mall (2005 to 2017) used to be a Maas Brothers department store from the mall's opening in 1977 to 1991 before becoming Burdines and eventually Macy's after a short time as Burdines-Macy's.
8201 – J.C. Penney became the mall's second anchor just after the mall's opening in 1977 and is still there over 40 years later in 2019.
8201 – Sears Department Store opened in October 1979 as the mall's third anchor (along with Mass Brothers and JC Penney) after moving from what is now known as Midtown Plaza. The store closed in 2017.
8201 – Costco at Westfield Sarasota Square Mall (since 2012) replaced Dillard's (1996 to late 2009) as the mall's fourth anchor. Dillard's had replaced Parisian (1989 to early 1996).
8201 (8) – The former Great American Cookie used to be Baskin Robbins 31 Ice Cream from 1977 to 1985, when it became Chocolate Chip Cookie Co.. It then became Merle Norman Cosmetics from 1988 into the 90's.
8201 (11) – The former Pacific Sunwear (1998 to 2017) used to be a Thom McAn shoe store from 1977 to about 1995.
8201 (12) – General Nutrition Centers (GNC) was at this location in the mall from 1977 to 2015.
8201 (15) – This used to be Big Apple clothing from 1977 to about 2006.
8201 (16) – The former FYE (closed in early 2019) used to be Camelot Music from 1977 to the early 00's.
8201 (17A) – This used to be Sarasota Square Six Theater from 1977 until 2006. It was called Sarasota Square Six West Theater beginning in late 1983 when a new six-screen free standing theater was built 300 feet east of the mall. The two together were called Sarasota Square 12 Theater and both operated until a new 12-screen theater opened in the mall in 2006.
8201 (19) – This used to be Aladdin's Castle arcade from 1977 until becoming Dream Machine from about 1988 to the late 90's.
8201 (25) – This used to be The Chef's Basket and then Athens Cafe in the early 80's. It then became Tastyburger from 1983 to 1985. It was later Wig Fashions Salon until the early 90's.
8201 (25a) – At about the current location of Old Navy in the mall used to be Morrison's Cafeteria from 1977 to 1999, when it became Piccadilly Cafeteria.
8201 (28) – This used to be a Chick-Fil-A restaurant from 1977 until moving to the food court around the early 90's. It then became Gordon's Jewelers and was later New York Jewelers.
8201 (31) – The former Regis Salon (from about 1985 to 2015) started as Tiffany's Bakeries from 1977 to about 1982. In between, it was Chocolate Chip Cookie Co. until moving to a new location in the mall.
8201 (36) – This has been Kay Jewelers going all the way back to September 1977.
8201 (38) – Rack Room Shoes (since the mid 90's) used to be Casual Corner from 1977 to the mid 90's.
8201 (39) – This started as General Telephone Co. (later GTE Phone Mart) from 1978 to 1984. It then became Waldenbooks from 1984 to 2007.
8201 (51) – Lenscrafters (since the late 90's) used to be The Gap clothing store from 1977 until the late 90's (moved to a new location in the mall).
8201 (52) – The former Revive Salon in the mall used to be Mr. Dunderbak's German Restaurant from about 1978 to 1988. It then became The Wunderbar Restaurant. It has also been Trade Secret.
8201 (57) – This used to be Playland Toys from 1977 to about 1990.
8201 (58) – This used to be Lerner Shops from 1977 to about the early-to-mid 90's.
8201 (62) – This used to be Hickory Farms from 1977 to about the early-to-mid 90's.
8201 (63) – This used to be Foxmoor Casuals from 1977 to 1989. It became Oak Tree clothing in the early 90's and was later Freeman's Luggage.
8201 (66) – This used to be Suzie's Casuals from 1977 to the early 90's when it became Mango Bay clothing. It was later Journey's Shoe Store until moving to a new location in the mall.
8201 (67) – The former Bond Jewelers (January 1994 to January 2018) used to be Girard Jewelers (later Littman Jewelers) from 1977 to 1993. Bond moved to a new location in the mall in 2014 to make room for the new H&M store.
8201 (71) – J. Byrons department store operated at the mall from 1977 to about 1985. It was then remodeled into several stores, including Pinch or Pound in 1986. It then became Babbage's in 1988 to the early 00's,when it changed to GameStop. It later became Build-A-Bear Workshop from July 2007 to July 2014, while GameStop moved to unit 32 in the Sears wing of the mall until closing in early 2015.
8201 (F4) – Located in the old food court at the center of the mall was A & W Root Beer from about the mid 90's to mid 00's. Before that, it was Hot Dogs & More from the mid-to-late 80's to the mid 90's.
8201 (F8) – This used to be Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips in the old food court from about 1991 to 2001. Before that it was California Smoothie, beginning in the mid-to-late 80's,
8214 – This used to be a Denny's Restaurant from 1984 to 2013 and torn down in 2016.
8330 – Sprouts Farmers Market (since 2017) in Pelican Plaza is at the address that used to be Mr. Wong's Restaurant & Lounge in the plaza from the late 80's to early-to-mid 00's. Earlier, it was Anthony's Italian Restaurant Villa D'este, which opened in 1983.
8356 – Petco (since early 2015) is at the location of the rebuilt Pelican Plaza that used to be an LTM Party Store from 1997 to about 2012.
8358 – Located in Pelican Plaza during the mid-to-late 80's was O'Toole's Restaurant & Tavern. It later became McKenzy's Restaurant in the late 80's and J.J. Starbuck Restaurant in the early-to-mid 90's.
8372 – The former Sports Authority in Pelican Plaza (2014 to 2016) used to be a SuperX supermarket from April 1983 until converting to Florida Choice in 1986 through 1988. It then became a Kash N Karry supermarket from 1988 to 1994 and Linens N Things shortly after until 2008.
Above: SuperX at Pelican Plaza in 1983. Below: Last days for Linens'N'Things in 2008 and Sports Authority in 2016.
8376 – This used to be Silverberg Jewelry in Pelican Plaza from about the late 80's until moving down the street in 1996. It later became Carchelle’s Custom Framing & Art Gallery in 1997.
8383 (104) – This location in the Square South Plaza has been Saga Japanese Steakhouse since 1993. It is slated to close in July 2019.
8383 (111) – This location in the Square South Plaza has been a First Watch Restaurant since being built in 1986.
8389 – Jalisco Mexican Grill (since early 2018) was built as a Boston Market in the early to mid 90's, becoming J.Ryan's in early 1997 to 2014 (was Sammy Frog's for a few months in 2003). It was later Southside Grill and The Coral House.
8394 – Starbucks Coffee (since 2016) was built on the site where a Checkers Drive-In Restaurant operated from the mid 90's until 2012.
8401 – Target Department Store has operated here at The Plaza at Palmer Ranch since 1991.
8409 – Publix Supermarket has operated here at The Plaza at Palmer Ranch since October 1991.
8539 – Domino's Pizza has operated here at The Plaza at Palmer Ranch since late 1991.
8546 – CVS Pharmacy opened as Eckerd Drug in March 1999 before being converted in 2004.
8599 – Haverty’s Furniture (since 2001) at The Plaza at Palmer Ranch used to be a Phar-Mor (1991 to 1993), then Roberd’s Furniture (1994 to 2000).
8700 – Autoxotic used to be a Tire Kingdom that opened in 1991.
8770 – This used to be a Scotty's Hardware store from early 1987 until 2003. The property was acquired by and is utilized today by Hudson's Furniture.
South Tuttle Avenue
3650 – The very popular Tas-T-O Donuts operated here in a small trailer in the Bee Ridge Shopping Center (now Tuttle Bee Plaza) from about 1970 to 1999.
3621 – USA Mini-Mart (since the mid 90's) used to be a U-Tote-M Food Store from the early-to-mid 60's to the mid 70's, becoming a Quickie Food Store until the early 80's. It was later George's Stop Wright and Honey's Convenience Store.
3660 – Dollar Tree used to be Frank's Nursery & Crafts from the early 90's to late 2004 or early 2005.
3680 – Office Max (since 1993) used to be part of the Zayre/Ames department store (see below) from 1969 to 1990.
3700 – TJ Maxx (since 1991) was a Zayre department store from 1969 to 1988, then converted to Ames from 1988 to 1990. Below: Zayre department store in 1969.
3750 – The former Beall's Outlet (1990 to 2013) used to be SuperX Drugs from 1969 to the mid 80's. It then became a Rite Aid drug store until 1990. The store was also used as a temporary home for DeSears Appliances before closing its doors for good in 2016.
3809 – La Scarpetta Italian Restaurant (since December 2015) used to be Morel Restaurant from about 1995 to 2015. It started as McClure's Office Equipment from the early-to-mid 70's to the early 80's. After a short time as Inches Off exercise and bodywrap studio around 1982-1983, the inches may not have stayed off for long as it turned into a sandwich shop (Venetian, then Chicago South) for the rest of the decade. From the early 90's to mid 90's, it was Le Grandgousier French Restaurant.
3810 – YouFit used to be a Kash N'Karry Supermarket from 1969 to 1993. It later became Recreational Factory Warehouse in 1999 and Atlanta Fitness.
3824 – Dunkin Donuts (since 2015) was built at the location that used to be The Clubhouse Lounge from about 1987 to late 2009 and then becoming The Rusty Hook Tavern before being torn down in 2014. Earlier business establishments here included Gary's Lounge and Package Store (January 1972 to 1975), and Shell City Liquors and Inn Place Lounge (August 1975 to about 1983).
3839 – Parisi Real Estate used to be Dairy Dome ice cream parlor from August 1974 to 1979.
3854 – Tasty Home Cookin' Restaurant used to be The Three Dutchman Restaurant from the early 70's to the mid-to-late 80's. It later became Milano's Restaurant around 1990.
South Washington Boulevard
101 – The Sarasota County Terrace Building used to be Sarasota Terrace Hotel from 1926 until shortly before becoming Sarasota Motor Hotel in early 1965. The hotel was purchased by Sarasota County after it had closed in 1972 and later reopened after a long renovation process in October 1981 as the Sarasota County Administration Center. The center would move to Ringling Blvd. in late 1995 and the building was then given its current name in 1996.
110 – The area now used for parking, this used to be a Margaret Ann (later converted to Kwik Chek) grocery store from March 1950 to 1969.
222 – Capstan Financial was built in 2015 in the area that used to be the location of Floyd's Texaco Service from the late 40's to the late 60's, when it became Richard's Texaco Service until the early 80's. Sparlings Texaco Service took over at that time and converted to Sparlings Exxon Service shortly after through the mid 80's. After a period of vacancy. this would become Fruitland Market through most of the 90's before being torn down.
239 – Also now used for parking, this used to be the location of Land O'Sun Dairy (see below) from at least the 1940's until the mid 70's.
242 – The UPS Store used to be Jackson's Gulf Service Station from the late 40's to the mid 50's, when it became Fige's Gulf Service Station (later Al Fige's Service Center) until the mid 70's, It then became Three O One Service Station (Gulf from the mid 70's to early-to-mid 80's then Phillips 66 until the late 80's). In the early 90's, this became Enterprise Rent-A-Car until about the late 00's.
300 – PPG Paints used to be Porter Paints for about 60 years before being rebranded (as were all stores in the chain) in 2016. Previously, Hollywood Beauty Shop was at this location from the early-to-mid 40's to the mid 50's .
317 – This used to be an A & W Root Beer Restaurant from 1955 to 1963. By late 1963, it became Mr. Pizza Restaurant (also see 323 below) until 1974 (known as Mr. Nikla's by that time), when it would briefly change to The Little Buddah Restaurant.
323 – A contractor's office, real estate office, insurance office and Gourmet Pantry Restaurant were among the businesses here from the mid 50's to the late 60's when it became the dining room for Mr. Pizza (later Mr. Nikla's) until about 1974. From the mid 70's to late 70's, it became Rose's Game Room and then Nashville South restaurant & lounge. It would then become Beck's Place restaurant & lounge until about the late 80's before turning into Score Board restaurant & lounge until being torn down by the late 00's. Photo: Mr. Pizza dining room entrance in 1970.
500 – A large office complex sits next to the area where a very popular walk-up Dairy Queen (pictured below-second photo is from 1977) operated from about 1950 until July 30, 2006.
526 – The office complex mentioned above now occupies the area that used to be McKown's Food Market from July 1947 (moved from 444 Main St.) to late 1978 or early 1979. It then became Sarasota Beauty School in the fall of 1979 (until the early-to-mid 90's), Casa del Sol Mexican Art Furnishings in 1997 and Personalized Fitness in about 2002. Photo 1: McKown's Food Market and Dairy Queen sign from 1958. Photo 2: McKown's Food Market from 1978. Photo 3: Sarasota Beauty School – Credit: I grew up in Venice FL.
544 – American Momentum Bank used to be The Nautilus Shell Shop (see photo) from February 1948 to about 1967 before becoming Montville's Appliances from 1968 to 1975. It would then become a restaurant, including Anthony's Villa D'este Restaurant, which opened in February 1977, and Alexander's Restaurant, which opened in 1979 after the building was remodeled. In the mid 80's, it was converted to a bank (Central National). It later became Liberty Savings Bank in the mid-to-late 90's and Landmark Bank in 2003. Photo: Alexander's Restaurant shortly before opening in 1979.
616 – Before being torn down, this used to be Gateway Motel from 1955 to about 1983. It had previously been Ritz Court Motel from 1948 to 1955. Photo: Gateway Motel from 1955.
638 – Before being torn down, this used to be A's Giant Sandwiches from about 1975 to 1983. This was earlier the location of Risser's Health Food Shop from the late 50's to the late 60's.
660 – Waffle Stop used to be Waffle Shop from about 1953 to 1992 before moving to the Ringling Shopping Plaza. The restaurant is still famous for being the breakfast stop of Elvis Presley in February 1956, while he was in town performing at the Florida Theater.
Strada statale (was Sixth Street until 1953)
1400 – This used to be Tucker's Sporting Goods (moved from Main St.) from 1953 to the early-to-mid 90's. By 1996, it became a multi-tenant office building called The Huntington, including Huntington Trust.
1517 – Rebuilt into a three-story office complex in 2004, this used to be Standard Auto Parts from August 1942 (also moved here from Main St.) to the late 70's. During the 80's, it went under a few different names (Motor Units, Motor Parts & Supplies and Standard Auto Machines). It later became State Street Gallery during the 90's and then State Room into the early 00's.
1525 – State of the Arts Gallery (since the mid 00's) used to be Draper's Western Store from 1954 all the way until moving to Clark Rd. in 2003.
1537 – State Street Eating House & Cocktails at 1533 (and also what was 1537) State St. used to be Sarasota Cycle and Key Shop beginning in 1951 and then changed to Sarasota Lock and Key Shop in 1969 until 2004.
1542 – This used to be Adams & Houser Hardware and Supply from about November 1948 (moved from Main St.) to the early-to-mid 90's. The area was used for parking after being torn down and a parking garage was later built in the mid 2010's.
1581 – The area now used for parking, this used to be Mather of Sarasota Furniture (moved from Main St.) from January 1943 to the mid 70's after moving from Main Street.
Stickney Point Road (called Old Stickney Point Rd. from street numbers 1200 to 1316).
1200 – Captain Curt's Crab and Oyster Bar (since 1981 after two years at 8865 Midnight Pass Rd.) used to be Ben's Pizza Café in the late 70's and Brigadoon Restaurant in the early 80's.
1204 – The former Granny's Corner Café used to be Chidori Japanese Restaurant from October 1959 until 1966. It then became Drift In Restaurant from June 1967 to 1971. A few different businesses were here from 1972 to the rest of the decade, including Woody's Deli-Cat (also listed as Crescent Beach Delicatessen), Dixie Lee's Fried Chicken & Seafood and Renaissance Charm Restaurant & Bakery, before becoming Dragon Chinese Restaurant from January 1979 through the 90's.
1231 – This used to be Pizza Kitchen from 1964 to 1973. Before that, it was briefly Chateau Restaurant in 1963.
1256 – Clayton's Siesta Grille used to be Banquet On A Bun Restaurant from 1964 to about 1974, when it became Siesta Café until the early 80's. It was next Harbour Lights Oyster Bar (early-to-mid 80's), Donovan's Reef Restaurant (mid-to-late 80's into the 90's) and then H.G. Roosters by the mid 90's. In 2004, it became Mattison's Siesta Grille until changing to its current name in 2007.
1500 – Boatyard Waterfront Bar and Grill (since 2010) used to be Coasters of Sarasota (later Coasters At The Southbridge) from 1988 to 2010. It started as Black Pearl Restaurant in 1984, becoming Aldo's Black Pearl Restaurant by 1985 and then called Southport Restaurant in 1987.
1536 – Siesta Key Parasail & Jet Ski used to be Lighthouse Creamery and then Charlie's Lighthouse, both in the 80's. Photo: Lighthouse Creamery.
1894 – Plaza Mexico Restaurant Bar & Grill (since late 2017) used to be Stonewood Grill & Tavern from 2004 to 2017.
1920 – Peltz Shoes (since 2011) used to be Famous Shoes for over 30 years from September 1980 until moving to 7668 So. Tamiami Tr. in 2011.
1930 – Earth Origins Market (since about 2012) used to be The Granary from about 1986 to 2012. Prior to that, it was a Jewel T discount supermarket from 1980 to the mid 80's. At least part of Jewel T had been a Food Fair (October 1958 to 1969), then Pantry Pride (1969 to 1979) supermarket.
1940 – Carrabba's Italian Grill (since early 1997) used to be the Trolley Station restaurant from August 1980 to 1996.
2027 – This used to be Via's Bar from 1959 until a name change to Golden Anchor from 1986 to 1990. It was then called The Crazy Fox until being torn down to make way for Walgreens Pharmacy in early 1995. Photo: Via's Bar at it's new location in December 1959 after moving next door from 6499 So. Tamiami Tr..
2029 – Torn down by the mid 90's, this used to be Minit Mart grocery from about 1960 to 1984. It later became Nuway Communication, Chesepeake Bay Club Crab House, T & D tavern and Eagle's Nest tavern. Photo: The delicatessen and meat departments inside Minit Mart from November 1963.
2103 – Also torn down by the mid 90's, this used to be a Domino's Pizza from about 1984 to 1990. Earlier, it was Ray's Pastry Shop (early 60's), Long's Shoe Repair (mid 60's to early 70's), Pine Shores TV (early 70's to early 80's) and Hutchinson TV (early-to-mid 80's).
2111 – Also torn down by the mid 90's, this used to be Animal Medical Clinic from March 1969 to January 1976. It then became Pinch-A-Penny Pool and Patio from mid 1976 to about 1982 when it changed to Baker's Outdoor Living until shortly before being torn down.
2121 – Firestone Complete Car Care Center (since 1988) used to be the location of Orange State Lumber from early 1957 until about 1979. In between, it was Florida State Lumber and Custom Fence.
2131 – An empty lot next to Firestone since the late 90's, this used to be Gulf Gate Enco (changed to Exxon in 1972) from the late 60's to about 1984. Prior to that, it had been Plaza Esso starting about 1962 and then Olin's Enco. From the late 80's to the early-to-mid 90's, this was Gulf Gate Farm Market. Below: Enco station at 2131 Stickney Point Rd.
2480 – The former Jimmy John's (2015 to 2018) used to be a Dunkin Donuts store (opened in early 2007). In between, it was a We Buy Gold store. Previously, a Texaco service station was here from the 60's until the early 00's. Photo: Golden's Texaco at the corner of Sitickney Point Rd. and Gateway Ave. in the early-to-mid 70's.
Photo: A new prototype Dunkin Donuts is under construction at 2480 Stickney Point Rd. in October 2006 while the sign from the former Texaco station is still standing
2522 – This used to be a Save On Service Station along with a grocery/convenience store operating under various names including Tate's Handi-Pak, Sheets Handi-Pak, Rhodes Grocery Store and Bob's Handi Store from 1972 until 2013. BP gasoline was sold here during the 90's and 00's.
2716 – The Cellular Phone Hospital in Gateway Plaza used to be a Pizza Hut Delivery store from about 1986 before becoming Patellini's Pizza in 1997.
2720 – The former Yunnan Noodle Co. in Gateway Plaza used to be most notably Bob's Buffalo Wings from about 1988 to 1993 and El Toro Bravo Restaurant from 2005 until moving to 3218 Clark Rd. in 2016.
6503 – Bob's Laundry & Dry Cleaning (since the early-to-mid 70's) was previously Day & Night Laundromat beginning in July 1962.
6592 – Your Culinary Place, LLC used to be Mamma Natali's Italian Restaurant from November 1971 until 1977. It then became Gigino's Restaurant until 1978, Marion's Restaurant and John's Bar & Grill from 1980 to 1983. After that, it changed to The First School kindergarten from about 1985 into the 90's.
6640 – Seperior 24-Hour Laundromat opened as Holly Polly Laundry and Dry Cleaning in April 1963. It became Clean Spot Laundromat later in the decade and would continue to operate under that name for over 40 years.
6690 – Monk's Steamer Bar (since 2001) used to be a 7-Eleven convenience store from about the early-to-mid 60's to the mid-to-late 70's. It then became The Flower & Wine Cart until the early 90's. The Sidestreet Peppermint Lounge was here after that.
3910 – Located at the southwest corner of Bee Ridge and Swift Roads in what was called Brookside Shopping Corner, this used to be Leonard's Paint & Hardware from 1962 until being torn down in 1974. It started as Brookside Auto and Home Supply in 1955 and then became Lyon's Paint & Hardware in 1957 and Strong Paint & Hardware in 1960.
4401 – Swift Auto Repair opened in February 1955 as Swift Road Service Station selling Standard Oil products and continued until the 70's when it became Wilson American (later Amoco). Before becoming strictly an auto repair shop, it was also Swift Road Amoco in the early 80's. Below: Swift Road Service Station in 1955 and the same building in 2017.
4783 – Simply Gourmet Catering used to be Pizza Pronto, which opened in January 1984. It would then become Domino's Pizza in 1987, Lola's Empanada's in 1992 and Just Desserts later in the 90's.
5666 – Hot Diggity Dog Restaurant opened in January 1971 and is still here today.
3515 – Farm Stores Convenience Store (since the early-to-mid 80's) was Farm and Garden Supply Store in the early 80's.
3527 – The Eight-Ball Lounge (since July 1974) used to be Art's Seafood Market (opened in March 1973), and then Jennie's Steak & Hoagie and Fabiano's Sandwich Shop.
3591 – Goodwill Industries (since 1992) used to be a Lil' General food store (mid-to-late 60's to 1984), then Circle K (1984 to 1992).
3600 – This opened as Forest Lakes Cities Service service station in March 1964. After Cities Service changed their marketing name to Citgo, it became Forest Lakes Citgo in May 1965 until about 1976. It then became Forest Lakes Quik Mart for a short time before being listed as vacant by 1978 and not listed at all by 1980. Photo: Forest Lakes Citgo in 1972.
3602 – The Lazy Parrot Patio Bar & Grill (since May 2018) used to be a bank that was built in 1979 as First Independent Bank. It later became First National Bank of Florida, First Florida Bank (mid 80's to 1993) and GTE Credit Union (mid 90's to about 2010).
3630 – After a couple of years as A Breath of Spring Florist, this was most notably The Little Godfather Italian Restaurant from 1978 until the late 80's.
3635 – This started as Yoder's Market in 1969, changing to Forest Lakes Market in 1972. It then became The Butcher's Block in 1979, then Meat Cleaver, Herman's Meats and Mama's Restaurant (mid 80's to late 80's) before becoming Minerva's House of Pizza in 1989 until about the early-to-mid 90's.
3644 – Family Pharmacy has been in operation since January 1975 (listed at 3650 Webber until 1977). Below: Early photo of Family Pharmacy.
3676 – Champion's Pub used to be Oasis Restaurant from 1979 to 1989 and then became Tudor Rose Restaurant in 1993. In the 70's, this was Forest Lakes Italian and American Restaurant and even earlier in the late 60's, it was Big John's Pizza Restaurant.
3688 – Bushido Izayaki Japanese Restaurant (opened in November 2018) used to be Nellie's Deli from 1982 until 2009 (moved to 15 S. Beneva Rd).
Here are advertisements from some of the interesting and intriguing business establishments of years gone by in Sarasota.
Lost Ads Of Sarasota
It's a long way from Sarasota, but here is a similar site showing how it used to be in Warwick, RI.
What It Used To Be In Warwick, RI
Other Sarasota Pages:
Some of you may have found this blog through posts (thanks Cathleen and Ray!) from either the "If you grew up in Sarasota, FL…then you remember" or "I Remember Sarasota" groups. While this page is just a listing of where and when some of the many Sarasota business establishments operated for reference and to help answer some questions, the group pages are just full of so much history and memories about these establishments and a whole lot more. The search function on these pages is fantastic to find posts about a particular subject or business establishment.
How this page started:
The group pages mentioned above, along with the old Sarasota newspapers included in the Google newspaper archives had already sparked my interest in restaurants. stores, gas stations, etc. that used to be in Sarasota years ago. But it was 70 seconds of a YouTube video filmed in April 1989 that inspired me to visit the Sarasota History Center in 2014 to research the Sarasota 1989 street directory to find out the names of all the long-lost business establishments that appear in a small stretch of So. Tamiami Trail in the video. I was then hooked and spent many lunch hours over the next four years at the history center researching over 60 years of Sarasota street directories and phone books. After using an Excel spreadsheet to keep track of what used to be at each address by year , I thought of posting a blog so that the research could be used by others for reference. Then after almost two years of starting it and not getting very far, it finally started to come together in June 2017 and was first posted with 150 entries. It is now up to over 875 entries with more updates on the way.
Here is the link to the video that helped to inspire the writing of this blog. The drive-through of a portion of So. Tamiami Trail begins at about 2:35 in the video. Special thanks to the person who posted it!
Drive around Sarasota in 1989